English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 November 2012, 19:12   #1
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 214
Is Amiga 3000 a good "gaming" choice?

Compared to 500 that is. I am about to snag one, and although I already own four A500s, A600 (not very compatible with most games), A2000 (1.3 to 2.04 soft switch!), I need to know if the A3000 can run older, games and demos.

I also hear that is has a 'native' SVGA adapter so a modern SVGA monitor can be connected to it, is that right?
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 18 November 2012, 22:39   #2
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0dehunter View Post
Compared to 500 that is. I am about to snag one, and although I already own four A500s, A600 (not very compatible with most games), A2000 (1.3 to 2.04 soft switch!), I need to know if the A3000 can run older, games and demos.

I also hear that is has a 'native' SVGA adapter so a modern SVGA monitor can be connected to it, is that right?
I wouldn't buy an A3000 for gaming. In fact i don't know any situation for which an A3000 would be usefull enough for me to buy
An A3000 is less powerfull than a simple A1200, and also less compatible (cannot play A1200 games, and Amiga 500 games don't all work on it).

That remembers me a situation, arround 20 years agoo. A guy came to school and said, yeah, i'll get an A1000 ! wich is much better than a 500 ! (because of the 1000 > 500 i guess ). I told him he was doing some bad buy.. He didn't listen
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 18 November 2012, 23:07   #3
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
i dont know about the a3000 being less powerfull than a a1200 out the box.
roy bates is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 01:04   #4
esc
 
Posts: n/a
the a300 has a built in scandoubler, built in scsi, zorro... less powerful than an a1200?
 
Old 19 November 2012, 02:13   #5
quarkx
Our prices are Insane!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 465
Out of the box? Really.
Lets compare:
"Out of the box" the A1200 has 0 yes ZERO fast ram and 2 megs of chip Ram
Depending on the configuration, an A3000 usually has 2-16 Megs of fast ram and 2 megs of Chip Ram.

The A3000 is an Excellent choice for Games, ok, for the few AGA game out there, it won't work, but if you buy a "Stock" a1200, you end up having to put in another couple hundred dollars, getting an Accelerator/ fast ram upgrade, so you can run WHDload. IF you want a scan doubler- bang- add another $150 plus dollars.
Dollar for dollar, or Pound for Pound, Euro for Euro, the A3000 is a way better investment right out of the box than an A1200- Best of all, other than mor ZIP Ram, there is no real need to add any upgrades to the system- a stock A3000 wil run anything and you have zorro slots for any upgrades.

Always remember the market it was built for:
The A3000 is a "big box" Amiga, built for the high-end professional market.
The A1200 was a "home" Amiga, commodore cut corners on everything to bring the cheapest Amiga to the home market, no fpu -no ram- no nothing. If it wasn't for 3rd party upgrades, the a1200 would be a very useless machine.
The A3000 was "everything" included right out of the box- you will find that other than extra ram, most people kept the A3000 stock, there was no need for anything else. Most modern monitors (NTSC ones anyways) will hook up with no effort- just flick the switch.

in fact, I was running OS 3.5 on a stock A3000 with no upgrades (it had 16 megs of ram)

most amiga 500 games work just fine on it, might have to disable the CPU and no fast ram etc, but I have never heard once that games wont work, there are many youtube videos of proud A3000 owners running WHDload on it.

Last edited by quarkx; 19 November 2012 at 02:33.
quarkx is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:16   #6
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,326
The A3000 is pretty much regarded as the Best Amiga that was ever made. Certainly the graphics cards you could add to it made AGA look pretty shit frankly.

Yes, if you have the chance to get a working A3000 for a nice price, take it, it'll only go up in value.

I wrote most of PM3 Deluxe on Gremlins A3000, the only Amiga they had linked up to their internal network.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:17   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
The A3000 is in my opinion the best Amiga there is, and it's got an awesome design. I wish I get one some day!
Akira is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:24   #8
Lord Riton
Registered User
Lord Riton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 500
Are you guys all serious ?


What does an A3000 bring to A500 games ? nothing.
To A1200 games ? It can't even run them.

He talked about gaming, about nothing else.
Lord Riton is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:26   #9
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Riton View Post
Are you guys all serious ?


What does an A3000 bring to A500 games ? nothing.
To A1200 games ? It can't even run them.

He talked about gaming, about nothing else.



it can run a500 games through whdload,and its faster.

im pretty sure there where more ocs and ecs games than there where aga.
roy bates is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:29   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Riton View Post
Are you guys all serious ?


What does an A3000 bring to A500 games ? nothing.
To A1200 games ? It can't even run them.

He talked about gaming, about nothing else.
And you said "out of the box" it's worse than an A1200, which is totally the opposite, as it was explained before.

Except for AGA games, an A3000 runs, really OUT OF THE BOX with no money put on top of it , a shit ton of games through WHDLoad.
Akira is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:40   #11
quarkx
Our prices are Insane!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 465
I would take an A3000 over a stock A1200 any day of the week.
It's like saying "this scooter is faster than this lamborghini"

Now, an stock A4000 over a stock A3000, thats a much harder choice- Each unit has it's strength and weaknesses
quarkx is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:46   #12
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
i still cant beleive someone would say an a3000 was less powerfull than a 1200,even the cpu was faster out the box.
roy bates is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:48   #13
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 214
If you connect A3000 to a PC (via SVGA), would the games look sharper? I have many 1084-S monitors, and I love the fact that they look great in RGB, but the thought of gaming in SVGA (native) is tempting. Is there a screen-shot or video of gaming in SVGA?

I lost the bid on A3000!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 02:54   #14
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 51
Posts: 2,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0dehunter View Post
If you connect A3000 to a PC (via SVGA), would the games look sharper? I have many 1084-S monitors, and I love the fact that they look great in RGB, but the thought of gaming in SVGA (native) is tempting. Is there a screen-shot or video of gaming in SVGA?

I lost the bid on A3000!


im sorry you lost the bid.
roy bates is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 03:12   #15
quarkx
Our prices are Insane!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0dehunter View Post
If you connect A3000 to a PC (via SVGA), would the games look sharper? I have many 1084-S monitors, and I love the fact that they look great in RGB, but the thought of gaming in SVGA (native) is tempting. Is there a screen-shot or video of gaming in SVGA?

I lost the bid on A3000!
Too bad!
To answer you question - Yes, any screen will be 1000% sharper, but that is not necessarily a good thing, in fact, the 16 color screens will probably look worse. You should get a real RGB card for games and such, it was a real disappointment that most pictures and such looked really dithered on a TFT monitor. You got use to it, but we are very spoiled now with "modern" graphics cards and clear Pictures.
quarkx is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 03:22   #16
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 214
OK, thanks. As for the bid, it was a local Craigslist, and was advertised as $40 USD, but then went up to $100, and I offered $150, and this guy came in (before I get there) and bought the whole lot!
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 04:26   #17
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
The A3000 isn't really a good idea if you just want to play games. Sure, there is whdload... But setting up a 3000 is a lot of work.

They're rare, and usually expensive. Then you have to do the battery repair. Then you have to make sure you've got enough fast ram, those stupid ZIP chips, or a rare adapter. Then you have to make sure your hard disk is big enough, they only had like, what? 300MB max in 1990? It's SCSI too, which means either finding another loud noisy slow drive, or buying a £££ adapter or IDE zorro board. Then you have do deal with file transfer, are you going to plug that SCSI drive into your modern PC? I doubt it.


If all you want to do is play amiga 500 games easily, then Amiga600, CF card, some fast ram, done. Then you can just load games with a USB CF card reader and WinUAE.

The 3000 is a lot more work. It's a trade off you should only accept if you need a workstation.

Or you could buy a cheap 1200, slap in one of the new accelerators and have a machine with the convenience of the 600 setup I just described, and a more powerful amiga than spending the same money on a 3000 would get you.

Plus if you go 1200 you can play banshee.
SS454 is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 05:12   #18
Gunbot
Registered User
Gunbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 66
I thought my A3000 was a great gaming machine. Not enough graphic difference to downgrade to a A1200. I do think there were a couple AGA games that I could run through Picasso though.
Gunbot is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 05:26   #19
c0dehunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 214
I have the followings:

A500 X4
A600
A1000 X2
A1200
A2000 (1.3 and 2.04 soft switch!)

I need A3000 and A4000
c0dehunter is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 05:39   #20
SS454
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: up north
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunbot View Post
I thought my A3000 was a great gaming machine. Not enough graphic difference to downgrade to a A1200. I do think there were a couple AGA games that I could run through Picasso though.
1200 plays all the same games, plus more.

That's an upgrade.
SS454 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
Most "valuable" way to contribute to the Amiga gaming scene today NewDeli Nostalgia & memories 38 28 March 2009 16:38
Which Amiga "Gaming Machine" CU_AMiGA Amiga scene 17 11 October 2007 14:43
Selling my "high-end" Amiga 3000 astuermer MarketPlace 11 01 August 2007 02:44
Kids get back into "oldschool" Golden Gaming Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 10 14 June 2004 21:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10926 seconds with 13 queries