English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2007, 21:03   #61
paranoid
Phone Zen
paranoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Banned
Age: 48
Posts: 234
I'm not sure if this would be pointless but interesting, pointless and useless, or actually not so pointless... In another thread I was reminded of the Adspeed I had on my A500. Basically it was a 68000 with a small cache that ran at 14mhz. It was very compatible; generally, it either had no effect [cache too small to be of use] or sped games up nicely (I remember it helping Fighter Duel quite a bit.). It also sped up packers like lha, but that doesn't seem to be of value in a WinUAE context..

I'm not sure how useful/pointless this would be.. ('fastest possible but maintain chipset timing' is probably the best option to speed up games like Fighter Duel.. I can't say I've ever understood the slider for adjustable, so perhaps that's already close..) For the most part, when I use WinUAE, I either want an exact A500 or A1200, or the fastest Amiga I can get... Not something in between, like a slightly faster A500...

Anyway, thought I'd toss that out there. I'm not sure if I still have my Adspeed or not but I could have a look if it might help.

(And thanks for all your work, Toni, to state the completely obvious: WinUAE is genius.)
paranoid is offline  
Old 04 December 2007, 22:20   #62
paranoid
Phone Zen
paranoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Banned
Age: 48
Posts: 234
I dove into the uae-configuration program and I think I found that my Adspeed idea is more or less there using this utility. I was using SysInfo (which probably isn't the best under emulation) and found a cpu_speed of 10 (and a small cache) showed 14 mhz (or there abouts). The performance, however, rated it poorly. But then, the performance showed 7 mhz and performance of 1.5x a 2000 set at match A500 speed...

Anyway... Long story short, my pointless and useless idea is probably just that.
paranoid is offline  
Old 17 December 2007, 07:05   #63
flipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: newark england
Posts: 19
upside down screen for playing games in unusual possitions

disk swapper without labels

disk swapper that forgets disks for a while

random hd power downs to simulate psu problems

disapearing memory cards

my blizzard 1260 used to do a rainbow affect on the screen during a reset it also gave a nice crack noise through the tv

hd noise emulation (mine screams at me )

Last edited by flipper; 17 December 2007 at 07:29.
flipper is offline  
Old 21 December 2007, 18:04   #64
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,617
What about a hidden 68k opcode which does a BSOD on the host machine ?
meynaf is offline  
Old 21 December 2007, 21:15   #65
Dwyloc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Age: 43
Posts: 81
How about a special keymap to support using a Keyrah ( http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...4aac79ae1f5ea8 ) and a real amiga keyboard and support for using the keyboard lights on the converted A1200 as WinUAE power and drive lights.

I like the idea of Making a stripped out A1200 with a keyrah look and function like a fully working Amiga.

Dwyloc is offline  
Old 22 December 2007, 13:50   #66
mk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Posts: 401
a "boss-key" similar to old sierra online games.
mk1 is offline  
Old 26 March 2008, 21:07   #67
paranoid
Phone Zen
paranoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Banned
Age: 48
Posts: 234
Not sure how pointless it is, but I'd like to be able to minimize WinUAE to the tray (i.e. with no tab in the taskbar). The reason would be to have something going on in WinUAE in the background somewhat permanently (so out of sight on the desktop) like a BBS.

Incredibly minor thing, and not even saying I'd use it (the idea of me putting up a BBS is bouncing around, but I haven't decided..) but maybe there's interest to others?
paranoid is offline  
Old 27 March 2008, 14:22   #68
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by paranoid View Post
Not sure how pointless it is, but I'd like to be able to minimize WinUAE to the tray (i.e. with no tab in the taskbar
Check misc-panel.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 March 2008, 17:21   #69
paranoid
Phone Zen
paranoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Banned
Age: 48
Posts: 234
Oh. You mean "Don't show taskbar button"? Well. Um.

(Yes, I do feel like a big fat doofus. Thanks for asking. )

So, Toni, ever feel like punching people with dumb assed questions right through the internet?
paranoid is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Reminder "Lincs Amiga User Group aka "LAG" Meet Sat 5th of January 2013" rockape News 4 30 January 2013 01:06
CD32 Image-Name-Bug: "...(bla)[!].zip" -> "...(bla)[" / "...[test].zip" -> "...[tes" cfTrio support.WinUAE 8 18 December 2012 17:31
Firewall trouble (was: no pointless this time toni) turrican3 support.WinUAE 10 30 January 2008 17:11
Problems with "Thespywholovedme", "Flood", "Shinobi" sareks support.Games 12 03 May 2006 15:52
Most hated game design "features". 7-Zark-7 Nostalgia & memories 30 15 November 2002 19:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08038 seconds with 15 queries