English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 January 2018, 11:25   #1
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
Adebug Amiga

Hello all, as mentioned I'm looking for adebug.

I have it on atari st but no way to find the amiga version.
I read somewhere the source included in the pack over the net just needed to be assemble with the amiga flag on, but unfortunately some further files are missing.
Any help would be apreciated
Cheers !
oldbrain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 January 2018, 13:51   #2
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 915
Did you tried google?
I used it quite a lot back in the day, I even did a review for it but I'll have to dig my backup to see if it is still there.
IIRC it was only 24bit as it stored data on the upper bits.
kamelito is offline  
Old 04 January 2018, 15:45   #3
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
Hey Kamelito, yeah i tried google but nothing possitive.
Strange it's so hard to find it for amiga.
I still use it on atari st and it's the best from far.
oldbrain is offline  
Old 04 January 2018, 18:26   #4
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
I found ADebug on a disk magazine, with the help of Stone Oakvalley's SOTDS.
zone: magazynamiga_cd01_ma38.dms
in the CLI folder.
emufan is offline  
Old 04 January 2018, 18:31   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
I found ADebug on a disk magazine, with the help of Stone Oakvalley's SOTDS.
zone: magazynamiga_cd01_ma38.dms
in the CLI folder.
That's not the ADebug he's looking for. What he needs is the Amiga version of a pretty powerful Atari debugger.
StingRay is offline  
Old 04 January 2018, 18:32   #6
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
That's not the ADebug he's looking for. What he needs is the Amiga version of a pretty powerful Atari debugger.
I was about to add to my post, not sure if this is/was the right one :/
emufan is offline  
Old 04 January 2018, 19:14   #7
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 915
The source code for the record.
It says that Assemble was also available on the Amiga, I never saw it.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/adebug/
kamelito is offline  
Old 04 January 2018, 20:02   #8
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 915
amlabel.s is missing, it may worth asking the authors.
I'm going to wrote them an email asking for this and the exes if they've them.
kamelito is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 08:57   #9
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
Thanks guys for your help.
As you mentioned Kamelito amlabel.s is missing.

At time I remember, I saw Alex (the author) developing adebug on amiga, so for sure it
exists.
oldbrain is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 18:04   #10
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 915
I know it exist as I used it back in the day, I was writing about "Assemble".
I just got a reply from the author of the Amiga version, he will upload the missing file to github.
Assemble was never ported to the Amiga, but the command line assembler exist and the author is looking for the source code.
kamelito is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 18:14   #11
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
Great news Kamelito, thanks a lot for your help.

I never used 'Assemble', nor tried it. I'm on depvac for too long to change

Strange to me, as an Atari user, that it's so hard to get adebug on amiga.

I wonder which debugger crackers were using at this time.

Last edited by oldbrain; 05 January 2018 at 18:22.
oldbrain is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 18:32   #12
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 915
On The Amiga I guess the Action Replay was used for that even if monitors like Adebug exist on the Amiga. I let others like Stingray or Galahad complete this question.
What I like about Adebug is that it is low level and that is is working like Monam. (Equivalent of MonST)
kamelito is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 18:40   #13
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
action replay ?? i can't believe serious crackers were working with that tool
oldbrain is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 18:56   #14
veper
EAB fan

veper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 15
Why wouldn't they?
veper is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 19:19   #15
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
simply because saving memory is not cracking.

At time the most important was the chalenge, and the set was debugger, assembler and your brain.

Any skilly cracker stands more than 100 action replay in his mind.
oldbrain is offline  
Old 05 January 2018, 19:35   #16
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,955
Lots of people used cartridges for cracking. And hardware debuggers (which is the same) are not uncommon on Atari either.
StingRay is offline  
Old 06 January 2018, 08:21   #17
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
On atari st, there was a cartridge callled 'ultilmate ripper', never used it.

The guys i knew at time never used this kind of tool.
oldbrain is offline  
Old 06 January 2018, 22:59   #18
veper
EAB fan

veper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 15
In the very beginning that was true, but later competition forced groups to be the first with a release. Noone cared anymore how something was cracked (ie. tools used), as long as it was quick.
veper is offline  
Old 07 January 2018, 14:28   #19
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 915
I was able to build an iso of a CD backup of my A3000 unfortunately Adebug wasn't there.
I found Sherlock disassembler which is I think even rarer than Adebug to find. http://obligement.free.fr/articles/sherlock.php
Maybe it is sitting in my A3000 HD but it has been ages since I powered it. I don't even have the HW to transfer it to PC same with floppies.
We will have to wait the author to get it.

Last edited by kamelito; 07 January 2018 at 14:33.
kamelito is offline  
Old 07 January 2018, 20:53   #20
oldbrain
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: france
Posts: 10
Thanks again Kamelito, let's wait so.
oldbrain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08465 seconds with 12 queries