English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 August 2015, 20:41   #41
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,349
Ah wow, thanks all involved in bringing this game out from the dust !! Respect !!
kriz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 August 2015, 20:51   #42
Aezeroony
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 17
A500 Version

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong View Post
No worries mate, I was just trying to shake that diamond loose!

Hopefully the coder will find the time and do the common sense thing by handballing you the A500 version. It'd be a bit of a shame if the A500 version didn't see a release too after all this time.
Hello all,


Fear not, the A500 version will be coming soon, patience my friends, should be available soon.


Getafix.
Aezeroony is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 13:06   #43
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
There are 2 files on disk2 and 1 file on disk 3 with the same name as disk 1 but have different sizes. Which ones to keep for HD Install?

Disk2:
goalies.bin
masklfont.ilbm

Disk3:
shadow.bin
I was wondering the same too, and I decided to keep each disk in its own dir, to avoid guessing which one to keep. It also makes the game dir much cleaner

So, my MutantLeagueHockey directory looks now like this:
MF0/
MF1/
MF2/
StartGame
StartGame.info

And inside my StartGame script file I have:

Assign MF0: MF0 ;Assigns to the subdirs
Assign MF1: MF1
Assign MF2: MF2
MF0:Scoopex ;Obligatory cracktro
MF0:Galahad ;Must be run before game or crashy crashy!!
MF0:MutantLeagueHockey ;Main executable to run the game
jPV is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 16:24   #44
Cobe
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Belgrade / Serbia
Age: 34
Posts: 513
First of all this is such a great news. I'm so thrilled and excited when I see there's still left gems to be dug out. I'm really grateful to Galhad and everyone who contributed and made this possible. But there's one thing that bugs me a lot especially cause I read people played it and had fun. I don't know is it just me, but i tried it on real CD32 and unfortunately I was disappointed cause I found it pretty unplayable. Frame rate is kinda 12fps and I couldn't even tell where the puck is... cant imagine how slow A500 version would be... or would it be the same if actually this version maybe isn't optimized for 020?
Cobe is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 17:46   #45
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by jPV View Post
I was wondering the same too, and I decided to keep each disk in its own dir, to avoid guessing which one to keep. It also makes the game dir much cleaner

So, my MutantLeagueHockey directory looks now like this:
MF0/
MF1/
MF2/
StartGame
StartGame.info

And inside my StartGame script file I have:

Assign MF0: MF0 ;Assigns to the subdirs
Assign MF1: MF1
Assign MF2: MF2
MF0:Scoopex ;Obligatory cracktro
MF0:Galahad ;Must be run before game or crashy crashy!!
MF0:MutantLeagueHockey ;Main executable to run the game
Good Idea

I commented out the Scoopex part, it would pause req a mouse click for me.
Arnie is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 18:01   #46
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Good Idea

I commented out the Scoopex part, it would pause req a mouse click for me.
Wrong. The intro also detects fire button/ red button on a cd32 pad to exit
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 18:19   #47
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
O.K to skip it then if you don't use a CD32 Pad?
Arnie is offline  
Old 16 August 2015, 19:21   #48
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
O.K to skip it then if you don't use a CD32 Pad?
Fire button OR red button on joypad.

Seeing as you need either a joystick or joypad i considered ALL options
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 18 August 2015, 16:59   #49
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,196
Ah, anyway...

I gave this a try, very good conversion, some graphics are nicer than the Megadrive version, and the music of course is much better.

My main problem is with controls. On the Megadrive you have 3 buttons and I can't seem to be doing the exact same things on the Amiga.
I get that a quick button press will change my active player when I am defending, but how on earth do I try to steal the puck and how am I supposed to hit the players or use the weapons? The Megadrive uses two different buttons for this.

Also when attacking, I get that a quick press passes, but holding the button makes a shot nowhere as powerful as what I can get on the Megadrive, where I could shoot a really nice, hard shot from mid-field and it would reach the goal with power. On the Amiga when I keep the button pressed, a puny shot is made. What am I missing?
Akira is offline  
Old 19 August 2015, 19:06   #50
hansel75
Walk Off? Boolander!
hansel75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gladstone Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 603
I am an Amiga lover, not an Amiga fighter!

Whatever comes out for such an old system, i am thankful for.

Good work Galahad, may Fairlight live on forever
hansel75 is offline  
Old 24 August 2015, 17:47   #51
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 162
Sometimes my goal is counted as two... is that a bug ?
Also what is the difference between joy and pad controls ? I noticed that on both settings button 1 and button 2 are active with the same functions (I'm using a Megadrive pad).

Also, the game crashed on me twice, after selecting pad/joy setting for team one (cooperation mode I think), while mouse was connected to port 1, and i pressed RMB to see if it responds - the screen went black with some minor garbage.

Also I have to report, that besides what I mentioned abowe the game is working OK on 060 from HD
meckert is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 16:12   #52
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 162
Is there any kind of simple manual for this? I mean instructions how to control shots, how to make substitutions, fight, see statistic and control replays.

How can I access this menu on Amiga ?

Also there is a possible Bug: sometimes goals that I score count as two. For example I'm losing 0-1, I score a goal and the scoreline is 2-1 ... I doubt that it's a feature, looks like a bug to me...

EDIT: I sorted out the fights and substitutions, but what about that bug ?

EDIT 2: Two pint goal is not a bug it's a feature

Last edited by meckert; 29 August 2015 at 13:58.
meckert is offline  
Old 24 November 2015, 20:38   #53
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 34
Posts: 2,644
Woot, it's amazing this was finally released for Amiga

Here I am hoping for the ECS version

That's really amazing!
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 12:22   #54
Adrian Brown
 
Posts: n/a
Sorry for the delay, ive got the A500 here and the proper A1200 without the need for the hacked drive system (Thanks to Galahad for getting it sorted so it could be released earlier), also the original HD installer for A1200... Just waiting on my PCMCIA CF thing to pull them off the amiga then ill post em up

Last edited by Adrian Brown; 07 November 2016 at 13:15.
 
Old 07 November 2016, 14:14   #55
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian Brown View Post
Sorry for the delay, ive got the A500 here and the proper A1200 without the need for the hacked drive system (Thanks to Galahad for getting it sorted so it could be released earlier), also the original HD installer for A1200... Just waiting on my PCMCIA CF thing to pull them off the amiga then ill post em up
We have the same names bar an 'E'. This could be confusing
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 07 November 2016, 14:17   #56
Amigajay
醉拳
Amigajay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 1,506
There's only one Jackie Chan though
Amigajay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EAB/Lemon Super League 2014: Round 4 - Revenge Of The Mutant Camels Graham Humphrey EAB's competition 33 13 April 2014 02:08
Original image file Wayne Gretzky Hockey & Hockey League Simulator mr_magnell request.Old Rare Games 0 18 July 2011 11:51
On The Ball League Edition AGA , Player Manager 2 StarEye Games images which need to be WHDified 11 22 January 2010 19:21
National Hockey League & Amiga announce deal mintsauce82 News 12 07 March 2009 13:51
hockey league sim for gretzky prob?? lee uk support.Games 5 15 May 2002 13:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19415 seconds with 12 queries