English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2019, 03:40   #1
Orion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Edgeley / Canada
Posts: 2
Unhappy Kickstart problem

Have an Amiga 500 rev5 with 1meg expansion RAM, super denise and fat imeg agnus with kickstart 2.05. All works great. I decided to upgrade to 3.1.4 ROM
I followed all the wiring changes for the ROM to work on an Amiga 500 rev5 but
the computer won't even power up. I then tried a Kickstart 3.1 same thing won't power up. So I went back to the 2.05 ROM and it all works fine again.
Anybody have any idea of what I'm doing wrong? Any suggestions would be great.
Orion is offline  
Old 13 January 2019, 22:24   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,718
Exactly what wiring changes?

I've done it with a 40-pin socket inbetween before.
idrougge is offline  
Old 13 January 2019, 22:27   #3
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 47
Posts: 2,793
Are you using A600 3.1 ROM? because other 3.1 ROMS (1200/4000) don't support the 68000 processor.
jotd is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 13:58   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,677
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
Are you using A600 3.1 ROM? because other 3.1 ROMS (1200/4000) don't support the 68000 processor.

A500/A600/A1500/A2000 all same thing. No difference in ROM.
Will be mod issue, as idrougge pointed out.
FOL is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 20:10   #5
ChadsArcade
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Chorley
Posts: 15
Rev 5 needs pull-ups on the kickstart address lines when using an EPROM, you might be hitting this issue.

Edit: see http://bax.comlab.uni-rostock.de/en/hardware/amiga500/kickstart-eprom/
ChadsArcade is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 20:28   #6
Orion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Edgeley / Canada
Posts: 2
Thanks for all the suggestions, I am using the proper ROMs. The 3.1 ROM was purchased from Amiga Store EU, the 3.1.4 came from Amiga on the Lake NY USA. I even tried a small stability board from a chap in Noway still no luck. I wired pin 1 to pin 31 on the socket and pin 31 to pin 21 on the ROM left pin 31 out of the socket. Nothing works the Amiga will not power up with any mods.
Orion is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SWOS 96-97 and Kickstart 1.3 problem appiah4 support.FS-UAE 17 08 February 2017 11:05
kickstart burn problem kataklysm support.Hardware 7 02 April 2016 16:14
Kickstart problem BanisterDK support.Hardware 10 17 July 2014 22:59
WHDLOAD - kickstart problem GadgetUK support.Games 14 20 March 2013 14:26
Kickstart 3.1 problem Slyder support.WinUAE 7 11 December 2005 17:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06460 seconds with 15 queries