English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 November 2001, 17:26   #1
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Not a newbie but......

Can someone explain what this WHDload stuff is all about?
I`ve seen losts of posts about it, and I thought I`d get more info from WHDload.org, but thats down atm.
Anyone help?? just want to know if and what the benifits are?

Thanks in advance

Stain
stainy is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 17:30   #2
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Simple. WHDload is a program which (with installers) allow you to play your disk games from harddisk as well as some of the games were fixed (or using WHDload I think) to run on newer Amigas.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 18:00   #3
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
Here's a post where I mentioned some benefits of using WHDLoad:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?threadid=1480


Benefits:

1. Runs games/demos completely from hard disk.
2. Removes disk swapping nightmares.
3. Fixes compatibility problems with newer Amigas.
4. Removes any copy protection.
5. Saves the original game from death by floppy corruption.
6. Writes/loads save games/hiscores to hard disk.
7. Sometimes fixes bugs.
8. Apart from the initial registration, the installers are provided free.
9. Often fix incompatibility problems with Amiga emulators, by eliminating problems with disk loading problems, badly coded pirate intros and anti-copy protections.
10. Supports over 850 games and over 170 demos.
11. A quitkey can be used to exit from all games to Workbench.
CodyJarrett is online now  
Old 12 November 2001, 19:51   #4
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
True, it works great since I downloaded it last week. BUT...I have 10 games I downloaded, already set up and instaled, say from Spooky's ...and when I click the icon, the game boots, with the WHD Load message and all. Then I get an error, about cannot find "Kick\Kick13.a500" something or another..what does this mean????
If I can't play these games, I have no reason to keep it and will delete it.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 20:44   #5
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
It's a kickstart emulation system. You need to place a kickstart o the devs/kickstarts directory of Workbench.

It isn't used on all installs, just some.

I've uploaded the necessary files.
CodyJarrett is online now  
Old 12 November 2001, 21:27   #6
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
Thanks very much, Cody. This works, and I am buying the thing, all on your advice. You ougtta get a commission
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 12 November 2001, 21:31   #7
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,800
These days I won't play Amiga games that aren't running off hard disk without problems.

And if you want the best WHD installers, then there is only one name that you need to know. And it starts with a 'Code' and ends in a 'tapper'.

(Can I have my money now Codetapper?)
CodyJarrett is online now  
Old 12 November 2001, 23:13   #8
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 50
Posts: 2,802
I did not understand the first part of the sentence. But I understand the second part. Thanks to Codetapper, I can play Fighter Duel Pro.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 13 November 2001, 07:08   #9
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Eek ok then!

So what do I need to get this WDHload going then?
I`m guessing I need a booting workbench deal first then..
stainy is offline  
Old 13 November 2001, 08:52   #10
Amigaboy
 
Posts: n/a
You'll need a hard disk set up which means as you said, a booting workbench

Then, you'll need to install the WHDload package. Then you'll have to get an installer for whichever game. Then run the installer and that's it
 
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie barnetman Member Introductions 12 15 July 2009 17:01
Another Newbie danhans Member Introductions 18 23 April 2009 18:18
Newbie help Jurosem New to Emulation or Amiga scene 11 27 November 2008 15:26
Please help - newbie here mekon New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 21 September 2006 11:50
newbie deckard109 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 May 2002 19:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07022 seconds with 13 queries