English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2017, 00:16   #1
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 532
Amiga 500 Smoke!

Have a standard A500 with a Gotek and ACA 500 Plus which I just started using today. Has been running without issue but earlier a thin trail of smoke came out of the left hand side with a strong electrical smell. I quickly unplugged everything, including the expansion card/memory and turned it over.

Does this mean that it's dead? I've only had it a couple of weeks
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 00:37   #2
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,518
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
It does not mean it is dead. Just open it and see what is burnt.
Predseda is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 00:38   #3
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,477
Came from the ACA? I would sniff the board to see if you can find the burnt areas on both the ACA and 500. Then if 500 looks ok try the 500 by itself to see if it works
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 00:42   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,350
I haven't seen it myself, but I've read a couple of reports from people where the capacitors at the back near the video output fail and cause the video hybrid to burn out. If that's the case, you won't have working video but the rest of the machine will be unharmed.

I would make sure your power supply is ok though, because pretty much any electronic part, new or old, will let out the magic smoke if it's fed too high a voltage.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 00:48   #5
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 532
Plugged A500 in on its own without Gotek and it displayed the insert disk icon. Was making a low hiss like cackle through the TV.

Plugged the ACA in and it displays an EO in green with a red light showing on the left of its board, can't see any burn marks on it. Also this comes up on screen when I boot it:


Last edited by Lorfarius; 04 November 2017 at 01:00.
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 01:08   #6
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 532
Have just opened up the Amiga and had a really good look inside but there's no sign of anything being burnt and there's no smell either. However the ACA 500 + card does have a light electrical smell around the black square chip with a warranty sticker on top.
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 01:13   #7
system11
Registered User

system11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 82
Check the underside of any PCBs too, smoke always leaves a mark somewhere.
system11 is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 02:19   #8
Lorfarius
Registered User
Lorfarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Glossop/UK
Posts: 532
Have searched the Amiga but no find of any smoke smell or burn marks. I've just sat the ACA500+ plus card away from the Amiga and the smell from it is quite strong. Pretty sure its that.
Lorfarius is offline  
Old 04 November 2017, 02:53   #9
system11
Registered User

system11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 82
I'm really curious now, got a high res photo? I spend much of my time repairing old arcade circuit boards and physically manifested faults are always interesting.
system11 is offline  
Old 30 November 2017, 19:36   #10
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
I haven't seen it myself, but I've read a couple of reports from people where the capacitors at the back near the video output fail and cause the video hybrid to burn out. If that's the case, you won't have working video but the rest of the machine will be unharmed.

I would make sure your power supply is ok though, because pretty much any electronic part, new or old, will let out the magic smoke if it's fed too high a voltage.


I have a 500 with this issue! Top left cap gets really hot. No RGB video but composite works. Does anything else need to be replaced other than the large caps?
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 30 November 2017, 23:09   #11
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,350
Hmmm, if those caps have failed (and it sounds like at least one has), then there's a possibility that the Video Hybrid has also failed. That's the long, tall, skinny part running from one cap to the other. That also provides the composite output though, so it would be strange for it to have failed... Maybe it's a partial failure, or maybe there are other issues like lack of sync signals (which come from Agnus). But first order of the day is to definitely change at least those two capacitors, then see what else needs to be done.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 02 December 2017, 00:31   #12
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 48
Posts: 1,477
The composite out was good then it started to get dim, so I think that hot cap is the problem. Will replace the cap first and see if that fixes the issue! Ordering a new hybrid chip just in case, hopefully from Kipper2k!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 02 December 2017, 19:17   #13
Codetsu
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: next to Mordor
Posts: 137
sound like smoke come out some Cap inside A500
when trace burn you will see it and some damage happens

when cap goes it take hiss sound whit a smoke
Codetsu is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 Rev.6A VS Amiga 500 Plus with 2MB chip and ACA 500 turrican9 support.Hardware 0 24 December 2016 03:16
Final Fight on AMIGA 500+ (500 Plus), not 500! padremayi support.Games 55 09 March 2016 21:39
Newtek Video Toaster let the magic smoke out MoreBITS support.Hardware 7 09 August 2014 03:55
Smoke & Mirrors doesn't run under WinUAE 2.7.0 andyhants support.Demos 24 30 April 2014 23:30
Smoke from power input area- A1200 CongoZombie support.Hardware 25 12 June 2009 13:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07527 seconds with 15 queries