English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Home Projects > project.Amiga Lore

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2019, 05:06   #21
TroyWilkins
Registered User

TroyWilkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 446
Thank you for this, very interesting.

I'm one of those that never got into using DOpus 5 onwards. I can certainly understand the advantages of the multi-window style, but for me, the simple source and destination, along with the descriptive button bank were easier to use. I've tried to use DOpus 5 onwards, but I have no idea what the buttons do, and so go back to the more simple DOpus 4 for file management. Maybe one day I'll get my head around the later versions, and I can understand the appeal, but perhaps it's just not for me.
TroyWilkins is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 15:32   #22
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 193
Looking at that history, I really love the look of DOpus 2. I never used DOpus, as it was just too colorful for me. Only Magellan was nice with MWb-Icons.

Is it possible to configure DOpus 4 to look like this screenshot? Then I might use it .
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DOpus2_2.png
Views:	198
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	65296  
Etze is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 17:12   #23
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,952
Yes dopus4 can be configured to look like that!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etze View Post
Looking at that history, I really love the look of DOpus 2. I never used DOpus, as it was just too colorful for me. Only Magellan was nice with MWb-Icons.

Is it possible to configure DOpus 4 to look like this screenshot? Then I might use it .
BippyM is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 17:18   #24
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,494
You can load a DOpus4 config file with DOpus5. So it looks and behaves the same or very similar.
daxb is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 19:08   #25
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BippyM View Post
Yes dopus4 can be configured to look like that!
ok, so I will have a look. Thanks!
Etze is offline  
Old 24 November 2019, 20:12   #26
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etze View Post
ok, so I will have a look. Thanks!
If i get time I'll put a video together showing how to configure dopus 4.
BippyM is offline  
Old 25 November 2019, 14:14   #27
lucadip
Where is my mind?

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 112
Don't shoot me for that, but I always preferred DiskMaster 2 for the amiga! :-)
lucadip is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 08:35   #28
Revenile
Registered User

Revenile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Ah DOpus... I learned how to use that, mainly to get some games working, and it was required to get out format switching program to function (to switch from 60hz display to 50 to play PAL games). I haven't gotten it on Windows yet but the possibility exists. It's also neat that a licensed version of 5.5 comes with Amiga Forever for users in a workbench environment can use.
Revenile is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 19:44   #29
tero
Registered User

tero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: M'Gladbach
Age: 42
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revenile View Post
It's also neat that a licensed version of 5.5 comes with Amiga Forever for users in a workbench environment can use.
No need for a licence as Dopus 5 is open source since 2014 or so.


https://sourceforge.net/projects/dopus5allamigas/files/
tero is offline  
Old 03 December 2019, 13:17   #30
Revenile
Registered User

Revenile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
No need for a licence as Dopus 5 is open source since 2014 or so.


https://sourceforge.net/projects/dopus5allamigas/files/
Ah nice. Wasn't aware of that. Just was going by what the welcome screen says on the AF version. The more one learns.
Revenile is offline  
Old 03 December 2019, 19:25   #31
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 5,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etze View Post
Looking at that history, I really love the look of DOpus 2. I never used DOpus, as it was just too colorful for me. Only Magellan was nice with MWb-Icons.

Is it possible to configure DOpus 4 to look like this screenshot? Then I might use it .

You can configure both Dopus4 and Dopu5 as you like, see screenshots

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 December 2019 at 09:28.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 09:26   #32
Etze
A3000-Fan

Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 193
Thanks. I don't like the Multi-Window-approach in later incarnations of DOpus. But in the meantime I found out that it's VERY easy to configure the looks of DOpus 4.
Etze is offline  
Old 21 January 2020, 10:33   #33
Gardhul
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Rome / Italy
Posts: 54
DOpus, so many memories: using on Win10 but on the Amiga was another story
Gardhul is offline  
Old 01 February 2020, 17:48   #34
Unkown
The Old Fart!

Unkown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Last Seen In Purgatory!
Age: 53
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gardhul View Post
DOpus, so many memories: using on Win10 but on the Amiga was another story

Absolutely Agree 110% I also use it on the PC, ONLY wish i have is if we could have a skin make to have the look and feel of the "Amiga Dopus" That would make the PC copy even better than it is today.
Unkown is offline  
Old 02 April 2020, 19:12   #35
Wavemaker
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etze View Post
Looking at that history, I really love the look of DOpus 2. I never used DOpus, as it was just too colorful for me. Only Magellan was nice with MWb-Icons.

Is it possible to configure DOpus 4 to look like this screenshot? Then I might use it .
This screen brought back so many memories this was the version for Workbench 1.x and like a lot of 1.x software it has a custom UI as opposed to the later Intuition one. And yeah you can change the colors as you like but it's not going to look 100% the same if you're not on 1.x
Wavemaker is offline  
Old 03 April 2020, 00:54   #36
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by tero View Post
No need for a licence as Dopus 5 is open source since 2014 or so.


https://sourceforge.net/projects/dopus5allamigas/files/

If anyone is interested, some time ago I converted the SourceForge project into GitHub and made it compile with Bebbo’s GCC cross compilation toolchain:

https://github.com/mheyer32/dopus5allamigas

Happy compiling & contributing :-)
pipper is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Directory Opus 4.12 or later haribootje request.Apps 21 05 February 2020 21:34
Directory opus 4 Mike UK support.Apps 7 02 March 2007 06:23
Directory Opus 5.5 Fingerlickin_B support.Apps 7 21 January 2007 22:32
Directory Opus Djay request.Apps 3 17 October 2002 01:39
Directory Opus alkis21 support.Apps 0 02 September 2002 09:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09669 seconds with 15 queries