English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 28 May 2007, 06:19   #1
laffer
Zone Friend

What's your favourite Alien Breed game?

I just started playing these games over again.. too bad I don't have anyone to play with

Anyway, I started with the very first game and I struggled with that one for some time.. it's pretty hard in single player! It seems the enemies can take the same amount of damage in both one and two player mode and there seems to be the same amount of them too.. I think it may be geared towards two player and they didn't balance it well enough for single player. It is a lot of fun though but you can't really explore the levels a lot because of the respawning enemies and very limited ammo.
Also - you have to watch that damn boot sequence for those index terminals every time you use one! That really annoyed me a lot.

Now, Alien Breed Special Edition is a lot better. They seem to have done a much better job of balancing this one.. the enemies die faster and you get more stuff on the levels. And you can skip that boot thing on the index terminals too which is a blessing!
In this game you can actually explore the entire levels.. it's a lot more fun I think.

I still haven't played Alien Breed 2 or Tower Assault.. I never had those for my Amiga back in the day and I'm looking forwards to trying them out once I finish this SE version of the first one.

And I don't really like the 3D ones.

So so far, my favourite game is Alien Breed SE.. awesome game
Old 28 May 2007, 09:50   #2
laffer
Zone Friend

Hmmm... I encountered an issue with Alien Breed Special Edition.. I suddenly became very rich! I didn't use a cheat or anything but all of a sudden I had over 800000 credits! Is this a bug in the game or something? It makes it all a lot more boring, the challenge is gone
Old 28 May 2007, 09:53   #3
s2325
Zone Friend