English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 November 2018, 22:32   #21
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,957
Big grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by lantus360 View Post
open source and put it on github.
Microsoft which now owns Github would be in love with reviewing AmigaOS sources.

Pyromania is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 00:49   #22
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,718
Fixed swedish locale.
idrougge is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 03:56   #23
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 40
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Fixed swedish locale.
Would you like to help me on that?

I can make the work, but I dont know swedish nor even know what needs to be fixed. So if you really want it we need to team up to make it happen.

I did locales for spanish, portuguese and fixed a bit of the french and italian ones between others, so I can assure you it is a tedious job. But if you are commited we can get it done.

BTW, if someone else finds there is a locale which needs fixes just let me know.
gulliver is offline  
Old 17 November 2018, 11:05   #24
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,646
Norwegian ones (bokmål and nynorsk) will be on aminet when I am done.
kolla is offline  
Old 18 November 2018, 00:54   #25
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,718
I've worked on localisation before, so sure.
idrougge is offline  
Old 21 November 2018, 19:35   #26
wiser3
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Can't believe i didn't think of this very needed feature earlier.
- change WB screen mode even though applications are open on it
I'm sure we all find this limitation frustrating.
wiser3 is offline  
Old 21 November 2018, 20:02   #27
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,944
Here are some dreams:

- Right click (or hold left) on the screen depth gadget = screen menu, right click (or hold left) on a window depth gadget = window menu.
- Toolsdaemon functionality built in to wb prefs.
- CPU Blitter replacement which is togglable on/off in the preferences?
- A tool to customize our kickstart images in an officially supported way. All kinds of popular stuff like border blank = on, wildstar = on, noclick = on, prepareemul = off, perhaps the aforementioned cpublit = on, etc. that could could be specified. Alternatively incorporate all of these into some preferences editor.
- Atomic updates + no more validation for FFS (is this even doable? pfs3 exists anyway)

Maybe I'll think of more later..
Jope is offline  
Old 23 November 2018, 02:54   #28
wiser3
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Shortcut icons that launch exe or script from another location. For example, launch an exe from wbstartup without moving the exe into wbstartup.
wiser3 is offline  
Old 23 November 2018, 04:23   #29
asymetrix
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 93
@thread

Why does locale have to be even an issue ?

Why cant we redesign it and automate the thing ?

XML text to code / binary
Machine readable format like Json.

Update .guide format to support import SVG, asciidoc and be able to create painless Interactive (dynamic) epub3 files.
asymetrix is offline  
Old 23 November 2018, 07:23   #30
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiser3 View Post
Shortcut icons that launch exe or script from another location. For example, launch an exe from wbstartup without moving the exe into wbstartup.
I think we already can do this? Just create a .info inside WBStartup which points to the appropriate program.
demolition is offline  
Old 23 November 2018, 11:40   #31
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 4,056
Yes you can make a script and launch from Icon with Iconx

You can do even better and faster with "Icon-Link"

- Create Icon-Link (it also works with data, you just have to add the right tool)
- To drag Icon Link to WBStartup

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 27 November 2018 at 00:21.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 16:59   #32
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 671
UTF-8 support

This is more complicated then it should be, and it has to be supported on application level too. FileSystems. And god knows how to handle all this. So if it happens, it requires a complete rewrite of all parts to work properly. For me, a working text editor would have been enough for now, but we don't have any third party solutions that work either.
We can read such documents, but that's about it.

An OS integrated keymap switcher is required to begin with, something that lacks in AmigaOS but is available everywhere else by now.
Michael is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 17:20   #33
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
An OS integrated keymap switcher is required to begin with, something that lacks in AmigaOS but is available everywhere else by now.
Huh, what's wrong with input prefs? Just save prefs as presets and load whatever preset you need with USE flag/tooltype.
kolla is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 18:58   #34
hth313
Registered User
hth313's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Delta, Canada
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael View Post
UTF-8 support

This is more complicated then it should be, and it has to be supported on application level too. FileSystems. And god knows how to handle all this. So if it happens, it requires a complete rewrite of all parts to work properly. For me, a working text editor would have been enough for now, but we don't have any third party solutions that work either.
We can read such documents, but that's about it.
Having translated a large application on Windows, I can only say that UTF-8 for ordinary application programs is actually surprisingly simple, as long as you adopt the idea of "UTF-8 everywhere". If you do that, you have little problems as UTF-8 is just a sequence of byte characters. The main problem is when you need to interpret it to present the actual text, meaning character to font mapping and possibly if your system (like Windows) is totally unable to to handle UTF-8 in its APIs. In the latter case you have a few places to make conversions.

The application was large and had not been written with localization in mind at all. With this approach it turned out much easier that I ever could have imagined.

I am not saying it is always simple, merely that thinking it is very bad is not necessarily the case with UTF-8, if you adopt a good mindset on how to do it.
hth313 is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 20:25   #35
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Huh, what's wrong with input prefs? Just save prefs as presets and load whatever preset you need with USE flag/tooltype.

Simple, it has to be a quick keyboard combo to do the keymap switch per application, possibly several different keymap switches (if you use more then 2 languages) and it should not waist memory and reload anything during such operation, so it's a special tool, that can also influence how applications react (eg spell checking on the fly) and possibly on the fly codepage to utf-8 and back conversion (for simple utf-8 use and staying compatible to old software.


Full UTF-8 would require a lot of things reworked, like file systems, printer drivers (currently they don't support chatsets/code pages either)



On the contrary, Intelligent engine since 3.0 supports characters above 256 chars and fonts included with the OS had some unicode like symbols embedded and you can even use the library to draw any glyph you like.
So if C= was around a bit longer, we would have been there eventually.
Locale support on Amiga was one of the best and first in computer history and still is sophisticated enough. For example MUI can use catalog files in UTF-8 format already for some years now, using the old locale library!.
That's how flexible and well thought out some of the amigaos components were, and at the same time light and resource efficient.
Michael is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 20:27   #36
Bruce Abbott
Registered User

Bruce Abbott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Hastings, New Zealand
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Huh, what's wrong with input prefs? Just save prefs as presets and load whatever preset you need with USE flag/tooltype.
Too obvious, too simple, and works on existing Amigas. Totally unacceptable! How are you going to convince the marks to pony up for new hardware and software if they don't need to?
Bruce Abbott is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 20:37   #37
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,646
Yeah, and we cannot use input prefs because... IPv6!!! Well, I already have multiple layouts that I easily cycle through via an FKey defined hotkey, I'm sure I am not alone.
kolla is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 20:41   #38
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,646
Speaking of MUI, the OS could do with an official non-MUI variant of PSI, a public screen manager to define, open and close public screens. And Intuition could have a cleaner interface for adding user defined stuff to screen bars.
kolla is offline  
Old 30 December 2018, 21:08   #39
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Speaking of MUI, the OS could do with an official non-MUI variant of PSI, a public screen manager to define, open and close public screens. And Intuition could have a cleaner interface for adding user defined stuff to screen bars.

FKey keymap switching usually waist memory on every operation and fragments it.



Don't know how useful are custom screens and do we have a commodity to force certain application to use other then WB screen ?
I believe most tools that need a custom screen can open one themselves,
or they can hijack other screens.


Then we have higher resolutions these days and we get more on one screen, so the use of custom screens is less of an issue now for small apps.

Being a CGX user for 20+ years and it was tough in the begging, but the end I am more comfortable now on WB, and with improved layers window arrangements are not as slow as they could get in the past.



I agree, this feature is nice to have, but not a must and partial solutions like PSI are available.


As for the ScrrenTitleBar, this is a must have, again for many things,
clocks, keyboard info, other notifications. Basically it's purpose is the same as windows status bar.
Michael is offline  
Old 13 January 2019, 02:47   #40
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
I've worked on localisation before, so sure.
I do miss all the great workbench keyboard shortcuts from the swedish 3.1 locale.

I normally use english on my computers, but on 3.1, the workbench keyboard shortcuts are so much better with the swedish locale, so I use swedish .
patrik is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Mystery about the CD1200's Successor fondpondforever support.Hardware 1 29 April 2016 06:37
Successor to the CD32 in the console market fondpondforever support.Hardware 35 14 December 2015 19:28
AmigaONE X1000 successor coming, AmigaOS to get SMP support kingpin007 News 63 24 November 2013 02:55
Wishlist... fisken uno request.Old Rare Games 13 01 July 2003 12:03
Elite IV Wishlist Antiriad Retrogaming General Discussion 8 26 September 2002 15:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09232 seconds with 15 queries