English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 December 2004, 13:10   #1
Chaeo
Monkey Slapper
Chaeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 71
Roll eyes (sarcastic) A1200 2.5" Hard Drive Power Cable

I'm just about to get a 2gb 2.5" hard drive for my Amiga 1200 and just realised that when I bought this computer second hand it was modified to allow a 3.5 drive, so I assume the power cable is wrong for a 2.5. The 3.5 drive that was in it is long dead, I've just resurrected this Amiga from our attic, about to clean it up and bring it life again.

However, I need that cable. The drive that I'm buying will come with the standard data ribbon cable, but no power cable. I can't even remember what the original 2.5 connector looks like. I've emailed 'amigadeals' about the possibility of buying one, but don't expect a positive reply. It sounds like one of those things I'll have a hard time finding. Any help is most welcome. I live in the UK, if someone could sell me one, should amigadeals be unable to help.

Does anyone have a picture of an A1200 with 2.5" hdd installed, so I can see what it all looks like, cablewise. Thank you.
Chaeo is offline  
Old 13 December 2004, 14:01   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,879
There is no 2.5" power cable. The 2.5" IDE cable has 44 pins of which 4 are for power. The 3.5" cable has 40 pins and needs an additional power connection. Just get a 2.5" IDE cable to connect the HDD to the motherboard.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 December 2004, 14:01   #3
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 3,704
The power for a 2,5" HD comes through the ribbon 44pin cable, no need for an extra power cable
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 December 2004, 14:06   #4
Chaeo
Monkey Slapper
Chaeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 47
Posts: 71
GAHHHHHHHH!!!! Now that you say that, I remember!



This is most excellent, thanks peoples
Chaeo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"winuae.exe - Drive Not Ready" when trying to add CF card as hard drive vroom6sri support.WinUAE 20 20 June 2012 23:55
No more cable chaos with the "Fan Power Adapter" keropi Hardware pics 9 01 November 2006 12:18
PIC interesting a1200 m/b power hack: takes power from normal HDD power cable plug! keropi Hardware pics 40 16 July 2006 22:16
Amiga Hard Drive And Cable On Ebay Smiley MarketPlace 6 09 March 2005 21:55
slow hard drive - cutting cable??? yadster support.Hardware 2 28 October 2003 22:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07061 seconds with 13 queries