English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 March 2017, 15:16   #461
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Big grin PSOC based HD controller

As promised, I have been working on my contribution to this excellent open-source initiative.

I have drawn the schematics and the PCB layout for a PSOC-5 / micro-SD based harddisk solution for the A500. The idea is to incorporate the lessons learned when building this thing into an upgraded TF520 accelerator.

The PSOC-5 is not as easy to solder as the Xilinx FPGA's used by PlasmaB (being 0.5mm pitch) but the PSOC offers the potential to make the circuit simpler. The board has a micro-SD connector for storing the harddisk image and a USB slot for upgrading the firmware.

However, I am a bit at doubt whether I should really built this thing. I would have to start from scratch with the Gayle/IDE stuff (as the PSOC-5 implementation will be completely differerent from the TF530) and I want to move on to TF520 anyway. Especially after I found some treasure in my old stash.... (see next post )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Nieuwe afbeelding (3).jpg
Views:	141
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	52519  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf hd_controller.pdf (143.7 KB, 49 views)
Mathesar is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 15:24   #462
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Hidden treasure

Years ago I got some old Amiga stuff from a collaegue. (easily 15 years ago or so). I never looked what was in the box until last week.

Guess what was in it... A shiny 68020, an FPU, a 1MB Agnus and lots of other stuff. There was even a 1.3 ROM in it (so my A500 now runs 1.3 while awaiting the upgrade to 3.1).

Now I almost have to build an TF520
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20170318_13_38_59_Pro.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	44.1 KB
ID:	52521   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20170318_13_39_47_Pro.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	52522   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20170318_13_40_01_Pro.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	52523  
Mathesar is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 16:08   #463
michaelz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Den Haag / Netherlands
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoRetro View Post
Hi Mr Fibble,

I've also been looking for the CPU/FPU for our groups purchase and it seems that eBay and AliExpress are the only option

All the best,


Tekmos still sells 68020's. no 68030's though (as far as I know). No idea if they sell them in small quantities.
michaelz is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 16:10   #464
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
Years ago I got some old Amiga stuff from a collaegue. (easily 15 years ago or so). I never looked what was in the box until last week.

Guess what was in it... A shiny 68020, an FPU, a 1MB Agnus and lots of other stuff. There was even a 1.3 ROM in it (so my A500 now runs 1.3 while awaiting the upgrade to 3.1).

Now I almost have to build an TF520
Hmmmm. Realistically what we need is a A500+ replacement motherboard with the TF520 built in.
plasmab is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 17:27   #465
MoRetro
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Belgium
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelz View Post
Tekmos still sells 68020's. no 68030's though (as far as I know). No idea if they sell them in small quantities.
Thanks Michaelz,

I just checked this link: http://www.tekmos.com/products/68020-microprocessors.
Sadly enough they don't have the 030 or higher

All the best,

Last edited by MoRetro; 18 March 2017 at 23:22.
MoRetro is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 17:57   #466
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
As promised, I have been working on my contribution to this excellent open-source initiative.

I have drawn the schematics and the PCB layout for a PSOC-5 / micro-SD based harddisk solution for the A500. The idea is to incorporate the lessons learned when building this thing into an upgraded TF520 accelerator.

The PSOC-5 is not as easy to solder as the Xilinx FPGA's used by PlasmaB (being 0.5mm pitch) but the PSOC offers the potential to make the circuit simpler. The board has a micro-SD connector for storing the harddisk image and a USB slot for upgrading the firmware.

However, I am a bit at doubt whether I should really built this thing. I would have to start from scratch with the Gayle/IDE stuff (as the PSOC-5 implementation will be completely differerent from the TF530) and I want to move on to TF520 anyway. Especially after I found some treasure in my old stash.... (see next post )
Out of curiousity have you checked the PSOC-5 chips are 5V IO tolerant? otherwise this is going to end in fire.
plasmab is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 18:17   #467
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Out of curiousity have you checked the PSOC-5 chips are 5V IO tolerant? otherwise this is going to end in fire.
They are, yes - it's one of the reasons I like them.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 19:24   #468
TenLeftFingers
Registered User

TenLeftFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ireland
Posts: 791
To your average person ( ), when ordering something like this, it's just the PCB you get and not the CPU etc, right? http://dirtypcbs.com/store/pcbs/buy/...f530-rev2b-zip
TenLeftFingers is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 20:03   #469
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Out of curiousity have you checked the PSOC-5 chips are 5V IO tolerant? otherwise this is going to end in fire.
The PSOC-5 runs on anything between 1,71 and 5,5 volts . On top of that you can have up to 4 different power domains for the IO pins. I am running the PSOC and 3 of the 4 IO power domains at 5V so the PSOC can interact with the 68000 and the Amiga at 5V. The 4th power domain is running on 3.3V to interact with the SD-card.

A question for you PlasmaB: I only "intercept" _AS and _DTACK. Is this enough to hide Gary? Eg, even though I still pass _UDS and _LDS will gary not decode any addresses as long as I don't let _AS through?
Mathesar is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 20:06   #470
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
They are, yes - it's one of the reasons I like them.
I like them a *lot*. The Cypress PSOC chips (and then especially the PSOC5) are the nicest microcontrollers I have ever worked with. The combination of a fast ARM and programmable digital and analog is revolutionary imho.
Mathesar is offline  
Old 18 March 2017, 20:08   #471
Mathesar
Registered User

Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by TenLeftFingers View Post
To your average person ( ), when ordering something like this, it's just the PCB you get and not the CPU etc, right? http://dirtypcbs.com/store/pcbs/buy/...f530-rev2b-zip
Yep!
Mathesar is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 00:26   #472
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
The PSOC-5 runs on anything between 1,71 and 5,5 volts . On top of that you can have up to 4 different power domains for the IO pins. I am running the PSOC and 3 of the 4 IO power domains at 5V so the PSOC can interact with the 68000 and the Amiga at 5V. The 4th power domain is running on 3.3V to interact with the SD-card.

A question for you PlasmaB: I only "intercept" _AS and _DTACK. Is this enough to hide Gary? Eg, even though I still pass _UDS and _LDS will gary not decode any addresses as long as I don't let _AS through?
I think thats ok. I havent tried it myself because i have to generate all those bad boys.
plasmab is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 04:17   #473
RichMK
Registered User
RichMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: uk
Posts: 36
plasmab, I cant find the oscillator case style in the schematics or board diagram. Would the crystal be a 3225 or 5032 ? Cheers
RichMK is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 05:00   #474
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 50
Posts: 1,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMK View Post
plasmab, I cant find the oscillator case style in the schematics or board diagram. Would the crystal be a 3225 or 5032 ? Cheers
I dont think its an SMD package (I could be wrong).

[edit] I am corrected, yes its SMD, 7mmx5mm package. isnt that 0705 package footprint ?

Last edited by whiteb; 19 March 2017 at 05:09.
whiteb is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 10:30   #475
RichMK
Registered User
RichMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: uk
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb View Post
I dont think its an SMD package (I could be wrong).

[edit] I am corrected, yes its SMD, 7mmx5mm package. isnt that 0705 package footprint ?
ahh, I think you're right. having not used Eagle before I managed to find "OSC_7X5MM" so yes, I would imagine that's 0705. Cheers.
RichMK is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 17:01   #476
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 889
i have 12 xc9572tq100aem new
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 20:32   #477
RichMK
Registered User
RichMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: uk
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpiac64 View Post
i have 12 xc9572tq100aem new
That is the wrong chip for the TF530.
RichMK is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 20:40   #478
plasmab
Banned
plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMK View Post
That is the wrong chip for the TF530.
Indeed... It needs to be a 64 pin XC9572XL... Any speed grade will work but if its not 10ns then i havent tested it and you'll need to recompile.
plasmab is offline  
Old 19 March 2017, 22:47   #479
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 889
sorry, next project

please, report list of material for check right price on web
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 20 March 2017, 00:32   #480
keith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 88
My 2 cents got some from dig key 64pin 10ns lead free at a good price, XC9572XL-10VQG64C but it might not be as cheap in different countries, side note the C is cheaper than the one that ends with an I or should be... The differance between ending in I or C they have different min/max temps and cost.
C=commercial and I=industrial, there's also the pb-free version's G= lead free this letter is shown in the brackets 10VQ(G)64C you can find the info on data sheet https://www.xilinx.com/support/docum...eets/ds057.pdf XC9572XL-10=speed VQ=package type G= pb 64=pin count C=commercial.

Last edited by keith; 20 March 2017 at 01:27.
keith is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Listening to Amiga music with too much treble makes it sound terrible! Foebane Amiga scene 4 08 October 2016 07:30
Terrible usb drive performance? lovinggames support.FS-UAE 5 11 March 2015 10:06
Broken MASPlayer - Terrible hissing. SS454 support.Hardware 8 17 November 2013 02:41
Accelerators pmc MarketPlace 9 04 November 2009 21:23
Problem with a terrible, simply effect! Camionsauro Coders. General 13 19 April 2009 09:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21220 seconds with 16 queries