English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 December 2008, 00:30   #1
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Megatraveller slave

I'm pleased to announce I'll be working in a WDHLoad slave for "MegaTraveller: The Zhodani Conspiracy" in January, right after (and if) the original disks get to me.

It's going to be my first. I'm expecting this to be great fun.
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 00:34   #2
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAchenar View Post
I'm pleased to announce I'll be working in a WDHLoad slave for "MegaTraveller: The Zhodani Conspiracy" in January, right after (and if) the original disks get to me.

It's going to be my first. I'm expecting this to be great fun.

Great BlueAchenar!

Hope everything will go smooth
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 00:47   #3
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 39
Posts: 1,202
Good luck with it Seems like a nice game.
ppill is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 02:31   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAchenar View Post
I'm pleased to announce I'll be working in a WDHLoad slave for "MegaTraveller: The Zhodani Conspiracy" in January, right after (and if) the original disks get to me.

It's going to be my first. I'm expecting this to be great fun.
Go BlueAchenar, go BlueAchenar *now where are my pompoms...*
It's a nice game and a cool one for your first go at WHDLoad slave programming Like I said best of luck and I'm sure if you stumbleover something there are a lot of folks here that will help you
TCD is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 03:12   #5
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAchenar View Post
I'm pleased to announce I'll be working in a WDHLoad slave for "MegaTraveller: The Zhodani Conspiracy" in January, right after (and if) the original disks get to me.

It's going to be my first. I'm expecting this to be great fun.
If I remember rightly, its RNC Copylock protected on the main executable file, all encrypted, I take it you are familiar with this protection?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 03:14   #6
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
If I remember rightly, its RNC Copylock protected on the main executable file, all encrypted, I take it you are familiar with this protection?
Not really, but one has to start somewhere. I was hoping more for only some custom trackloader, but decrypting stuff is fun too.
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 03:41   #7
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAchenar View Post
Not really, but one has to start somewhere. I was hoping more for only some custom trackloader, but decrypting stuff is fun too.
Megatraveller is a dos loading game, no custom loading at all.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 03:48   #8
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Megatraveller is a dos loading game, no custom loading at all.
I wouldn't know that. I'm still waiting for the game disks. Anyway, it seems RNC is a common protection scheme and the game decrypts itself so it might be boring but is doable.
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 03:55   #9
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAchenar View Post
I wouldn't know that. I'm still waiting for the game disks. Anyway, it seems RNC is a common protection scheme and the game decrypts itself so it might be boring but is doable.
The way its implemented on Megatraveller actually isn't that common.

usually the RNC Copylock routine is called, it returns a serial key in D0, but this Copylock doesn't, the Copylock is built into the encrypted file, and if it doesn't sucessfully get the right serial key, then the file doesn't decrypt.

Of course the Copylock uses trace vector decoding, so you never see you code in the Copylock
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 04:09   #10
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
The way its implemented on Megatraveller actually isn't that common.

usually the RNC Copylock routine is called, it returns a serial key in D0, but this Copylock doesn't, the Copylock is built into the encrypted file, and if it doesn't sucessfully get the right serial key, then the file doesn't decrypt.

Of course the Copylock uses trace vector decoding, so you never see you code in the Copylock
Hum, I see this is going to be really fun. I've never cracked an Amiga game, only Windowze (don't quote me on this ).

Do you have any RNC Copylock docs (those that came with Xenon II for example)?
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 31 December 2008, 04:25   #11
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
And by the way... do you have the resourced sources to the games you've WHDified?
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 00:30   #12
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
I'm feeling a bit lazy today to work on the new compactflash driver, so I think I'll start working on this with the SPS images. I should have the disks here by next week anyway and lots of other games with no WHDLoad slave to have more fun if I start getting the hang of it.
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 00:33   #13
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAchenar View Post
I'm feeling a bit lazy today to work on the new compactflash driver, so I think I'll start working on this with the SPS images. I should have the disks here by next week anyway and lots of other games with no WHDLoad slave to have more fun if I start getting the hang of it.
Personally, if you've never cracked an encrypted Copylock before, I think you're taking on something you won't be able to do, but if you manage it, fair play.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 00:38   #14
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Personally, if you've never cracked an encrypted Copylock before, I think you're taking on something you won't be able to do, but if you manage it, fair play.
If I can't, there are always other games. And friendly people here to help.
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 01:44   #15
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Are you sure this is encrypted Galahad? It doesn't seem to be, maybe I'm looking at the wrong executables.
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 12:36   #16
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
When I attempted to slave this game, I just tried to add the patches from the 'amiga patch list' to get past past protection. I never got the game stable (im not that skilled) so no idea if the protection fix worked. I may have been patching the loader instead of main exe, cant remember if I figured how to get slave to patch the right file.

http://www2.hu-berlin.de/angl/people/pdd/amipatch.html
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 13:06   #17
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
When I attempted to slave this game, I just tried to add the patches from the 'amiga patch list' to get past past protection. I never got the game stable (im not that skilled) so no idea if the protection fix worked. I may have been patching the loader instead of main exe, cant remember if I figured how to get slave to patch the right file.

http://www2.hu-berlin.de/angl/people/pdd/amipatch.html
Did you apply the patch to startup.exe? If this patch actually works you just did all the cracking work for me.
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 13:06   #18
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAchenar View Post
Are you sure this is encrypted Galahad? It doesn't seem to be, maybe I'm looking at the wrong executables.
I'm going from memory, was 20 years nearly since I last saw it!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 13:11   #19
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I'm going from memory, was 20 years nearly since I last saw it!
Maybe you're mistaking it with MegaTraveller 2.

I almost completed resourcing startup.exe yesterday and no signs of encryption. Looks like I have a slave to do tonight after work. From what I've read from WHDLoad docs, I just have to patch the executable to remove the protection and system I/O calls back to the slave. The only thing I still have to see how to do is that "trav" executes "startup.exe" and this last file is the one which needs to be patched and isn't supposed to be run directly. How would I go about patching it without running it and making "trav" execute it after the patch?
BlueAchenar is offline  
Old 02 January 2009, 13:29   #20
BlueAchenar
Not dead yet!!! :D
BlueAchenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aveiro / Portugal
Age: 38
Posts: 690
How do I submit an Work In Progress entry to the WHDLoad site?
BlueAchenar is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MegaTraveller 1: The Zhodani Conspiracy Djay HOL data problems 1 13 January 2012 23:13
Using octamed as a slave Kola New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 01 February 2010 21:44
Looking for Megatraveller 2 1.05 rockersuke request.Old Rare Games 3 11 July 2009 17:11
Dogfight Slave.... killergorilla project.WHDLoad 63 28 July 2007 15:33
First Slave problem BippyM project.WHDLoad 114 06 March 2007 23:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09877 seconds with 14 queries