English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2018, 15:08   #101
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
enc28j60.device driver for Wicher 500i alive

[ Show youtube player ]
Great work!

Also watched the second video [ Show youtube player ], where it looks like you almost halved the ping response time.

It would be very interesting to see a ttcp test against a machine on your local network. This would remove a couple of variables of the wget test you did in the seconds video, like internet connection speed, wget disk I/O and console output overhead - focusing as much as possible on the performance of the hardware, network driver and TCP/IP-stack.

If you for example want to test receiving data on the Amiga, like in the wget test, you first start ttcp in receiving mode on the Amiga like this:
> ttcp -s -r

Then, on the other machine on your local network, you start sending data with ttcp to the Amiga like this:
> ttcp -s -t amigahostname-or-ipaddress

To test sending speed with the Amiga, just reverse the ttcp roles between the machines.

There are a couple of ways to get ttcp:
source
Linux x86_64 binary
Linux arm binary
OS X x86_64 binary
Windows binary

Another option is to use iperf 2 instead of ttcp.

Iperf 2 in ttcp-compatible receive mode:
> iperf -C -s

Iperf 2 as ttcp-compatible send:
> iperf -C -n 16M -c amigahostname-or-ipaddress

On the receiving machine, TCP port 5001 needs to be open. This should not be a problem on the Amiga, but might need to be addressed on the other machine depending on OS.
patrik is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 12:26   #102
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
Great work!

Also watched the second video [ Show youtube player ], where it looks like you almost halved the ping response time.

It would be very interesting to see a ttcp test against a machine on your local network. This would remove a couple of variables of the wget test you did in the seconds video, like internet connection speed, wget disk I/O and console output overhead - focusing as much as possible on the performance of the hardware, network driver and TCP/IP-stack.

If you for example want to test receiving data on the Amiga, like in the wget test, you first start ttcp in receiving mode on the Amiga like this:
> ttcp -s -r

Then, on the other machine on your local network, you start sending data with ttcp to the Amiga like this:
> ttcp -s -t amigahostname-or-ipaddress

To test sending speed with the Amiga, just reverse the ttcp roles between the machines.

There are a couple of ways to get ttcp:
source
Linux x86_64 binary
Linux arm binary
OS X x86_64 binary
Windows binary

Another option is to use iperf 2 instead of ttcp.

Iperf 2 in ttcp-compatible receive mode:
> iperf -C -s

Iperf 2 as ttcp-compatible send:
> iperf -C -n 16M -c amigahostname-or-ipaddress

On the receiving machine, TCP port 5001 needs to be open. This should not be a problem on the Amiga, but might need to be addressed on the other machine depending on OS.

Here is the test result (I changed the stack of tcp/ip on RoadShow, it's faster than Miami)


spidi is online now  
Old 21 October 2018, 13:28   #103
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 461
@spidi:

Thanks for testing, very interesting to see the results! A bit over 50kByte/sec in both directions is not bad for a 68000 Amiga. To give a comparison, I tested the speeds with ttcp on an A600 with C-Net 10MBit PCMCIA several years ago and got 69kByte/sec send and 104kByte/sec receive.

Do you know what the upper limit of the SPI-interface is? For example, a timed test with say 1000000 reads directly from a register on the network chip?

Btw, how much difference did the switch from Miami to Roadshow do?

Btw2, the default ttcp setting is to send 16MBytes of data, which as you see takes a lof of time at these speeds. You can change this on the sending end of ttcp with the -n argument. For example, with this speed, "ttcp -n64 -s -t hostnameorip" would send 0.5MBytes and take ~10s, which is enough time to make the test dependable.

Last edited by patrik; 21 October 2018 at 13:52.
patrik is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 15:40   #104
graffias79
Registered User

graffias79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 58
I'm having stability issues as well. No LMB boot menu either. I've noticed that the FPGA on the card gets kind of hot. Is that normal? Booting from CF generally results in an almost instant Guru. It worked once but not many times after that. I've ordered another 68HC000 in case the one I have is a fake or defective.
graffias79 is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 19:53   #105
gabriel666
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1
Same Symptoms
gabriel666 is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 20:31   #106
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by graffias79 View Post
I'm having stability issues as well. No LMB boot menu either. I've noticed that the FPGA on the card gets kind of hot. Is that normal? Booting from CF generally results in an almost instant Guru. It worked once but not many times after that. I've ordered another 68HC000 in case the one I have is a fake or defective.

At what frequency does the reboot take place?
High temperature is a normal symptom for the CPLD.
Not every processor can be overclocked above 25MHz. The same applies to memory.
It is also important what voltage supply occurs in point C1, If it is below 4.85V there will be problems with stability.
spidi is online now  
Old 21 October 2018, 21:10   #107
graffias79
Registered User

graffias79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 58
Hmm I have done some further testing. I removed the turbo jumpers and have been working at 7MHz just to be sure the CPU frequency wasn't at fault. The problem seems to be RAM. I have tried a few different 8MB 60ns memory modules that I have.

I figured out that the command C:Wicher LOAD CFGRAM causes the system to reboot with a guru.

If I comment that line out of the s:wicher-startup file it loads workbench but I am left with a strange number for FastRAM. Usually something that looks like 10 12 or once even 18 MB of RAM. The system then eventually fails and reboots, even at 7MHz.

I am using rev.2a which I bought from Inertial Computing. I downloaded the Wicher Installer v2.2 adf file from the Retro 7-bit site. Is there a mismatch with the software perhaps?

I should also add that I am using an NTSC Amiga 500 Rev 6A with Kickstart 2.05 and Workbench 2.1. I also have a 2MB Agnus/2MB ChipRAM board installed.

Last edited by graffias79; 21 October 2018 at 21:12. Reason: Clarification
graffias79 is offline  
Old 21 October 2018, 23:10   #108
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by graffias79 View Post
Hmm I have done some further testing. I removed the turbo jumpers and have been working at 7MHz just to be sure the CPU frequency wasn't at fault. The problem seems to be RAM. I have tried a few different 8MB 60ns memory modules that I have.

I figured out that the command C:Wicher LOAD CFGRAM causes the system to reboot with a guru.

If I comment that line out of the s:wicher-startup file it loads workbench but I am left with a strange number for FastRAM. Usually something that looks like 10 12 or once even 18 MB of RAM. The system then eventually fails and reboots, even at 7MHz.

I am using rev.2a which I bought from Inertial Computing. I downloaded the Wicher Installer v2.2 adf file from the Retro 7-bit site. Is there a mismatch with the software perhaps?

I should also add that I am using an NTSC Amiga 500 Rev 6A with Kickstart 2.05 and Workbench 2.1. I also have a 2MB Agnus/2MB ChipRAM board installed.

What exact version of Kickstart do you have? 37.350?
spidi is online now  
Old 21 October 2018, 23:52   #109
graffias79
Registered User

graffias79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
What exact version of Kickstart do you have? 37.350?

Yep, 37.350. I was told that I would need at least 2.05 to boot from IDE or CF. I still have my 2.04 37.175 ROM somewhere.
graffias79 is offline  
Old 22 October 2018, 00:18   #110
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by graffias79 View Post
Yep, 37.350. I was told that I would need at least 2.05 to boot from IDE or CF. I still have my 2.04 37.175 ROM somewhere.

OK, I'll check it on my card. Please, give me serial number of the card on a private message.
spidi is online now  
Old 29 October 2018, 20:37   #111
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 194
New batch of the Wicher 500i rev.2c is available - 7-bit
spidi is online now  
Old 30 October 2018, 01:10   #112
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeå
Age: 38
Posts: 461
Read in your changelog that you have added maprom support along the way, good stuff!
patrik is offline  
Old 30 October 2018, 01:18   #113
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik View Post
Read in your changelog that you have added maprom support along the way, good stuff!
Yes, maprom function supports a 512kB kickstart.
spidi is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wicher 500 - new turbo card for A500 spidi News 43 24 December 2016 13:30
Impossible Mission 2025, WinUAE, A500 and Classic Version problem! BarryB support.Games 18 11 July 2016 19:07
Wanted: 2x internal floppy A500, 1x internal floppy A1000, A500 512kb fastmem high-5 MarketPlace 2 08 January 2010 22:48
Turbo card things Dr. Dude support.Hardware 16 12 August 2004 00:23
Turbo card. Needs a fix Dr. Dude support.Hardware 5 07 July 2004 20:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13139 seconds with 13 queries