English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 May 2012, 10:25   #1
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Anyone ever fixed a gamepad?

Hi guys,

Recently bought this control pad - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320911040673?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

Listed as 'Brand new', it was actually, a very grubby, second-hand, SEGA Megadrive 6-button pad, with BLACK TAPE over the SEGA logo on the front and the serial details on the back. Not so bad I thought, because the SEGA 6-button pad is pretty epic.

However, pressing down on the d-pad does not work and it only works part of the time pressing right too.

So, contacted the bastard of a seller, who refunded me and said to just keep or bin the pad. Im abit pissed off because I wanted to use it this weekend and wont be able to get a replacement in time.

Anyway, has anyone ever had any joy repairing control pads? Iv'e tried a couple before but they have always failed because the wires and soldered parts are all very fiddly and brittle (due to age).

If anyone has fixed one, and specifically the d-pad, do you have any tips please?


Cheers
mancity is offline  
Old 25 May 2012, 11:09   #2
Tiago
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Estoril/Portugal
Age: 42
Posts: 115
I fixed 2 pads some time ago,
1 was was broken wires, the other was the solder join (don't know the english word) but it was the part were the wire touch the smal pcb, that solder part, was broken, i just put new solder there, simple cases.
Probably your case could be a simple one too.
Tiago is offline  
Old 25 May 2012, 17:31   #3
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
It's a cheap and imo crappy clone of the original Sega 6 button pad. My advice: Buy the real one. It's more expensive, but one of the best pads for 2D games ever.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sega-Mega-...item2a1d99ad2b
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 25 May 2012, 18:37   #4
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
The one I actually received WAS an official SEGA one!

I didn't want the SEGA one, I wanted the brand new clone lol.
mancity is offline  
Old 25 May 2012, 19:13   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Ah, i see. Luck (better pad) and bad luck (broken) together. Try Tiagos tips. I've fixed only a 3-button Sega pad so far, it needed only a bit silicon spray for the d-pad.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 26 May 2012, 15:13   #6
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Iv'e managed to fix it

Just gave the contacts a good clean with some lense cleaner
mancity is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wingman Gamepad Old Fool support.Hardware 16 13 February 2012 16:41
Gamepad mapping Hobbe support.WinUAE 27 13 June 2007 23:53
Can't get gamepad to work Gonzouk support.WinUAE 13 30 April 2007 23:04
Gravis Gamepad Old Fool support.Hardware 5 24 April 2007 10:24
Using a gamepad in WinUAE boing_1000 support.WinUAE 2 14 October 2006 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06535 seconds with 13 queries