English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2018, 17:28   #101
Zandig
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Include log, please. Is it 100% repeatable or does it sometimes work?
Yes it is 100% repeatable.

Log attached..

Last edited by Zandig; 18 February 2018 at 23:57.
Zandig is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 17:51   #102
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,504
Does it only happen with this config?

Remove all unneeded: all harddrives, shader files, masks.. Does it still happen? (the usual: remove all unknown variables)

EDIT: Does F12 and then exit GUI work or does it also cause blank screens?

EDIT even more: Did it always crash previously? I mean, did you ever manage to test this situation with previous official betas? Just wondering if this is actually unrelated problem.. Does same happen if you select some normal refresh rate (instead of "default")?

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 18 February 2018 at 18:02.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 February 2018, 19:35   #103
Zandig
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it only happen with this config?

Remove all unneeded: all harddrives, shader files, masks.. Does it still happen? (the usual: remove all unknown variables)

EDIT: Does F12 and then exit GUI work or does it also cause blank screens?

EDIT even more: Did it always crash previously? I mean, did you ever manage to test this situation with previous official betas? Just wondering if this is actually unrelated problem.. Does same happen if you select some normal refresh rate (instead of "default&quot?
It happens with various configs I tried.

Removing hard drives, shader files and masks - the problem still happens.

Various refresh rates and problem is still there.

F12 and exit GUI works properly, as does the middle mouse button.
Just ALT-TAB with the problem.

Sorry I have only tried your last few Betas on this problem, aside from the 3.6.0 release.
Zandig is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:19   #104
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,504
I suddenly managed to duplicate it but it didn't happen every time. For some reason Windows sent "window went inactive" message but still restored the hidden fullscreen window. WinUAE kept waiting for activation message..

I did some Window message handling adjustments and now I can't duplicate it anymore. (which probably won't mean anything..)

Anyway, winuae.7z updated.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:56   #105
Zandig
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I suddenly managed to duplicate it but it didn't happen every time. For some reason Windows sent "window went inactive" message but still restored the hidden fullscreen window. WinUAE kept waiting for activation message..

I did some Window message handling adjustments and now I can't duplicate it anymore. (which probably won't mean anything..)

Anyway, winuae.7z updated.
Yes the ALT-TAB issue is now fixed using Direct3D 11

However now if using Direct3D 11 and you right click on the WinUAE icon on the Windows taskbar and select "Close Window" it takes you back into the Amiga screen instead of closing the program.

Using Direct3D 9 works as intended by closing WinUAE.
Zandig is offline  
Old 18 February 2018, 22:57   #106
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I suddenly managed to duplicate it but it didn't happen every time. For some reason Windows sent "window went inactive" message but still restored the hidden fullscreen window. WinUAE kept waiting for activation message..

I did some Window message handling adjustments and now I can't duplicate it anymore. (which probably won't mean anything..)

Anyway, winuae.7z updated.
Don't you hate those super intermittent bugs that happen 1% of the time and are dependant on countless variables such as OS / drivers / settings / blah...

You're doing a sterling job master Wilen

You can solve / fix anything Amiga --> Windows related.
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 00:41   #107
rbm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CAT
Posts: 59
This is not a beta 3.6.1 related problem but a 3.6.0.

The latest working beta for the attached config is the 3.6.0 beta 16. The beta 17 crashes with a Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library Error.

Also attached the beta 3.6.0 beta 16 and beta 17 logs.
Attached Files
File Type: rar AmigaOS39.rar (3.0 KB, 26 views)
File Type: rar 3.6.0 beta 16.rar (18.3 KB, 14 views)
File Type: rar 3.6.0 beta 17.rar (12.9 KB, 12 views)
rbm is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 18:22   #108
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbm View Post
This is not a beta 3.6.1 related problem but a 3.6.0.

The latest working beta for the attached config is the 3.6.0 beta 16. The beta 17 crashes with a Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library Error.

Also attached the beta 3.6.0 beta 16 and beta 17 logs.
Disable JIT direct. It had stupid change that allowed JIT direct which didn't really make sense..
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 18:23   #109
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandig View Post
However now if using Direct3D 11 and you right click on the WinUAE icon on the Windows taskbar and select "Close Window" it takes you back into the Amiga screen instead of closing the program.
Works for me, quits normally. Attach new logs.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 20:05   #110
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,504
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3610b5.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3610b5.7z

Beta 5: (1-2 weeks to go if D3D11 issues are really fixed..)

- Creating new file with "DOS" name (for example AUX) to directory filesystem drive returned error (got broken in 3.6.0, it added special handling for reading existing special named files in case if filesystem accepts them without mangling but creating new files was missed..)
- Autoscale ignored small vertical display areas in very top of display in some situations.
- A600/A1200/A4000 IDE missed doubler supported flag. (3.5.0+ only shows ports 2 and 3 if device is confirmed supporting IDE doubler)
- Virtual RDB is now supported with dynamic (VHD) hardfiles. (Virtual RDB: if partition hardfile is mounted to any hardware emulated IDE or SCSI controller, virtual RDB is automatically added. This enables to boot/mount partition hardfiles even when using hardware emulated HD controllers)
- Virtual RDB now also includes FSHD and LSEG blocks if hardfile FileSys path is non-empty. (Makes filesystem compatibility testing much faster and easier when using non-UAE controllers)
- If D3D11 mode shader/mask loading failed (for example missing mask image file), not all allocated data was freed.
- Remaining D3D11 alt-tab/F12 fullscreen<>windowed mode crashes should be fixed.
- D3D11 fullscreen mode restore after alt-tab sometimes only showed blank screen.
- Reverted 3.6.0b17 allow JIT direct in CSPPC mode. PPC can't boot without JIT-direct incompatible memory mapping. If you want JIT Direct with CSPPC and don't need PPC: Use CSMK3.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 20:31   #111
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,200
Nice, off to test
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 20:31   #112
Zandig
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Works for me, quits normally. Attach new logs.
Logs attached.

Also a pic of my bottom taskbar so you can see the icon I'm referring to..


Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (18.2 KB, 11 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (52.9 KB, 20 views)
Zandig is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 20:43   #113
bagpipes
Registered User

bagpipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 89
Thank you, Toni! Now Arabian Nights with automatic scaling works like a charm.
bagpipes is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 21:06   #114
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by bagpipes View Post
Thank you, Toni! Now Arabian Nights with automatic scaling works like a charm.
...just tested Shadow Warriors using ransom1122's settings i.e. automatic scaling but unfortunately the top part is still cut off

I've attached his configuration file for you Toni.

Last edited by DamienD; 24 February 2018 at 19:52.
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 21:39   #115
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...just tested Shadow Warriors using ransom1122's settings i.e. automatic scaling but unfortunately the top part is still cut off

I've attached his configuration file for you Toni.
Screenshot required!
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 21:50   #116
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,200
What the configuration file isn't enough?

Ok then:



Again, please note this is not my issue as I don't ever use "automatic scaling"...
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 21:57   #117
Steve
Truth seeker...
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zandig View Post
Yes the ALT-TAB issue is now fixed using Direct3D 11

However now if using Direct3D 11 and you right click on the WinUAE icon on the Windows taskbar and select "Close Window" it takes you back into the Amiga screen instead of closing the program.

Using Direct3D 9 works as intended by closing WinUAE.
I can confirm the Alt-Tab issue is now fixed! Excellent work Toni, thank you.

I am also unable to duplicate the 'close window' issue from the taskbar. I tested this and it worked as expected.
Steve is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 22:00   #118
bagpipes
Registered User

bagpipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
...just tested Shadow Warriors using ransom1122's settings i.e. automatic scaling but unfortunately the top part is still cut off

I've attached his configuration file for you Toni.
Your config is wrong - with automatic scaling on the game runs perfectly.
bagpipes is offline  
Old 19 February 2018, 22:01   #119
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 16,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by bagpipes View Post
Your config is wrong - with automatic scaling on the game runs perfectly.
AGAIN!!! IT'S NOT MY CONFIGURATION FILE, it's ransom1122's

I'm just helping him out with an issue he's mentioned to me numerous times (as he's probably still asleep in Australia).
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 February 2018, 22:06   #120
bagpipes
Registered User

bagpipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
AGAIN!!! IT'S NOT MY CONFIGURATION FILE, it's ransom1122's

I'm just helping him out with an issue he's mentioned to me numerous times (as he's probably still asleep in Australia).
Roger that!
bagpipes is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.8.0 beta series (Was 2.7.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 214 01 May 2014 12:28
WinUAE 2.4.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 342 29 March 2012 10:02
WinUAE 2.3.0 beta series (was 2.2.1) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 229 22 September 2010 20:20
WinUAE 2.0.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 14 22 December 2009 19:46
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 13:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12241 seconds with 16 queries