English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 June 2019, 04:58   #221
sean_sk
Gimmemore Commodore

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
If Vampire had been more advanced as a technology I would have been the first to buy it, in 2019 you can not go online with 128 MB of RAM and a CPU 68080.
Going online today means following TV in Streaming, it means watching a Flm in Straming and working simultaneously on Office or the Web.
Well, indeed bad, the Vampire does not allow all this, WinUAE instead somehow allows me to do this, allows me to have a modern RTG system powerful and functional, allows me to start from the Workbench Firefox or Chrome and all other Windows applications with a Click with Winlauch tool from the Workbench.

I think your view of the Vampire is a little short-term. Given time, the Standalone Vampire project has the ability to progress and become faster and more powerful so that one could perform all the tasks that you describe.

Of course WinUAE will be faster because of JIT and all the other speed settings it has. There's nothing particularly special or challenging about that. And I've never understood why you would want to do all the things you say you do in an emulator (which is running in Windows anyway) when you can do that stuff in Windows already. The only thing I can think of is that it's fun and interesting for you. That's great! But so is using a Vampire for those of us that have one. So from the perspective of having fun, you should be able to understand the appeal of using a Vampire or anything else we do in the Amiga hobby.
sean_sk is offline  
Old 16 June 2019, 10:38   #222
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by studio460 View Post
Am I reading that correctly? Is that 196 Gflops??? That's Core i7 territory!

Well, the way I read that Sysinfo screen is 108,89 Mflops and 196368 Drystones.


I would think there are other "hidden" featues you are not able to read directly from Sysinfo, like the fact that there currently are not any C/++ compilers that are taking advantage of the new features of the 080 core, and as such performance "only" relies on the raw processingpower of the 080.
There are several developers that use Windows as their bread and butter that frequent Apollo forum, and they flat out says they are not inclined to learn assembly just to take advantage of the Core features.


So, unless higher language compilers get 080 support, you wont see software (newly developed or recompiled) take FULL advantage of the Vampire/apollo core.

For most of us, the HDMI/RTG features, which gives us easy access to using any monitor we desire for more Workbench realestate (higher resolutions), with no lag, a reason enough to get the V4 Standalone (or V4 A1200). Coupled with the raw processing power, and it makes for a very userfriendly expirience.

I would expect higher languages to get some support down the road, but as ferrels has pointed out, it requires some very detailed hardware and assembly language knowledge, which the Core development team obvious have. And they are working hard on CORE development, so diverting attention to a compiler is asking too much at current.

Last edited by Overflow; 16 June 2019 at 10:44.
Overflow is offline  
Old 16 June 2019, 10:50   #223
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 373
http://kronos.lutece.net/V4/V4_comparison.pdf


Overflow is offline  
Old 16 June 2019, 12:55   #224
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by sean_sk View Post

Of course WinUAE will be faster because of JIT and all the other speed settings it has. There's nothing particularly special or challenging about that. And I've never understood why you would want to do all the things you say you do in an emulator (which is running in Windows anyway) when you can do that stuff in Windows already. The only thing I can think of is that it's fun and interesting for you. That's great! But so is using a Vampire for those of us that have one. So from the perspective of having fun, you should be able to understand the appeal of using a Vampire or anything else we do in the Amiga hobby.
I am a big AmigaOS fan, I have almost all the Amigas (A4000/060 RTG - 2 A1200/030 2 A600HD, 2 A500, 1 A500Plus, 2 CD32 /SX32) that I haven't used in 25 years. I don't care about the case, I don't look at the the hardware, I like to use OS3 and at the moment WinUAE is the one that does it best for power and quality. When the Vampire becomes more powerful I will be the first to buy it, today I prefer WinUAE.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 18:09   #225
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by studio460 View Post
Has Gunner ever indicated that the Vampire V4 standalone will be offered as a complete system in the new Apollo A1200 molded case in black, and Kipper2K keyboards with black keycaps, or should we be pre-ordering the colored Apollo/Kipper cases and keyboards from AOTL now for our expected V4 standalones?
nope but a1200.net have been hinting at something soon, keyboard next i think ,not sure if kippers and a machine of some sort not sure arm based or vampire?
digiflip is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 22:41   #226
studio460
Registered User

studio460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiflip View Post
nope but a1200.net have been hinting at something soon, keyboard next i think ,not sure if kippers and a machine of some sort not sure arm based or vampire?
Hmmm . . . I just e-mailed AOTL (they replied quite fast!), and they said they will NOT be selling the Vampire V4 standalone. I've already pre-ordered a black Apollo A1200 case and Kipper2K keyboard with black keycaps from them for my original A1200. So they said I should order a second case/keyboard for the V4 standalone. I would hate to order a second case/keyboard if someone is planning to sell complete V4 standalone systems.
studio460 is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 22:44   #227
digiflip
Registered User
digiflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom
Posts: 104
only the 500 case have mounts for v4 i think
digiflip is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 22:46   #228
studio460
Registered User

studio460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuKo View Post
We will probably only provide cards to resellers and let them create bundles for customers.
Again, thank you for your reply! I just contacted AOTL and they said they will NOT be selling the Vampire V4 standalone. I'm about to order a second A1200 case and keyboard (both in black) to accommodate my anticipated V4 standalone. Are you able to identify your US distributor yet so that I may ask if they are planning on selling a complete V4 standalone system with case/keyboard (so I don't end up with too many cases)? Thanks!
studio460 is offline  
Old 17 June 2019, 22:48   #229
studio460
Registered User

studio460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiflip View Post
only the 500 case have mounts for v4 i think
Gunnar and company have shown the V4 standalone in the new A1200 cases, haven't they?
studio460 is offline  
Old 18 June 2019, 03:30   #230
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
For most of us, the HDMI/RTG features, which gives us easy access to using any monitor we desire for more Workbench realestate (higher resolutions), with no lag, a reason enough to get the V4 Standalone (or V4 A1200). Coupled with the raw processing power, and it makes for a very userfriendly expirience.

This is exactly the reason I'm looking forward to it.


I'm sure there's loads of others in the same boat, which means a decent enough userbase which may coax some of them into learning to code and help add support & utilise at least some of the new features.
quantum8 is offline  
Old 18 June 2019, 13:29   #231
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
I have to say that I have an RTG based 68060 machine running at 100Mhz and a MiSTer FPGA based machine for gaming and even for me the Vampire V4 standalone or potentially the 1200 running the V4 core is looking very attractive (because a 1200 case makes a nice integrated case / keyboard combo).

The FPGA based solution is great because it can do multiple systems but I'm starting to see issues and I can certainly see it stagnating due to lack of developers. Not yet though, it's all ok still at the moment.

The RTG/68060 system is all well and good but the display and graphics modes still lets it down. Unless you are lucky enough to own a later RTG system such as one of the 3D based boards graphics modes are still limiting (800x600 32bit, 1024x768 drops to 16bit and 1280x1024 drops even further to 256 colour - and the screen speed is then too slow anyway)

Compare all of that to the Vampire's and they're looking pretty attractive. I can easily see me ending up with a Vampire V4 of some description or another and the MiSTer. I can see the day where I just don't need my real hardware any more. Whether I sell it or hoard it will be another matter however because we have no idea how reliable Vampires will be in the long term whereas we know that classic hardware is still going strong after 30 years and as long as it's looked after, there's no reason to suggest it's going to die any time soon.
MartinW is offline  
Old 18 June 2019, 14:26   #232
S0ulA55a551n
Registered User
S0ulA55a551n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rhondda, Wales
Age: 42
Posts: 549
Not enough ram for me for such a serious amount of power. Don't need this sort of improvements for standard games so the use case for this is surely either memory hungry ports or productivity software. Both which will be hampered by 128mb of ram.

I had more ram than that on my accelerator 15 years ago.
S0ulA55a551n is offline  
Old 18 June 2019, 14:38   #233
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by studio460 View Post
Gunnar and company have shown the V4 standalone in the new A1200 cases, haven't they?

That was the new V1200 (Vampire V4 for A1200) that plugs into the expansion port (trapdoor) of the A1200 motherboard. The new A1200 cases (a1200.net) were made in 2015 long before Vampire Standalone V4 was planned. The new A500 cases being made now in 2019 can accommodate the V4 standalone.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/n...iga-500-plus#/

[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by jbilander; 18 June 2019 at 14:49.
jbilander is offline  
Old 18 June 2019, 16:01   #234
grond
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ulA55a551n View Post
Not enough ram for me for such a serious amount of power ... Both which will be hampered by 128mb of ram.
The V4 is going to have 512 MB of RAM.
grond is offline  
Old 18 June 2019, 22:48   #235
Puggsy
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Abbott View Post
If it's already 'out there', why don't you have one already?!
Because I don't need it. I have a CD32 as my main Amiga, and I don't need the "speed" that no worth wile software really uses for anything.

Unlike most Vampire users, who seem to only "play" SysInfo and Doom, I use my Amiga for other things ;-)
Puggsy is offline  
Old 19 June 2019, 02:03   #236
Dunny
Registered User

Dunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Scunthorpe/United Kingdom
Posts: 1,328
I dunno, if you're into Lightwave, Cinema4D or Video titling you might find a Vampire comes in very handy?
Dunny is offline  
Old 19 June 2019, 06:57   #237
studio460
Registered User

studio460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbilander View Post
That was the new V1200 (Vampire V4 for A1200) that plugs into the expansion port (trapdoor) of the A1200 motherboard. The new A1200 cases (a1200.net) were made in 2015 long before Vampire Standalone V4 was planned. The new A500 cases being made now in 2019 can accommodate the V4 standalone . . .
Ohhhhh . . . Okay. Are you able to buy the A1200.net indiegogo cases if you weren't in the original campaign? Also, does anyone know if the Apollo Vampire A500 special edition cases ($220USD) also come in black and if it comes with black keycaps? I wonder if the A500 cases will be available at AOTL (as the A1200 cases are now available for pre-order)?

Last edited by studio460; 19 June 2019 at 07:04.
studio460 is offline  
Old 19 June 2019, 10:22   #238
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 113
I think you'll have to get one through the normal amiga retro stores, such as AOTL, now when the campaign is over. Probably at a higher retail price though. Yes black was an option. Keycaps was a separate campaign and yes you could get black keycaps as well (keycaps available in 13 colors and 8 language layouts). For your information: kipper2k is working on getting new Cherry MX keyboards for the Amiga and they will be sold by AOTL. http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=94643

Personally I think the A500 case is too big for housing such a tiny card like the Vampire V4 standalone, see attached image. I'd rather have it in a mini-case, more portable that way but that's just me.

https://www.a1200.net/
  • New Amiga 1200 Cases: Campaign ended November 1st 2015
  • New Compatible Keycaps: Campaign ended January 13th 2017
  • New Amiga 500 Cases: IGG InDemand ended January 24th 2019
  • New Compatible Keycaps #2: Campaign ended April 9th 2019
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vampire_Ports_Extender.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	78.5 KB
ID:	63512  
jbilander is offline  
Old 19 June 2019, 16:04   #239
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,056
[ Show youtube player ]

Awesome scanlines control
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 19 June 2019, 20:46   #240
Puggsy
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dunny View Post
I dunno, if you're into Lightwave, Cinema4D or Video titling you might find a Vampire comes in very handy?
Bro I have a modern computer, I don't need to suffer like that ;-)
Puggsy is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to forward data to serial port? utri007 support.Hardware 10 11 November 2016 15:26
CF won't boot A1200 - best path forward? AmigaJules support.Hardware 13 28 June 2016 16:46
"LAG 38 meeting date brought forward a month !!!" rockape News 2 11 June 2014 19:42
CD32 Pad Reverse+Forward+Run Reset Game Problem Hillsy_ support.Games 10 04 May 2014 22:14
Which FPGA Implementation of Amiga are you looking forward too? digiflip Amiga scene 44 06 June 2011 00:22

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12297 seconds with 14 queries