English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2010, 20:00   #21
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
I will try again, as thomas suggests, unfortunately all there is left to do is go around the round about..
Thomas is, as usual, completely correct. I just checked here, this is how it looks on my system (A4000, CS060 MKI as already mentioned):

68040.library (748 bytes, v46.5, 19.10.99, Phase 5)
68040new.library (86276 bytes, v46.5, 19.10.99, Phase 5)
68040old.library (43888 bytes, v37.30, 18.1.93, Commodore (I guess ;P))
68060.library (161988 bytes, v46.15, 5.10.01, Ralph Schmidt)

With these libraries my 4060 works w/o any problems. Try to check if you have the correct libraries installed (68040.new/68040.old library). I don't think it's a HW related problem.
StingRay is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 20:03   #22
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
here have my hammer

are you sure the 060 dos`t work in WinUAE ?? as that be my first thing to try get working
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 20:03   #23
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
Just cooking dinner for my girls and I will let you know how I get on =D


out of curitosity, has anyone got this set up (say a OS3.0 or 3.1 with these libs) working with WinUAE with the CPU 060 choosen?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 22 March 2010, 20:33   #24
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
out of curitosity, has anyone got this set up (say a OS3.0 or 3.1 with these libs) working with WinUAE with the CPU 060 choosen?
Yes, I tried it several times and if always worked.
thomas is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:50   #25
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
I must say I do appreciate all your help guys =D

I am filled with a warm glow...


while basking in its goodness I tried yet again a basic setup as our good thomas states.

A new install of Workbench 3.1 on a new disk.

I copied the libraries from phase5.a1k.org [132 KB] to the LIBS folder of DH0: (Workbench)

I deleted the originals and copies the ones from the above pack in their place

Code:
68040.library		   748
68040new.library	 86276
68040old.library	 43888
68060.library		161988

after reboot to see what setpatch had loaded -

Code:
SetPatch (V40.16) has already been installed. Patch list:
	68040 Support Code Loaded
	Enabled Advanced Graphics Modes
	graphics/WriteChunkyPixel() patched
	Memory Pools
	Enabled data cache
4.Ram Disk:>
When trying to boot with the CPU option set to 060 in WinUAE it kept crashing as it did before.


I decided to upgrade my WinUAE from 1.6 to 2.0.1 and still the same problem.



... sigh...... back to the drawing board.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 03:56   #26
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
have you checked for viruses ? might be a long shot I know but WinUAE not working is perplexing
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 04:38   #27
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@cosmicfrog

Virus free my friend =D
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 07:35   #28
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Try 'WhichAmiga' to see if mmu/fpu are present !
Cosmos is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 08:58   #29
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,358
run C:CPU. 680x0.libraries are not enabled if FPU type is not listed. (it probably says 68882 but it is fine, as long as some FPU is "detected")

Manufacturer specific 680x0.libraries may not work with all accelerators (which includes emulation). MMULib is at least confirmed working in emulation.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 15:58   #30
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 45
Posts: 9,768
@all / thread

we have a result my friends -


Installing MMULib - WinUAE 2.0.1
________________________________

New OS3.1 Install (attempt 1)

Description: New Install
Additional Components:
  • SetPatch 43.6b
  • Installer 433

Program MMULib -

Selection: Intermediate User
Selection: Install to SYS:
Selection: Copy
"Copy Files to SYS:OLD"

S/Startup-sequence
Libs/68040.library
C/SetPatch
C/IPrefs
Devs/mfm.device
Libs/mmu.library
Selection: Multiview (amigaguide viewer)
Review: ReadMe First!
Selection: (NO) "Do you use a Phase 5 Accelerator board?"
Selection: (YES) "Do You want to update SetPatch to determin and load the correct processor libraries?"

Proceeds to update SetPatch

Selection: Please pick the MuTools to Install

MuFastRom
MuFastChip
MuScan
MuLockLib
MMU.guide
Tools Copied to SYS:MuTools
Documentation Copied to SYS:MuTools

Selection: (YES) "Shall I run MuFastROM on startup?"

Completes Installs

Selection: Proceed (end install)
___________________________________________

Reboot (040): test boot (Install 1)

Code:
SetPatch (V43.7) has already been installed. Patch list:
	680x0 Support Code Loaded
	Bool CheckIO() workaround
	Enabled Advanced Graphics Modes
	AmigaOS Copyright
	Graphics WritePixelLine8
	graphics/WriteChunkyPixel() patched
	Memory Pools
	Enable data cache
4.Ram Disk:

Reboot (060): Fail - Guru, crash - constant reboot cycle
Reset (060):Fail - constant reboot cycle

Syn:-

Crashes in a looped cycle, I can access early startup menu, and boot without startup, however the moment SetPach is called the system crashes / gurus etc.


Contents

LIBS:
Code:
68020.library	 2192
68030.library	 2208
68040.library	43764
68060.library	64820
680x0.library	  864
C:
Code:
SetPatch	14864
SetPatch_old	13484
(Setpatch version Info(s))
Code:
SetPatch - 43.7
SetPatch_old - 40.16

S:startup-sequence
Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 40.2 (25.2.93)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

C:SetPatch QUIET

C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
  IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
    DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
  EndIF

  C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
  Execute T:M
  C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
  Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
User-Startup
Code:
;BEGIN MuFastROM
SYS:MuTools/MuFastRom On Protect >NIL:
;END MuFastROM
;BEGIN MuFastChip
SYS:MuTools/MuFastChip ON >NIL:
;END MuFastChip
;BEGIN MuLockLib
SYS:MuTools/MuLockLib >NIL:
;END MuLockLib
ROM: KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k)

RAM: 2MB Chip / 63MB Z3 Fast

CPU: 68040 and tested on 68060
JIT: Enabled - (standard setting)
CPU Emulation Speed:
Fastest possible, but maintain chipset timing

FPU -
CPU Internal
More compatible

___________________________________


New OS3.1 Install (attempt 2)

Description: New Install
Additional Components:
  • SetPatch 43.6b
  • Installer 433

Program MMULib -

Selection: Intermediate User
Selection: Install to SYS:
Selection: Copy
"Copy Files to SYS:OLD"

S/Startup-sequence
Libs/68040.library
C/SetPatch
C/IPrefs
Devs/mfm.device
Libs/mmu.library
Selection: Multiview (amigaguide viewer)
Review: "ReadMe First!"

Selection: (YES) "Do you use a Phase 5 Accelerator board?"
Selection: (YES) "Do You want to update SetPatch to determin and load the correct processor libraries?"

Proceeds to update SetPatch

Selection: Please pick the MuTools to Install

MuFastRom
MuFastChip
MuScan
MuLockLib
MMU.guide
Tools Copied to SYS:MuTools
Documentation Copied to SYS:MuTools

Selection: (YES) "Shall I run MuFastROM on startup?"

Completes Installs

Selection: Proceed (end install)
___________________________________________


Reboot (040 CPU): test boot (Install 2)

Code:
SetPatch (V43.7) has already been installed. Patch list:
	680x0 Support Code Loaded
	Bool CheckIO() workaround
	Enabled Advanced Graphics Modes
	AmigaOS Copyright
	Graphics WritePixelLine8
	graphics/WriteChunkyPixel() patched
	Memory Pools
	Enable data cache
4.Ram Disk:
Reboot (060 CPU): Crash, Guru

Reset (060 CPU): - Loads to Workbench

Code:
SetPatch (V43.7) has already been installed. Patch list:
	Bool CheckIO() workaround
	Enabled Advanced Graphics Modes
	AmigaOS Copyright
	Graphics WritePixelLine8
	graphics/WriteChunkyPixel() patched
	Memory Pools
	Enable data cache
4.Ram Disk:
REM: yes, I also noticed that 680x0 has not loaded, however, if I change the CPU emulation to 040 680x0 does indeed load.

CPU:
Code:
System: 68040 (INST: Cache Burst) (DATA: Cache Burst)
Which Amiga:
Code:
Which Amiga 1.3.3 (2.5.99)
Central Processing Unit: MC68060 264.4 MHz (Rev6)
Floating Point Unit: not available
Memory Management Unit: 68060mmu not available
Custom graphics chip: AGA Lisa 4203 (rev0)
Custom animation chip: AGA PAL Alice 8374, rev 3-4
Other custom chips: Paula8364 (rev0), Gayle (rev 13)
Graphics system: Amiga AGA display bandwidth: 4x
Hardware Clock: clock found
Max. Chipmem available: 2048 K
Max. Fastmem available: 65536 K
ROM chip version: 40.63 (kickstart 3.1)
Workbench version: 40.42 (Workbench 3.1)
SetPatch Version: 53.7

Your computer is an A1200
____________________

Syn:- (Install 2)

It works, but its missing a library (68060.library), 680x0 has not loaded any CPU support, yet the system boots with WinUAE set to 060CPU.

yeah... I am confused too


Files and Install Contents

LIBS:
Code:
68040.library	43764
680x0.library	  864
C:
Code:
SetPatch	14864
SetPatch_old	13484
(Setpatch version Info(s))
Code:
SetPatch - 43.7
SetPatch_old - 40.16

S:startup-sequence
Code:
; $VER: Startup-Sequence_HardDrive 40.2 (25.2.93)
; Startup-Sequence for hard drive systems

C:SetPatch QUIET

C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
  IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
    DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
  EndIF

  C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
  Execute T:M
  C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

SetEnv Language "english"
SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:AddDataTypes REFRESH QUIET
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
  Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
S:user-startup
Code:
;BEGIN MuFastROM
SYS:MuTools/MuFastRom On Protect >NIL:
;END MuFastROM
;BEGIN MuFastChip
SYS:MuTools/MuFastChip ON >NIL:
;END MuFastChip
;BEGIN MuLockLib
SYS:MuTools/MuLockLib >NIL:
;END MuLockLib
ROM: KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k)

RAM: 2MB Chip / 63MB Z3 Fast

CPU: 68060
JIT: Enabled - (standard setting)
CPU Emulation Speed:
Fastest possible, but maintain chipset timing

FPU:
CPU Internal
More compatible
____________________________

Addition Testing

As I noticed earlier in the install a missing 68060.library was not installed by the MMULIb installer. System boots fine, even though the emulation was running an 060 without the 680x0 support code loaded.

I have now copied across this missing Library and now setpatch reveals

SetPatch
Code:
AMIGA ROM Operating System and Libraries
Copyright © 1985-1997 Amiga International, Inc. 
All Rights Reserved.

SetPatch (V43.7) has already been installed.  Patch list:
	680x0 Support Code Loaded
	BOOL CheckIO() workaround
	Enabled Advanced Graphics Modes
	AmigaOS Copyright
	Graphics WritePixelLine8
	graphics/WriteChunkyPixel() patched
	Memory Pools
	Enabled data cache
so we have a working OS3.1 install with 060 support it seems

*can I just say a BIG YAY!!!!*

CPU
Code:
System: 68040 (INST: Cache Burst) (DATA: Cache Burst)
Cpu060
Code:
System: 68060MC Revision 6
Settings:
(INST: Cache Burst)
(DATA: Cache Burst)
(BRANCH: Cache)
(Superscalar)
(WriteBuffer)
(Store/Load Bypass)

Register:
 CACR=$A0808000
  PCR=$04300601
BUSCR=$00000000

Do you own the 68060 Manual ?
Do you know what you're doing ?
If not use c:cpu because it's all you need!
No..cpu060 doesn't make your system faster..only slower...
Cpu060 NoDataCache/DataCache functionality is NOT equal to c:cpu
DON'T use this tool and if you think you have to
...you must face the consequences
WhichAmiga
Code:
WhichAmiga 1.3.3 (2.5.99)
Written by Harry "Piru" Sintonen. Copyright © 1995-1999 PitPlane Productions.

Evaluating system...
 Central Processing Unit: MC68060 273.4 MHz (rev 6)
    Floating Point Unit: 68060fpu
 Memory Management Unit: 68060mmu not active
   Custom graphics chip: AGA Lisa 4203 (rev 0)
  Custom animation chip: AGA PAL Alice 8374, rev 3-4
   Other custom chip(s): Paula 8364 (rev 0), Gayle (rev 13)
        Graphics system: Amiga AGA  display bandwidth: 4x
         Hardware Clock: clock found
 Max. Chipmem available: 2048 K
 Max. Fastmem available: 65536 K
       ROM chip version: 40.63 (Kickstart 3.1)
      Workbench version: 40.42 (Workbench 3.1)
       SetPatch version: 43.7

 Your computer is an Amiga 1200.


I Have now installed WHDLoad on top and have just given SuperStardust AGA a bit of a beating =D, I can honestly confirm a Working 060 compatible OS 3.1 install!!!


I cannot say thanks enough for all your help.

All your logic, advice, knowledge and willingness to help others is the real jewel of the Amiga Scene!!!!

My sincere and most thank you to all of you that have contributed here =D

...

now... lets go try and get Classic WB running with it =D

Last edited by Zetr0; 23 March 2010 at 16:30.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 16:39   #31
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
great can I have my hammer back now then
cosmicfrog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACT Apollo 1240? Not working, worth it still? Mr B support.Hardware 29 11 December 2011 00:12
Apollo 060 Acid support.Other 11 18 February 2011 16:31
For Sale: Viper 1260 060@80MHz 64MB RAM (50ns Samsung one double sided SIMM) stachu100 MarketPlace 0 28 February 2010 23:49
Trading my BlizzardPPC+BVision for a Blizzard or Viper 060! spoUP MarketPlace 1 07 February 2004 18:50
Apollo 060/66 Accelerators for A1200s Echo support.Hardware 10 24 November 2003 10:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07844 seconds with 14 queries