English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 August 2020, 20:19   #1
ahmedahmed
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: egypt
Posts: 43
monsters of terror

I have adf file for monsters of terror and when I run it from the database
This message comes to me

" amiga launch task failed with exception
did not found pre-configured hard drive " minimal workbench v3.1 "

I am a new member here and I have no experience
Please help - thanks
ahmedahmed is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 22:38   #2
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 335
Basically it is just telling you that the game;
which is on a hard drive is not there because
the hard drive is not there.

It appears you found a boot disk for the game
and not the game itself.

Hope this helps.
Saghalie is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 23:05   #3
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 42
Posts: 6,044
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saghalie View Post
It appears you found a boot disk for the game
and not the game itself.
Excuse me, I use winuae and have no experience with fs-uae, but the above doesn't make sense to me. Monsters of terror is 1 disk game.

Predseda is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 23:08   #4
ahmedahmed
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: egypt
Posts: 43
thanks for your reply
I downloaded the game from TOSEC and it's working manually
But it does not work from the database
ahmedahmed is offline  
Old 07 August 2020, 23:02   #5
ahmedahmed
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: egypt
Posts: 43
Are there any suggestions guys...
ahmedahmed is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 04:40   #6
thevoice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 137
hi, this specific title requires to start from within a workbench envvironment.
so just having the disk image is not enough.


KEEP IN MIND: ALL WORKBENCH VERSIONS ARE STILL UNDER COPYRIGHT AND NO ONE CAN/WILL HELP YOU HERE TO FIND THEM OR OFFER YOU PRE INSTALLED VERSIONS !!



what you need to do is:


obtaining the different workbench versions (best to setup all to be safe) 1.3,2.04,2.05 and 3.1


then you create a configuration for fs-uae with a directory harddrive and have all the required disks for the desired workbench version. then you install the workbench (and extra disks). once you are done, you copy the directory you just installed the workbench to ints FS-UAE/Hard Drives and name it Minimal Workbench v1.3, Minimal Workbench v2.04, Minimal Workbench v2.05, Minimal Workbench v3.1
and rescan both databases and your problem is solved.


for this very title it is enough to do it with just Workbench v3.1 but i am mostly sure there is titles which require v1.3 and v2.04, 2.05 too.


it is a bit of trouble to set this up but it is like it is since workbench disk images are still sold.


hope this helps a bit
thevoice is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 17:40   #7
ahmedahmed
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: egypt
Posts: 43
Thanks a lot for your response ,
I will try again according to your explanation of the matter ...
ahmedahmed is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 18:28   #8
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 18,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by thevoice View Post
hi, this specific title requires to start from within a workbench envvironment.
so just having the disk image is not enough.
What???

Why would you need to start this from within Workbench or even install Workbench on a hard drive?

This disk is self booting: /TOSEC/Games/Public Domain/[ADF]/Monsters of Terror v1.0 (1995)(Starfox Software)(AGA)(FW).zip

From reading numerous posts in this section over the past few days; this FS-UAE database seem very problematic and a nightmare for people to get the exact / correct files.
DamienD is offline  
Old 09 August 2020, 18:39   #9
manossg
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Greece
Posts: 459
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
this FS-UAE database seem very problematic and a nightmare for people to get the exact / correct files.
I would agree. I used the database once when I first installed fsuae and haven't touched it ever since.
manossg is online now  
Old 10 August 2020, 05:24   #10
thevoice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
What???

Why would you need to start this from within Workbench or even install Workbench on a hard drive?

This disk is self booting: /TOSEC/Games/Public Domain/[ADF]/Monsters of Terror v1.0 (1995)(Starfox Software)(AGA)(FW).zip

From reading numerous posts in this section over the past few days; this FS-UAE database seem very problematic and a nightmare for people to get the exact / correct files.

that is because in the database is only this version present: Monsters of Terror (h Digital Harem) (WB) which requires a wb environment .


and you dont have to install a workbench on a hd to run such titles. fs-uae grabs required files from the Minimal Workbench installs when neccessary.
The Minimal Workbench directories for all workbench versions are just the contents of the workbench disks into one folder, not really a wb install.
thevoice is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 10:02   #11
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 18,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by thevoice View Post
that is because in the database is only this version present: Monsters of Terror (h Digital Harem) (WB) which requires a wb environment .


and you dont have to install a workbench on a hd to run such titles. fs-uae grabs required files from the Minimal Workbench installs when neccessary.
The Minimal Workbench directories for all workbench versions are just the contents of the workbench disks into one folder, not really a wb install.
Can't you just have:

  • "Workbench v3.1 rev 40.42 (1994)(Commodore)(M10)(Disk 2 of 6)(Workbench)[!].adf" in DF0:
    and
  • "Monsters of Terror v1.0 (1995)(Starfox Software)(AGA)(SW)[h Digital Harem][WB].adf" in DF1:

Maybe the game files should be changed to "Monsters of Terror v1.0 (1995)(Starfox Software)(AGA)(FW).adf" then so that Workbench isn't needed?
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 10:12   #12
thevoice
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: germany
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Can't you just have:

  • "Workbench v3.1 rev 40.42 (1994)(Commodore)(M10)(Disk 2 of 6)(Workbench)[!].adf" in DF0:
    and
  • "Monsters of Terror v1.0 (1995)(Starfox Software)(AGA)(SW)[h Digital Harem][WB].adf" in DF1:

Maybe the game files should be changed to "Monsters of Terror v1.0 (1995)(Starfox Software)(AGA)(FW).adf" then?

this is not how fs-uae exactly works beehind the scene .
true the easiest way would be to just add the image which does not to be run via workbench. but at the moment frode is quite occupied with a new house.


and on the other hand amiga games stuff isnt maintained since years by now. so the gang will have to live with what is there xD.
or finally start to contibute. but its already to hard for them to report a problem with a comment in the game entry so someone could have a look. they rather post stuff all over the internet and wonder why no one gives a fuck for amiga there.
thevoice is offline  
Old 11 August 2020, 01:03   #13
ahmedahmed
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: egypt
Posts: 43
The game did not work through the database
I will have to operate it manually
But I enjoy the discussion and information of the friends
ahmedahmed is offline  
Old 11 August 2020, 10:07   #14
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 18,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by thevoice View Post
or finally start to contibute.
For well over a decade now I've contributed to EAB / the Amiga community, and beta tested virtually all WinUAE versions / provided feedback etc.

I also have my own project to keep updating / improving / perfecting

Unfortunately I don't really also have time to get involved in an emulator / database that I don't use... but just like in this thread, if I noticed something and know of a solution / work-around that can help you guys, then I'll mention them
DamienD is offline  
Old 11 August 2020, 11:17   #15
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 39
Posts: 3,709
Added support for
Monsters of Terror v1.0 (1995)(Starfox Software)(AGA)(FW).adf


It probably wasn't in the TOSEC database when I created variants for this game initially. Re-ran my database import tool for this game with the latest TOSEC dat.

(The old support for WB/HD adf disks is really outdated and from the early days of the Launcher. Nowadays, the Launcher can assemble Workbench environments from indexed WB disks automatically, as it does for WHDLoad variants. So I should update the WB/HD adf disk support. Not needed for this game though, now that (AGA)(FW) is recognized)
FrodeSolheim is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Ongoing] Monsters of Terror V1.1 Lazycow project.Amiga Game Factory 25 07 December 2017 15:56
Urban Terror sun68 Amiga scene 2 09 April 2015 02:59
Web of Terror Cheat Abaddon HOL contributions 2 03 August 2013 02:55
Monster of Terror (Wizard of Wor) drgibble request.Old Rare Games 11 16 January 2008 11:43
Got monsters of terror full version rsn8887 request.Old Rare Games 4 12 October 2006 12:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10273 seconds with 13 queries