English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2013, 17:54   #21
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 28
Posts: 323
Thanks for the quick and dirty ECS port, I'll be sure to give it ago and see what the speed is like.
twiggy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 September 2013, 23:18   #22
Havie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 261
Good news - tried a different WOLF3D file and it worked. There must be different versions...

Even tried teh ECS version - that works fine too.

I am now going to see how far I can get through the game!

Thanks for another brilliant port.
Havie is offline  
Old 17 September 2013, 02:21   #23
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Good news - tried a different WOLF3D file and it worked. There must be different versions...

Even tried teh ECS version - that works fine too.

I am now going to see how far I can get through the game!

Thanks for another brilliant port.
Thanks for finding out about that, I thought it might have trouble with the different retail versions (I think there's 3 of them!)

I've just uploaded v1.02 OCS/ECS to the Zone, should be much quicker now

One last bug to fix with saved games for both versions then I'm calling it a day.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 17 September 2013 at 02:40.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 September 2013, 03:47   #24
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havie View Post
Good news - tried a different WOLF3D file and it worked. There must be different versions...

Even tried teh ECS version - that works fine too.

I am now going to see how far I can get through the game!

Thanks for another brilliant port.
I have the full version, but I did not converted the music, and it's not working for me. The sound is disabled in menu.
I have A600 with ACA630 25MHz with 32M RAM.

the game starts to menu, I can see READ THIS, change options, but when I start, I get a black screen in window, and can not quit.
The Amiga is not crashed, because I can switch to WB.
Any tips?
amiman99 is offline  
Old 17 September 2013, 03:50   #25
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Yep just the wrong version used, see Havie's post above
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 September 2013, 05:55   #26
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Yep just the wrong version used, see Havie's post above
The one I have is v1.4, which one should work? Thanks
amiman99 is offline  
Old 17 September 2013, 17:21   #27
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 650
@NovaCoder how is the directory structure supposed to be set up? Do we copy the "data" directory from the retail CD into the AmiWolf drawer? I tried to get it working yesterday, but it does not start.
alenppc is offline  
Old 17 September 2013, 23:09   #28
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
SFX and music must be converted with the tools that come with Amiwolf-package.
The game runs great
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 18 September 2013, 01:59   #29
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
@NovaCoder how is the directory structure supposed to be set up? Do we copy the "data" directory from the retail CD into the AmiWolf drawer? I tried to get it working yesterday, but it does not start.
The only thing it needs in the root AmiWolf folder are the '.WL6' files (which are basically WAD files). Music and SFX should go in the 'music' and 'SFX' folders, easy


Just to recap, there are now 3 known things that cause problems:

1) Running the CGX-AGA/CyberBugfiX (hack!)
2) Doesn't seem to like ScalOS (I've never used ScalOS myself, no idea why it causes problems for AmiWolf)
3) AmiWolf isn't compatible with all of the versions of the full retail data files (I think there are three versions).

I found a small bug with the palette update code so I've uploaded v1.07 to AmiNet and also v1.04 of the OCS/ECS version.

Apparently the OCS/ECS version is playable on an expanded A600

Last edited by NovaCoder; 18 September 2013 at 08:33.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 18 September 2013, 09:01   #30
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Very nice NovaCoder... playable on my Blizzard 1230 III with 16Mb ram

btw. is there a tool that could start an icon from the shell ? Would love to have Wolfy in my start menu with other games and not having to load workbench to start it
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 18 September 2013, 10:09   #31
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I thought you could define the cursor keys for movement, it shouldn't make any difference that they are also used to control the menu. You should be able to hit 'enter' on the key you want to define which should turn it grey with a blinking question mark, you then just select the key you want to use.
Yep, it worked that way. In the meantime I converted the sfx and music files (which was quite a work) and played the game with sound. Even now it runs very smooth - couldn't see any speed decrease. But the audio is really very quiet.
One should mention that the lsfx files need to be converted to 11025Hz with 8bit sampling rate. I tried 16bit first and it sounded awful!
pintcat is offline  
Old 18 September 2013, 10:27   #32
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
Ok, found the tool I was looking for... CLICon.lha on aminet contains a tool named WBLoad which does what I wanted - loads an icon based program from cli shell Works like a dream with Wolfy here ...
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 18 September 2013, 11:57   #33
tomcat666
Retro Freak

tomcat666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slovenia
Age: 44
Posts: 1,060
btw. does the engine also do floor/celing texturing - if so maybe Blake Stone series could one day be included in the ports ? That would rock...
tomcat666 is offline  
Old 18 September 2013, 12:00   #34
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Glad it's working good for you guys, it's about time we got a nice Wolfy port

Any of you 600 users given the ECS version a try yet?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 02:11   #35
Quagliarulo
Registered User
Quagliarulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Napoli, Italia
Posts: 38
Awesome job!
It does a strange thing, though. I don't know if it's by design, but I can't strafe and turn at the same time, as if the mouse would conflict with the keyboard. I noticed this because in FPS games I like to walk around an enemy while aiming and shooting at him.
Quagliarulo is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 02:27   #36
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quagliarulo View Post
Awesome job!
It does a strange thing, though. I don't know if it's by design, but I can't strafe and turn at the same time, as if the mouse would conflict with the keyboard. I noticed this because in FPS games I like to walk around an enemy while aiming and shooting at him.
Thanks, yes that is by design. The idea is that you're using the mouse for turning and the classic WASD layout for moving and strafing.

If you don't like the setup just remove the AUTO_STRAFE ToolType and it will revert to normal keyboard turning.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 02:53   #37
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,638
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I've got it running fine, but I can not use or define my joystick, and I don't like to use the keyboard.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 08:56   #38
pintcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Berlin/Germany
Posts: 210
Joystick isn't supported (yet?)
pintcat is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 09:45   #39
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Glad it's working good for you guys, it's about time we got a nice Wolfy port

Any of you 600 users given the ECS version a try yet?
My Vampire 600 is on the way sure ill try
when it arrive. I'm not even gonna try on ACA620 as you wouldn't on 1220.
lukassid is offline  
Old 19 September 2013, 09:49   #40
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukassid View Post
My Vampire 600 is on the way sure ill try
when it arrive. I'm not even gonna try on ACA620 as you wouldn't on 1220.
Cool would love to see it running on a Vampire 600, it's these kind of new hardware developments that make it worth doing new ECS ports.


Nope, no joystick support included (it's in the README).
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmiWolf - new AGA Wolfenstein 3D Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 100 16 September 2013 02:44
Quake 68k port for MAC Sandro request.Old Rare Games 11 02 September 2013 03:08
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 2 02 June 2013 14:06
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 13:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 21:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22197 seconds with 13 queries