English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 18 May 2024, 15:49   #1
SuperFuryAnimal

Uncrackable protection, was it possible???

With the benefit of hindsight and a considerable number of years passing, was it possible to have and amiga game with uncrackable protection?? Something I'm curious about, I'm assuming its prob a no, but I have no real coding knowledge.

Prob a question for some of the amiga legends on the board.
Old 18 May 2024, 16:35   #2
Phantasm
Not a Rebel anymore

This has been asked before and the short answer is no. If it can be played it can be cracked
Old 18 May 2024, 16:44   #3
ross
Defendit numerus

Short answer: no.

Elaborate answer: you can definitely make life complicated for the cracker
Even if emulators help a lot in the 'task' there are several techniques to break the emulator with undocumented* things and at that point only on a real machine could the code be run.
And there are various techniques to block or confuse even the various state freezers on real, so you have to break the code 'by hand'.

But it's only a matter of time, sooner or later you'll be able to crack anything (after giving the geek on duty a big headache).

* there are fewer and fewer undocumented things and sooner or later there won't be any more..
Old 18 May 2024, 16:51   #4
phx
Natteravn

Let's say: if you own all parts to run the game, it can be cracked.

Even on the Amiga you could think about creating a game which must be played online against other players. Then you need a unique server login for every copy and cracks become worthless.

No wonder there are so many online games these days…
Old 18 May 2024, 17:13   #5
Estrayk

And with a hardware dongle too?
Old 18 May 2024, 17:26   #6
phx
Natteravn

Depends whether the hardware dongle implements some required game function, or if it is just checked to be present. In the latter case the check can simply be removed (cracked).
Old 18 May 2024, 19:04   #7
paraj