English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2008, 16:42   #1
D4Ni3L3
Registered User
D4Ni3L3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milano,Italy
Posts: 293
Send a message via MSN to D4Ni3L3
Combo 030 GVP Memory question!

Dear friends,
Sorry I need to make one question:
I have a Combo GVP 030 @25 Mhz since I read on the big book of Amiga Hardware that it support Ram Type: 3 x GVP 64pin SIMM Slots plus 1MB surface mounted (for 25Mhz version) or 4MB surface mounted for other versions what I wonder is:
Would is good for my turbo board the GVP 4MB SIMM 32 RAM 60NS that sells SoftHut http://www.softhut.com/cgi-bin/test/...MBand16MB.html or I need memory of only 1 MB?
Please let me know,
Kind Regards
D4Ni3L3 is offline  
Old 14 June 2008, 17:13   #2
Boot_WB
Novice in the Black Arts
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kingston upon Hull
Age: 42
Posts: 263
It sounds as if the 1MB or 4MB is referring to on-board memory, ie chips which are actually soldered to the accelerator board.

The 4MB SIMM should work fine in either version of the board.

Personally, I've always stayed away from GVP stuff because of the expensive proprietary memory which it uses. There's a hack on Aminet which allows 72-pin simms to be used on GVP boards, linky, but I've never tried it so can't say whether it is easy/practical to implement or not.

From Amiga.resource.cx:

Impact A2000-030 Combo
memory
22 MHz:
* 1 MB preinstalled, expandable to 13 MB RAM
33 MHz:
* 4 MB preinstalled, expandable to 16 MB RAM
* three 64 pin SIMM sockets accept 1 or 4 MB GVP SIMMs

G-Force 030 (Impact A2000-030 Combo Series II)
memory
25 MHz:
* 1 MB on board + three SIMM sockets gives 13 MB max
40 / 50 MHz:
* 4 MB on board + three SIMM sockets gives 16 MB max
* supports only special 64 pin 1 or 4 MB 60 ns GVP SIMMs
* maximum 8 MB is autoconfigured in the 16 MB address space, the exact amount is set by jumper
* the remaining memory is configured as extended memory by the FaaastROM driver

So for either board at any speed, the 4MB simm should be fine.



Regards



Rich
Boot_WB is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Homemade HD bracket for GVP 030 Combo jman Hardware mods 4 24 January 2012 00:34
GVP 030 combo not showing RAM on A2000 Matt020 support.Hardware 9 26 May 2010 14:12
GVP '030 Combo Solution Loedown support.Hardware 0 08 May 2009 14:32
GVP G-Force 030/40 combo problem with A2000 keropi support.Hardware 8 17 January 2008 22:27
FS : GVP G-Force 030 Combo for Amiga 2000 coze MarketPlace 14 07 June 2007 11:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.71515 seconds with 15 queries