English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2009, 13:57   #81
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
I cant get it working on real Amiga with CD32 pad.

Maybe I should get a PSX adapter
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 14:08   #82
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
hi Toni, thanks for the input. (if you'll pardon the pun)

So because regular fire is disabled on winuae, the game will not start (as it is looking for regular fire, not red?)

why do this, when on the real amiga, even with a CD32 pad, it still registers the 'red' on the pad as a regular fire (which is checked, and therefore starts the game)


this seems to be the cause of the problem here.
Yes and no

If game only reads CD32 in CD32-mode, "regular" fire and 2nd button won't work at all. (if mapped as regular buttons in emulation). Most games read CD32 pad in both modes (but they may not still have 1:1 mapping between fire and red for example)

I guess emulation should "redirect" these mappings to CD32 RED and BLUE when pad is in CD32-mode. (3rd button line is output and low if I remember correctly)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 14:20   #83
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
ok, thanks Toni. to me at least the situation is clear here.

I have a solution that i am confident will work - i need some time to implement it

watch this space!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 19:27   #84
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
ok. new slave in the Zone which should solve the problem.

When the CD32 inputs are read (even if only on one port) it causes the problem with the 'fire' button on certain pads not working - i found a competition pro pad of my own that this happened on also.

the solution is a simple one, set by CUSTOM1=2

If OFF , the CD32-read code does not happen. this means any 2 button pad (including a CD32 pad) can be used as normal, with the second button operating the second weapon.

if ON , the CD32 mode is enabled, and red and blue buttons should now operate as above, and will also provide the option of using 'green' to jump....

using this mode may mean that certain 2-button pads (such as my MasterSystem Pad i tested) no longer operate correctly, so if you are using a mixture of pads on 2 player, you may find it is better not to use this option.



set;
CUSTOM1=1 : Brightness Mode On - CD32 Control Off
CUSTOM1=2 : Brightness Mode Off - CD32 Control On
CUSTOM1=3 : Brightness Mode On - CD32 Control On


good luck!
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 19:49   #85
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Works perfectly honestly the palette change and extra buttons realy give a new lease of life to this game.Great Work
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 19:52   #86
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,809
I have no real CD32 pad. Is it possible to do a custom slave selection for button 2? Either for second weapon or for jump?
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 15 November 2009, 19:54   #87
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
WinUAE default CD32 pad in port 1 works a treat Nice one Horace
TCD is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 19:57   #88
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
I have no real CD32 pad. Is it possible to do a custom slave selection for button 2? Either for second weapon or for jump?

blimey, you people dont want much do you?

i will have a look into how practical that is to put into place for you R-N. (although you'll have to use the keyboard for second fire!! yuk!)



i am glad it is at least working as-intended now. I will still be looking at adding pause (play button) and sound fx/music toggle (yellow) to the CD32 mode.

and err.. <guilty look> i still need to fix the colours on the hardware sprites :S
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 20:00   #89
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,809
Thanks, that would be nice. I've completed the game without weapon 2 and don't need it.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 15 November 2009, 20:13   #90
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
CUSTOM1=1 : Brightness Mode On - CD32 Control Off
CUSTOM1=2 : Brightness Mode Off - CD32 Control On
CUSTOM1=3 : Brightness Mode On - CD32 Control On
I would found it much better to use Custom1 for Brightness Mode and Custom2 for Control Mode...
Bits are good for coders but maybe irritating for users.
Wepl is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 22:05   #91
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
hi Wepl,

i've used the other 4 up on trainers! is there a way of having more than 5?

- Trainers on CUSTOM2
1 = Infinite Lives
2 = Infinite Credits
4 = Infinite Ammo (both weapons)
8 = Infinite Money

- Trainers on CUSTOM3
0 = Nothing / 1 = Supercharge on
2 = Barrier on / 3 = Supercharge & Barrier on

- Trainer on CUSTOM4 sets Weapon 1
0 = None / 1 = Shotgun
2 = Blue thing / 3 = Auto
4 = Fire / 5 = Three-Way

- Trainer on CUSTOM5 sets Weapon 2
0 = None / 1 = Homing Missiles
2 = Nitro / 3 = Shower


I mean, supercharge and barrier can be moved to CUSTOM2 as 16 / 32 , but this still means that bits are being used, only elsewhere!

if anyone has any thoughts about the best way of getting so much out of 5 tooltypes, i'd appreciate some opinion on the matter (from user perspective)

Last edited by Hungry Horace; 15 November 2009 at 22:30.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 22:56   #92
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 690
sorry, I didn't read whole thread
in case other CustomN are already used it's ok so
Wepl is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 22:43   #93
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Ive realy been enjoying this I havent completed it yet but getting there - I realy wouldnt have bothered playing this game with the fucked up palette, why was this released like this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
look around $68 and you will find reference to some memory locations to start looking in for keyboard routines (doesnt always work, but it's where i start - you can thank BippyM and StingRay for giving me tips like that!)
apologies for going off-topic again - are there particular HEX values I can search for in an attempt to change the controls of a game?
for example - D-Pad Up =? or Fire =?
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 22:54   #94
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,221
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
it was released like this because of the ST ! Read some post above, someone has explained technically what happened
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 23:16   #95
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Ive realy been enjoying this I havent completed it yet but getting there - I realy wouldnt have bothered playing this game with the fucked up palette, why was this released like this?
As Denis mentioned above, poor conversion.

someone mentioned how the palette values were off, so i investigated!



Quote:
apologies for going off-topic again - are there particular HEX values I can search for in an attempt to change the controls of a game?
for example - D-Pad Up =? or Fire =?

d-pad up and fire are not keyboard controls?

at $68 in memory, you will find an address, such as $00 01 23 34

disassemble from that address, and you will hopefully find some code for reading the keyboard.... quite possibly it will do something like storing the keyboard value at another address (e.g. $ 00 43 21 00

then you need to find points in the code where the address $ 00432100 is being compared to keybaord scan codes;

http://www.whdload.de/docs/en/rawkey.html

so if you find something comparing it to $61 - you have probably found a routine tied-up to the function of the right shift key


it worked for Midnight Resistance for me


on topic update;

- hardware sprite colours fixed
- currently implementing green/blue switcher for Retro-Nerd (will work on 2 button mode also)

...
then those extra damn cd32 controls to go
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 23:36   #96
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
on topic update;

- hardware sprite colours fixed
- currently implementing green/blue switcher for Retro-Nerd (will work on 2 button mode also)

...
then those extra damn cd32 controls to go
I look forward to this
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
d-pad up and fire are not keyboard controls?
Thanks for your reply - I was thinking what value would replace keyboard value = Fire1/2 and wanted to have a poke around in Final Fight D-pad Up
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 23:57   #97
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
Thanks for your reply - I was thinking what value would replace keyboard value = Fire1/2 and wanted to have a poke around in Final Fight D-pad Up
Final Flight does not use d-pad up? or would you be looking to remove its current function?


for mapping a keyboard key, you basically 'insert' a check for joypad button 1/2 (or anything else) next to the keyboard scancode check, so that button does the same thing as the keyboard control.

hope that helps
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 18 November 2009, 00:23   #98
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
Final Flight does not use d-pad up? or would you be looking to remove its current function?


for mapping a keyboard key, you basically 'insert' a check for joypad button 1/2 (or anything else) next to the keyboard scancode check, so that button does the same thing as the keyboard control.

hope that helps
Hope im not driving you crazzy
Im probably out of my depth - in Final Fight Joystick Up /Jump - I wanted to change this to something else only for a test - maybe a keyboard value.
I dont think ill get very far -Ive only been makeing changes to uncompressed WinUae savestates to see what happends.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 18 November 2009, 02:33   #99
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 38
Posts: 2,487
you will need to find the joystick up/jump check, or just something that reads in the joystick input as well then.

I have never tried asm disassembly from a save-state. that cant be very safe/reliable can it??

this is perhaps best deferred to another thread
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 18 November 2009, 02:41   #100
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
Thanks dude -another thread
More on the subject Ive Just completed Midnight Resistance- I didnt rescue everyone but still...........Woo Hoo thanks for your updates -made it worth playing
Retro1234 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midnight Resistance, which is the best version? s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 49 19 April 2010 20:44
Winuae + Midnight Resistance yourmum90 support.WinUAE 19 26 January 2010 17:24
Midnight Resistance Highwayman request.Old Rare Games 3 18 December 2006 16:31
Issue with Midnight Resistance... DamienD support.Games 38 04 November 2005 18:56
WHDLoad Midnight Resistance v1.3 jrom support.Games 8 28 August 2002 11:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09130 seconds with 14 queries