English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2003, 11:20   #1
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Cannon Fodder HD

Does anyone else have a loading issue with the WHDL version of this game?

Saving and loading works fine in the current session, but if I quit/reboot and restart the game, it doesn't find my savegames

I was rather annoyed at the time, having gone up to level 15 in one session and finding out next time I loaded it!
Echo is offline  
Old 20 February 2003, 19:09   #2
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,728
Strange !?! My version is working good.
haynor666 is offline  
Old 22 February 2003, 19:47   #3
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 47
Posts: 8,023
...

Your the first one to report that fault fella.

Sounds like your hard drive is playing up as WHDLoad doesn't save till it exits.

My advice to you would be to run SNOOPDOS before Cannon Fodder and see what it reports after you exit Cannon Fodder after a save as SNOOP should capture the write and tell you if there was a problem or not.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 22 February 2003, 20:07   #4
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
I'm pretty sure it's physically saving the slots, as I can see several "SAVE.*" files inside the cf_data directory.

Never used snoopdos, but I'll have a look on Aminet
Echo is offline  
Old 22 February 2003, 20:24   #5
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Just ran CF-HD while Snoopdos was monitoring, the log looks fine. But quitting and restarting the game means it no longer finds the savegames

I've attached the log in case there's something of relevance in there.

Edit:
Well bloody hell, I've just cured it. I downloaded a pre-made hard drive installed copy from the net, and tried that - works perfectly. Another odd thing is, the CF icon is different to the one I have.

I thought there was only one version of this installer, which I used a while ago to extract my original 3 disks. Maybe the install partly failed when I did it - the game does work perfectly however, it's just the save issue.

But all is well with this copy from the net, so I can go and complete it without having to do so in one session
Attached Files
File Type: zip snoopdos.zip (2.9 KB, 225 views)

Last edited by Echo; 22 February 2003 at 20:39.
Echo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannon Fodder! Lostrich New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 23 November 2012 08:24
Cannon Fodder vs Cannon Fodder 2 NytroX86 Nostalgia & memories 30 15 January 2006 20:29
Cannon Fodder 2 Raven support.Games 35 05 February 2005 07:31
Cannon Fodder 2 C64 or Amiga?? support.Games 1 10 September 2004 15:22
Cannon Fodder Hammy support.Games 24 05 May 2003 22:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07526 seconds with 14 queries