English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 February 2011, 00:34   #1
Mr TEL
 
Posts: n/a
Beneath a Steel Sky

Hi guys

I give up! How do you get this beast to work on an emulated A1200 on an imac G5?

If I run it straight from the floppy (adf) files, it works ok but obviously keeps asking for floppies as required.

If you install to HD from the adf files, it runs but doesn't close the workbench screen so you can't see it.

If you take the WHDLoad route then it wants an A500 kickstart file in the devs directory. I followed all the instructions but I still get the 'object not found' message.

Is it because I've got the RTG Picasso setup running? Any ideas? I would describe myself as an intermediate user by the way.

Thanks in advance
Tel
 
Old 14 February 2011, 00:36   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
About the WHDLoad option : Have you copied the RTB file from the http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/skick346 archive to 'Devs:Kickstarts' and renamed the kickstart file accordingly?
TCD is offline  
Old 14 February 2011, 21:00   #3
Mr TEL
 
Posts: n/a
Sure have – and I've tried 'A500' in upper and lower case.
 
Old 15 February 2011, 01:23   #4
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr TEL View Post
Hi guys

I give up! How do you get this beast to work on an emulated A1200 on an imac G5?

If I run it straight from the floppy (adf) files, it works ok but obviously keeps asking for floppies as required.

If you install to HD from the adf files, it runs but doesn't close the workbench screen so you can't see it.

If you take the WHDLoad route then it wants an A500 kickstart file in the devs directory. I followed all the instructions but I still get the 'object not found' message.

Is it because I've got the RTG Picasso setup running? Any ideas? I would describe myself as an intermediate user by the way.

Thanks in advance
Tel
If you've got RTG you might be better off playing the PC version via ScummVM RTG

You can grab the full game right here

Just don't forget to replace 'SKY.CPT'
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 February 2011, 18:09   #5
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 563
Or wipe that pile of crap that is OSx or dual boot with ubuntu ,

beneath a steel sky part is gmae downlaod then
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 15 February 2011, 21:23   #6
Mr TEL
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for all your help people. I've resolved it now. I think it was because it was adding the extension '.rom' on the end of the file name.

Judging by the comments made by the little welsh guy above, shouldn't there be a moderator on this site?

Last edited by Mr TEL; 16 February 2011 at 22:46.
 
Old 10 May 2011, 15:42   #7
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr TEL View Post
Thanks for all your help people. I've resolved it now. I think it was because it was adding the extension '.rom' on the end of the file name.

Judging by the comments made by the little welsh guy above, shouldn't there be a moderator on this site?

If the word "crap" offends you then sure
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 15:53   #8
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
If the word "crap" offends you then sure
Or if "the little welsh guy" offends, .
FOL is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 16:34   #9
Gaula92
Registered User
Gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 462
Mac OSX is slow, bloated pile of crap. If you feel offended because you spent so much money on you shiny PC in a cool case with a crappy OS, then I'm sorry
Use a well-configured Linux instead (well-configured as in "compile a kernel for your hardware"), or AROS, Haiku... If you don't (I respect you anyway), you have to bear with people telling you that OSX is crap

Hell, I'm posting it from a Macbook with OSX, and I reckon it's slow'n sticky crap!
Gaula92 is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 17:00   #10
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr TEL View Post
Thanks for all your help people. I've resolved it now. I think it was because it was adding the extension '.rom' on the end of the file name.

Judging by the comments made by the little welsh guy above, shouldn't there be a moderator on this site?

Moderators? Jesus titty fucking christ, let me know when you see one of them
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 10 May 2011, 17:24   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
'ello o/
Sorted? Good. Closed, bye.
TCD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beneath a Steel Sky 2 trackah123 Nostalgia & memories 11 21 February 2013 20:46
Beneath a steel sky pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 36 03 January 2010 09:40
Beneath a Steel Sky Steve request.Old Rare Games 19 18 November 2004 15:30
Beneath a Steel Sky 2! TheBoss Retrogaming General Discussion 7 30 March 2004 08:27
Beneath a Steel Sky - CD-32 T-Bag support.Games 5 21 August 2001 16:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09603 seconds with 15 queries