English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2017, 17:40   #61
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
BIG UPDATE:

The usb-ttl adapter finally arrived today. so first thing was flashing the cortex fw onto the gotek drive, which worked. then i formatted a usb stick, threw the selector adf and some (working and not working) games on it, built the drive into the amiga and turned it on. i selected the games and most of them are not working - same thing as before.
Alright i thought and flashed the HxC firmware onto it. selected the games and tried to start them. exactly the same behaviour!!! some games work, most of them die right after the cracktro.

now here's the thing:

i borrowed an a600 (which runs definetly fine) from a friend, disassebled it and built the HxC drive into it. the games start fine and...guess what: the games die right after the cracktro like on my a500. that's weird, right?!?!

so the ONLY left conclusions are:

the hardware of the gotek drive is faulty
my usb-sticks (10 in total from various manufacturers) dont work with the hw
the adf files are faulty

i am so freaking confused right now!

can someone PLEASE send me an flood, ik+, james pond 1 or 2, great giana sisters, silkworm or swiv image which is confirmed working on his (cortes/HxC) machine to rule the bad adf files out?

what the fudge? every component seems to work on its own but as soon as i use the togehther they fail...

really need some assistance here!
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 17:47   #62
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Could be a bad floppy cable. Could also be a bad Gotek. A missing RDY signal could cause the behavior you mention.
demolition is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 17:52   #63
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
thanks, i can rule the cable out as both amigas have a own cable. where does the rdy signal come from that you mentioned?
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 17:55   #64
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Pin 8:
demolition is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 17:58   #65
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
[ Show youtube player ]

i made a video of what happens with most of the games. after clicking the mouse button, the led's light up and stay like this forever:
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 18:09   #66
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Will a DOS disk boot fine? For example if you try a WB disk. If that works fine, then I think it is quite certain that the problem is caused by a missing RDY signal for whatever reason.

If a WB disk also does not boot, it could be a problem with the Direction or Step signal.
demolition is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 18:30   #67
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
Workbench and some games work as they should
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 19:35   #68
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,928
Hm, perhaps your specific Gotek has a broken RDY line then?

The A600 is good for diagnostics, but keep in mind that Kickstart 2.0 has a really bad record of compatibility with old games and old cracks (often crashing even before the cracktro has loaded).
idrougge is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 19:44   #69
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Yes, unless you know for sure the particular games should work on KS2.0, then that could very well be the problem.

Try something like the State Of The Art demo:
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=99

I know that this will work on KS2.0 and it will not work if there is a problem with the RDY signal. So if this runs fine, then I don't think you have a hardware problem.
demolition is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 19:58   #70
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,928
I'm usually using SWIV for diagnosing the RDY signal.
idrougge is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 20:40   #71
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
as for swiv i can say that it doesn't work. wings of fury, dogs of war and rick dangeous 2 do work for example. will try the demo tomorrow morning. thanks for now!
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 13 January 2017, 20:42   #72
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
I'm usually using SWIV for diagnosing the RDY signal.
Does it work with KS 2.05?
demolition is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 01:48   #73
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,928
Don't know.
idrougge is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 12:02   #74
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
hey guys, just tested the suggested demo and game. so neither state of the art (oh, i remeber this one too good from a copy party back then) nor SWIV run. as soon as the demo should start, the LED gets stuck and with SWIV it takes me to the text, that this version has been fixed and as soon as the screen says 512kB ram detected it won't load any further as well. this is bad for my current situation but very good in total as we now may have very well pinned down the gotek-hw to be faulty (or in particular the RST-signal).
glad i already ordered a new drive a few days ago which should arrive today. thanks for all the help!!! would have never been able to point this out.

Edit: new gotek drive arrived, will do some further testing and report back

Last edited by ch40s_engineer; 14 January 2017 at 13:02.
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 13:03   #75
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Too bad you'll have to pay for another HxC license but then again it's not that expensive. You could try first with the Cortex firmware in the new device when you get it.

I haven't heard about Goteks with a missing connection to the RDY pin but I guess it could happen since PCs don't care about it (as well as Amiga DOS) so most non-Amiga users would not care.
demolition is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 13:26   #76
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
IT WORKS!!!! So the faulty hardware caused the problems all along...

Again, thank everyone who participated!
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 13:29   #77
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Good to hear. At least, if you need a floppy emulator for a retro PC, the other Gotek should be perfect since the RDY pin is not used here, and the HxC firmware is also good for PC floppies.
demolition is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 13:57   #78
appiah4
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Somewhere in Time
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by ch40s_engineer View Post
IT WORKS!!!! So the faulty hardware caused the problems all along...

Again, thank everyone who participated!
Glad to hear and sorry that you paid 10 eur for the hxc firmware on a faulty device but it was a shot in the dark..

Can you post pictures of the gotek device and board so that other users can avoid it?

Also if anyone can let know whether a missinf RDY pin can be fixed on this drive?
appiah4 is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 14:20   #79
ch40s_engineer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cologne
Posts: 74
thanks, i already emailed jeff and gave him a link to this topic, perhaps he has mercy with me...

will post some photos later on!
ch40s_engineer is offline  
Old 14 January 2017, 14:40   #80
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 3,976
Just sell it as a HxC Gotek for PCs. I'm sure lots of people use them for PCs as well - I know I have one in my retro PC.

Just be sure to mention the problem with it, but otherwise you should easily be able to recoup your HxC license expense.
demolition is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Problems d0ORk Hardware mods 14 03 January 2017 19:15
A500+/A600 compatibility issues DisposableHero Retrogaming General Discussion 0 24 April 2015 00:40
A500 vs A600 for compatibility JonSick Amiga scene 18 17 February 2013 22:57
whdload compatibility problems hexaae support.WinUAE 3 26 November 2009 20:48
Better (perhaps) A500 compatibility Toni Wilen request.UAE Wishlist 25 15 July 2008 04:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08977 seconds with 14 queries