English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 September 2018, 14:23   #1
B14ck W01f
m68k all the way
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Koalaland
Posts: 493
Emulation of non-Commodore bridgeboards (x86)

Thank you for emulating the bridgeboards made by Commodore (A1060, A2086, A2286, A2386), but I would like to see bridgeboards not made by C=. The link posted below has manuals for some of them, mainly Medusa, Emplant, and PC 286. But for those that do not have manuals, there are always the adverts.

http://amiga.resource.cx/dir/bridge
B14ck W01f is offline  
Old 11 September 2018, 18:17   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,727
There is no useful technical, low level, hardware documentation, none at all, for non-Commodore bridgeboards. User manuals are totally useless.

Commodore bridgeboard emulation was only possible because Commodore boards' address space, IO registers etc are documented in A500/A2000 Technical Reference Manual.

(Not the first time this has been asked.)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 14:56   #3
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,490
That's not to say that other boards couldn't be reverse engineered. But it would be a waste of time and effort in my opinion.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 15:09   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,727
Yes and yes.

They have PC-side only address space that is totally invisible to Amiga side and debugging and reverse-engineering would require use of PC and Amiga software at the same time, disassembling both m68k and x86 code and more..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 September 2018, 19:10   #5
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 621
Or worse. The ATonce+ 286 board has 512Mb of RAM on board. This is not accessible to the Amiga until something in the software enables it.
If you start the s/w then reboot you can AddMem() it
nogginthenog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bridgeboard emulation (x86 CPU, for example A2286) GiuseppeC support.WinUAE 627 16 November 2016 15:42
Amiga Bridgeboards TroyWilkins Nostalgia & memories 6 13 July 2016 17:24
Emulation of Commodore expansion cards Kitchen2010 support.WinUAE 29 28 August 2015 09:49
Commodore 64 emulation on A1200 pubzombie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 20 February 2011 16:03
memory for bridgeboards source support.Hardware 11 11 August 2010 22:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.05994 seconds with 14 queries