English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2014, 03:20   #1
Snowwie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Veendam, Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Snowwie
Big grin Does OS 3.9 recognize 16GB CF card after install over OS 3.1?

I am about to prepare a 16GB Sandisk Ultra CF card for use in my Amiga 1200.

In preparing the card in WinUAE I intend to install WB 3.1 first and use another pc directory in WinUAE which hosts the OS 3.9 files.

My question is, when using a 16GB CF card, I will make an 500MB OS partition, but can OS 3.9 use the remaining space (correctly) in one big 15,5GB partition?

If yes, where to find the HDTools version of OS 3.9? After installing the OS in WinUAE (for testing purposes) I couldn't find a HDTools tool.

Thanks
Snowwie is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 03:43   #2
voyager_1701e
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Maitland / AUSTRALIA
Posts: 187
Hi
I recently updated to OS39 too but found the HDToolbox in OS39 crashed. Better to perhaps use WinUAE boot with 3.1 install floppy and partition from that version. That's what I found anyway. I was using a Sandisk 8gb CF
voyager_1701e is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 12:28   #3
Snowwie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Veendam, Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Snowwie
That's the problem, OS 3.1 does not support drives over 4GB.
Snowwie is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 13:40   #4
delshay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 245
I am using 16GB CF with OS3.9 for years,not a single problem.

I can also format 128GB CF via the PCMCIA slot (fat95 & CF driver).
delshay is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 13:56   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowwie View Post
That's the problem, OS 3.1 does not support drives over 4GB.
Make a small WB partition with 3.1 Install floppy (no need to actually install it) and then install 3.9 and create the remaining partition(s) with that.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 02 March 2014, 23:39   #6
Snowwie
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Veendam, Netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 46
Send a message via ICQ to Snowwie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Make a small WB partition with 3.1 Install floppy (no need to actually install it) and then install 3.9 and create the remaining partition(s) with that.
Yes, that was my initial idea. But didn't knew for sure it would work out.

Any special things I have to consider while prepping the big 15,5GB partition in OS 3.9? Such as Max transfer settings, Filesystem type? Or does default OS 3.9 just do?
Snowwie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8GB or 16GB CF card with ClassicWB ADVSP TronPlayer support.Hardware 14 28 August 2014 02:31
HD Toolbox does not recognize CF card(s) Snowwie support.Hardware 5 25 February 2012 20:44
16GB CF Memory Issue Retrofan support.Hardware 30 15 November 2010 13:44
Image CF Card install for later use? Blip support.WinUAE 27 09 October 2009 23:53
CF Card Install zeke1312 support.Hardware 16 05 March 2008 23:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06405 seconds with 13 queries