English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 December 2018, 01:24   #1
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
USB Keyboard for A1000?

Does anyone know if there is a hardware mod available for me to use my USB PC Keyboard (with amiga key layout) in place of an A1000 keyboard that has a couple of keys missing?

It's a bit difficult because it's not an A1000 motherboard, it's a GB-A1000 and I'm not sure if it's closer to an A1000 or an A500 as far as the keyboard circuitry is concerned? Obviously the final connector on the back is A1000

From what I can see, the keyboard connector is just +5V, GND, KBCLK and KBDAT straight out of the 8250 CIA chip. Ok, via a few resistors. the complication comes from the fact that one of the CIAs is very close to my Picasso card, the other CIA is very close to my 68060 card so I'm not sure if either might be a problem for any potential USB Keyboard adapter?
MartinW is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 09:39   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,449
The signals are the same. If the CIA socket adapter doesn't work, perhaps get a big box adapter and change the connector?
Jope is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 09:39   #3
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,288
The keyboard controller (and therefore, signaling) is the same on all of those (A1000, A500, A2000) so any adapter should work fine as well. They just moved to a DIN connector instead of the phone handset type.

Is your A1000 keyboard otherwise working, would you like to keep using it? I have some key caps and switches left over from restoring my A1000 keyboard, so depending on what keys are missing I might be able to help out.
ajk is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 10:22   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,449
Well there is a difference related to the keyboard reset. The A1000 and other big box Amigas don't have a separate reset line from the keyboard, instead the keyboard clock is held low for 500ms and a circuit on the motherboard generates the reset signal from that.
Jope is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 10:33   #5
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinW View Post
Does anyone know if there is a hardware mod available for me to use my USB PC Keyboard (with amiga key layout) in place of an A1000 keyboard that has a couple of keys missing?

It's a bit difficult because it's not an A1000 motherboard, it's a GB-A1000 and I'm not sure if it's closer to an A1000 or an A500 as far as the keyboard circuitry is concerned? Obviously the final connector on the back is A1000

From what I can see, the keyboard connector is just +5V, GND, KBCLK and KBDAT straight out of the 8250 CIA chip. Ok, via a few resistors. the complication comes from the fact that one of the CIAs is very close to my Picasso card, the other CIA is very close to my 68060 card so I'm not sure if either might be a problem for any potential USB Keyboard adapter?

Look at this https://retro.7-bit.pl/?lang=en&go=p...&name=sum_a234
You only need to make A1000->CD32 cable (female plug).
spidi is offline  
Old 22 December 2018, 12:42   #6
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajk View Post
Is your A1000 keyboard otherwise working, would you like to keep using it? I have some key caps and switches left over from restoring my A1000 keyboard, so depending on what keys are missing I might be able to help out.
Yes, my keyboard is otherwise fine (ok, it's pretty dirty!) and I would very much prefer to use it - I actually think it's quite a nice keyboard apart from maybe the unusual arrows key layout.

I'm missing the '1' key and the larger key next to it which I think is the tilde '~' ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
Look at this https://retro.7-bit.pl/?lang=en&go=p...&name=sum_a234
You only need to make A1000->CD32 cable (female plug).
That looks like a pretty sensible option otherwise as it's external and avoids any hassle with add-on boards getting in the way of the CIA's.
MartinW is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1000 options for the keyboard guybrush support.Hardware 12 08 October 2017 22:49
Faulty A1000 keyboard mfletcher support.Hardware 1 27 March 2014 21:57
USB Keyboard on A1200 Tower Using PS/2 to USB Adaptor? roberthazelby support.Hardware 3 15 October 2010 23:57
A1000 keyboard with A1200? Possible? Andymiga support.Hardware 3 17 November 2008 00:57
using any Amiga keyboard with an A1000's keyboard socket boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 03 January 2007 03:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06546 seconds with 13 queries