English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 April 2017, 11:48   #1
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Why are there no good A1200 accelerators to buy?

How come all the A1200 accelerators are pants? well, not pants, but the fastest you can buy new now, is a 40Mhz 68030, and while it's a nice boost, its nothing like a 68040 or 060. Why is there no good, fast cards? why am i having to settle for this 68030 mince?

not best pleased.


Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 11:56   #2
nobody
Registered User

nobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: GR
Age: 42
Posts: 1,320
Because they cannot find 060 or are too expensive and not useful as average user only wants whdload. Seeing the prices of other cards, a 68060 card would cost 500€++
nobody is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 12:09   #3
Mr.Flibble
Registered User

Mr.Flibble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 468
I don't think anyone will be making commercial cards with better options in quantities due to the lack of new processors.

Wait for Vampire A1200 I guess?
Mr.Flibble is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 14:29   #4
Thelemorf
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Boden/Sweden
Posts: 17
Or sell the A1200 and get a A600 with a vampire
Thelemorf is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 16:54   #5
michaelz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Den Haag / Netherlands
Posts: 193
If I read correctly, Jens (icomp.de) is trying to get some 68060's for years but can't source the right type in the quantities to justify a product run.

Maybe someone in the community could make one with an emulated 68040 or 68060, but that end result would come somewhat close to the Vampire cards. But without the SAGA and HDMI.
michaelz is offline  
Old 11 April 2017, 22:32   #6
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 925
I understand problem sourcing 68060 cpus and there is also a risk to get sammed.

68040s are different thing they are easy to find, often cheaper than 68030 cpus. No real risk to get scammed.

68040 cpu is minium for me, it makes possible to play prety much every possible amiga game. Those games are like Breathless, Gloom, Frears, XTreme racing etc. 68040 25mhz is 2x faster than 68030 50mhz.

Last edited by utri007; 11 April 2017 at 22:53.
utri007 is offline  
Old 12 April 2017, 10:59   #7
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,474
Trading a1200 for a600, vampire or not you lose aga games...

I was planning to sell my blizzard 1260 but i think i ll keep it. If anyone is interested by a a1230 blizzard let me know, but it seems to freeze sometimes so it will be cheap!
jotd is offline  
Old 12 April 2017, 11:06   #8
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
A 68040 in an A1200 trapdoor slot isn't a very good idea.
idrougge is offline  
Old 12 April 2017, 12:23   #9
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,474
I have a A1260 in a A1200 desktop and it works fine. I just play games so I don't care about it heating up.

I had an Ateo tower with a Pixel64 picasso-like board but I had so many problems / instabilities with it (not to mention the noise) that I took it apart and set up a simple A1200 gaming machine. Development is so much faster on WinUAE and even vasm, I cannot work the way I worked before. No more dev or anything on the migy but games...

Seems that this Vampire thing is just what I would have needed to run emulators like MAME, which were very slow even on a 68060 and simple games.
jotd is offline  
Old 12 April 2017, 13:31   #10
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
Yes, but the 68040 runs a lot hotter than 68060.
idrougge is offline  
Old 13 April 2017, 10:38   #11
Toryglen-boy
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Glesga
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Yes, but the 68040 runs a lot hotter than 68060.
i don't know if i would agree with that 100%

alot of it tends to come down to the mask.
Toryglen-boy is offline  
Old 13 April 2017, 11:19   #12
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 37
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toryglen-boy View Post
i don't know if i would agree with that 100%

alot of it tends to come down to the mask.
In this case it's mainly physics: 68040 = 5v, 68060 = 3.3v
indigolemon is offline  
Old 13 April 2017, 17:44   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toryglen-boy View Post
i don't know if i would agree with that 100%

alot of it tends to come down to the mask.
AFAIK, every 060 mask is cooler than the typical 68040 mask. There was a later 68040 revision with a more modern process and much lower temperatures, but if you're looking to buy that in large quantities, you're facing the same troubles as getting sufficient qualities of 68060 processors.
idrougge is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 16:23   #14
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,500
Just buy second hand. An apollo 1240/40 is up for grabs on Amibay for £225 right now. And then if you need more then get someone to upgrade it to 060 - this can be done for about another £150/170 or so with cpu ram. That's plenty of power for not a massive amount more than the inflated bliz 030 prices. I bought a 'cheap' bliz 040 and upgraded it to 060 and saved several hundred over a straight 1260.
trixster is offline  
Old 19 April 2017, 16:33   #15
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,500
I notice you've put at least 2 Wanted ads on Amibay for 040 and 060 accelerators and have had more than 2 offers for blizzard 1260s. Are the sellers asking too much? Sadly until vampire 1200 rocks up to upset the prices you'll have to put your hand in your pocket for an 060. And even when vampire does appear I don't think the prices will drop too much as original hardware will always remain sought-after.
trixster is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 10:18   #16
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 42
Posts: 5,590
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
And even when vampire does appear I don't think the prices will drop too much as original hardware will always remain sought-after.
Thats true. We hoped prices of Blizzard cards will drop after brand new ACA boards flooded the market, but we were wrong.
Predseda is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 11:26   #17
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predseda View Post
Thats true. We hoped prices of Blizzard cards will drop after brand new ACA boards flooded the market, but we were wrong.
I'm still waiting for that ACA1260 that will be the fastest and best etc.
Jope is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 20:10   #18
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,500
If he can make an 060 board that lets the 060 approach the speed of an Atari CT60/63/60e then we're in business.
trixster is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 20:58   #19
Chucky
Registered User

Chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Karlstad / Sweden
Age: 48
Posts: 569
Still if I as a private person sourced 100+ 060 CPUs without any big issues. I cannot see how it is not possible to source enough cpus for production. especially if not require rev6 cpus (as mine is)

What we need is a opensourced 040/060 accelerator. Too bad community fucked up one of our chanses of getting one (the TF540)
Chucky is offline  
Old 20 April 2017, 21:32   #20
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chucky View Post
Still if I as a private person sourced 100+ 060 CPUs without any big issues. I cannot see how it is not possible to source enough cpus for production. especially if not require rev6 cpus (as mine is)
The problem is that you're sourcing them at around 100 euros which is not exactly affordable for a large accelerator run - very few people would buy them at such a price, counting all the board production, R&D etc. I expect that Jens is looking to source them for $10-15 USD tops.
alenppc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 68030 accelerators for A1200 Schoenfeld News 79 03 December 2015 00:33
Where's a good place to buy an Amiga?... dave4shmups Amiga scene 22 23 January 2010 01:41
What would be a good buy? TcsAmiga Nostalgia & memories 16 07 April 2006 18:05
Good places to buy Amiga games? one1 MarketPlace 5 04 June 2003 13:18
Where can I buy a good null-modem cable? MethodGit support.Hardware 6 01 July 2001 15:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08959 seconds with 13 queries