English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.MAGE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 21:30   #2621
Viceroy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 562
Thank you DD ;-)
Viceroy is offline  
Old Today, 00:00   #2622
jabybau
Registered User

jabybau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 70
restless guy Damien!!!!!
jabybau is offline  
Old Today, 00:55   #2623
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Thank you Damien! Right now I am playing Legions of Dawn... Man, what a game!

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; Today at 02:05.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old Today, 01:20   #2624
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,746
Enjoy

...I'm currently testing out one of ross's secret projects
DamienD is offline  
Old Today, 02:31   #2625
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Hmm, when I play Legions of Dawn and select "Default" or "Fullscreen (TV)" in Filters panel, I can't click directly over the GUI's buttons to move my character. I must click outside of them.

In the screenshot below you can see that the ghosted rectangle is where I must click to move my character to the right, always at the left of the real button.

The mouse pointer seems to be misaligned with the game image, because every button reacts in the same way.

Seems to be a problem with this game and that Filter options I commented before.

Another issue related to WinUAE and that I would like to hear other people's opinions, is that the option "Mouse/Joystick Autoswitching" in Game ports panel doesn't always works with my controller, a wired XBOX 360 one. Many times WinUAE don't detect the controller or place the controller in the mouse port when I press the fire button.

So I have some questions about this option: firstly anyone know what is the logic which WinUAE uses when selecting the right port for a mouse or controller? And second, anyone sees also WinUAE having difficulties to detect controllers like happens with my XBOX 360 one?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Black Dawn III - Legions of Dawn (1995)(Black Dragon - F1 Licenceware)(Disk 1 of 2)[AMOS]_001.png
Views:	13
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	65482  

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; Today at 10:55.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old Today, 02:45   #2626
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,746
I've never experienced that. If you play the game using my defaults does the same thing happen?

I have to ask, why are you selecting "Default" [never use this as it messes with aspect ratio / scaling] or "Fullscreen (TV)" in the "Filters" panel?

...the games are already setup perfectly in my collection

If you are going to play around with the configuration files I've made (which have been tested thoroughly), then sorry to say; you are on own...

...but in all honesty, I wouldn't expect these changes that you've done to cause any issues; but again I haven't tested by selecting these options.
DamienD is offline  
Old Today, 02:55   #2627
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Another issue related to WinUAE and that I would like to hear other people's opnions, is that the option "Mouse/Joystick Autoswitching" in Game ports panel not always works with my controller, a wired XBOX 360 one. Many times WinUAE don't detect the controller or it puts the controller in the mouse port when I press the fire button.

So I have some questions about this option: firstly anyone know what is the logic which WinUAE uses when selecting the right port for a mouse or controller? And second, anyone is seeing also WinUAE having difficulties to detect controllers like happens with my XBOX 36 one?
I see you've made edits / additions to your post, which I'll try to address

Regarding "Mouse/Joystick autoswitching". I've never had any issues with this over the years and it works perfectly (I've used "wired" Xbox controllers and currently "wireless" Xbox 360 controllers)

See my notes in the 1st post of this thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
  • "Keyboard Layout B" is set for "Port 2"; obviously if you plug in your joystick / controller and press button one it will swap over. With the second joystick / controller, press the 2nd button to swap over.
I should add to that really; pressing "Button 1" on any controller maps to "Port 2", pressing "Button 2" on any controller maps to "Port 1"

Last edited by DamienD; Today at 03:10.
DamienD is offline  
Old Today, 03:16   #2628
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I've never experienced that. If you play the game using my defaults does the same thing happen?

I have to ask, why are you selecting "Default" [never use this as it messes with aspect ratio / scaling] or "Fullscreen (TV)" in the "Filters" panel?
I created a separate configuration in the Host panel with one shader I like to use when playing the games in the collection, so that WinUAE load it with each game, without me needing to modify every configuration separately.

In this separate configuration I have the "Fullscreen (TV)" and "Bilinear filtering" options, along with the aforementioned shader, selected on the Filters panel.

So in reality I only did need to create one new configuration to change every other automatically.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I should add to that really; pressing "Button 1" on any controller maps to "Port 2", pressing "Button 2" on any controller maps to "Port 1"
Thanks for your help with everything, mainly the "Mouse/Joystick autoswitching" option; I will follow your directions and will see if the option works now.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; Today at 09:56.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old Today, 04:04   #2629
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Now I know what was wrong when I used the "Mouse/Joystick autoswitching" option.

It only worked for me when I selected "Game Ports Panel" from the top left box in the Input panel.

Then I pressed the Button #1 of my controller and bingo! It was finally detected!

On my computer I used to have that box always set to "Configuration #1", because I needed to remap the keys on my laptop to work correctly with WinUAE.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Clipboard 1.png
Views:	14
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	65483  

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; Today at 09:55.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old Today, 10:15   #2630
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,746
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
I created a separate configuration in the Host panel with one shader I like to use when playing the games in the collection, so that WinUAE load it with each game, without me needing to modify every configuration separately.

In this separate configuration I have the "Fullscreen (TV)" and "Bilinear filtering" options, along with the aforementioned shader, selected on the Filters panel.

So in reality I only did need to create one new configuration to change every other automatically.
Ah ok, that makes sense. Yes I think if you use shaders then you need to set "native" display and play around with stuff in the "Filters" section.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[DamienD] WinUAE v3.2.2 - Games "DAT File" DamienD request.Old Rare Games 29 10 February 2016 01:02
DamienD's SNES DVD... DamienD Retrogaming General Discussion 282 03 November 2008 10:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15945 seconds with 15 queries