English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Games images which need to be WHDified

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 October 2006, 10:17   #21
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
It was on coverdisk 35 of Amiga Format

http://nthdimension.emuunlim.com/amf-35b.adz

EDIT:

And it was a coverdisk on The One too

http://amigacoverdisks.emuunlim.com/...ptember92B.zip
(you'll need to copy and paste this)

I linked to both in case one was slightly different

Cheers Girv!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 09 October 2006, 10:20   #22
girv
Registered User

girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 924
Thanks muchly
girv is offline  
Old 18 October 2006, 12:17   #23
Spellcoder
Spellcoder
Spellcoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 39
Posts: 27
I played this game a lot too . Somewhere around 1998 I tracked down the author's new email address. He had just moved so the address in the game isn't valid anymore.
I registered and also mentioned there was a nasty bug (think the frog sprite was missing on my a4000). Got the sourcecode from him so I could try to find the bug (it was written in C) and all graphics files, so they are still on my Amiga somewhere (or maybe on the backup on my iMac). Didn't find the bug at the time though, I was more into assembler (asmone) and basic (amospro).

He also mentioned some stuff as to why he make Croak. If I recall correctly he made Croak 1 for a friend who was sick. Then he made Croak 2 for an AF competition. He was upset though to find his game on the coverdisk without having got any response from AF. He then wrote to them asking if this meant he had won. After that go got a small prize.
Someday I should try to dig up the email he send me, but I fear it's on one of my zip-disks and my scsi zip-drive is long gone (click-of-death).

Last edited by Spellcoder; 18 October 2006 at 12:27.
Spellcoder is offline  
Old 29 October 2006, 00:56   #24
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spellcoder
I played this game a lot too . Somewhere around 1998 I tracked down the author's new email address. He had just moved so the address in the game isn't valid anymore.
I registered and also mentioned there was a nasty bug (think the frog sprite was missing on my a4000). Got the sourcecode from him so I could try to find the bug (it was written in C) and all graphics files, so they are still on my Amiga somewhere (or maybe on the backup on my iMac). Didn't find the bug at the time though, I was more into assembler (asmone) and basic (amospro).
I'd like to get the sourcecode. If you can dig it up for us, we'd be very grateful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spellcoder
He also mentioned some stuff as to why he make Croak. If I recall correctly he made Croak 1 for a friend who was sick. Then he made Croak 2 for an AF competition. He was upset though to find his game on the coverdisk without having got any response from AF. He then wrote to them asking if this meant he had won. After that go got a small prize.
Someday I should try to dig up the email he send me, but I fear it's on one of my zip-disks and my scsi zip-drive is long gone (click-of-death).
zip drives suck. I had at least 5 zip drives and all went dead after a while, killing the inserted disks in the process.
jotd is offline  
Old 13 November 2006, 21:34   #25
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
my "click of death" scsi zip drive has been working for years on my amiga!!

(you just need to turn it on its side )
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 23:21   #26
Spellcoder
Spellcoder
Spellcoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 39
Posts: 27
I've dug up the sourcecode and gave it to Jotd. Hopefully it'll be usefull for fixing.
Or at least some more people have the sourcecode so it won't get lost forever.

I seem to remember the player's frog didn't appear when setpatch had been run.
To get Croak2 to work correctly I had to choose to boot without startup-sequence and start Croak2 from the CLI.
Spellcoder is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 23:26   #27
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 37
Posts: 2,480
Cool
kriz is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 21:18   #28
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
I saw Horace complaining on IRC that Croak! runs fast on his A1200 so I had a few minutes spare and installed it with the generic kickstart loader and it seems to run fine now.

I've put it in the zone if anyone is interested. I've tested it and it supports hiscore saving and loading from the HDD.

Cheers to the whdload guys for recently updating the generic slaves.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 21:24   #29
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Cheers KG, I always enjoyed playing this one too, many moons ago.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 21:44   #30
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,122
Thank you KG,

I enjoyed the Amphibian Migration Simulation much too
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 21:50   #31
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
Well let me know if it works ok!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 23:18   #32
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,122
It works perfect in WinUAE,game speed is normal but it is not possible to type the hiscore name because it is very fast.(using match a500 speed you can type hiscore but is slower game)

In my a1200 I have not even tested but surely it works perfect type hiscore.
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 13 November 2007, 23:28   #33
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
me? complaining?

never!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 14 November 2007, 19:29   #34
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
I tried it on my A1200 which is equipped with an 040, and it seems to be incredibly fast - the timer goes down really quickly. Thing is I can't remember if the game actually was that fast or not. I tried nocache which helps a bit but then some of the graphics are a bit flickery, though not to the extent they ruin the game.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 14 November 2007, 19:44   #35
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,488
yeah, i found it was still way fast on the 030 too :S
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 14 November 2007, 19:53   #36
frikilokooo
Registered User
frikilokooo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mallorca,Spain.
Age: 40
Posts: 1,122
yeah,a little fast in my 020 and impossible type hiscore
frikilokooo is offline  
Old 14 November 2007, 20:14   #37
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 7,956
lol

fair enough!

Well that was useful

Croak 2 works at a fine speed, but you can't see the bloody frog!
killergorilla is offline  
Old 14 November 2007, 21:03   #38
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Thanks for trying though KG
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 22:49   #39
Magno Boots
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 685
Would somebody be so kind as to upload the Croak install again.

I'd like to try it on my A600 WHDL machine.

Many thanks.
Magno Boots is offline  
Old 25 November 2007, 22:52   #40
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 11,061
Done
Graham Humphrey is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Croak 2 fc.studio Games images which need to be WHDified 7 08 April 2014 20:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09015 seconds with 15 queries