English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2017, 21:17   #61
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,157
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrz View Post
ok, a few more questions

at how many rpm the floppy drive must spin to write turrican 2 and 3 ?

and how many rpm to write the track 1 of lethal weapon ?
the RPM is not involved on copylock. It's a special sector.

Lethal Weapon use a copylock.


btw,I done more games using powercopy

stormlord => copylock
gods => copylock
rainbow islands => copylock (unless you use the not copylocked version)
rock'n roll => should be ok i think
rick dangerous 2 => copylock
ghost battle - seems is working but there are gfx bugs in my A1200 , this game is not 100% AGA compatible => yes. need no cache and original.


chaos engine aga - fails on powercopy but can be written with wwarp

=> RNPDOS, need wwarp to shorter the inter sector gaps

idem for

assasin se => copylock
alien breed se => copylock
arcade pool => RNPDOS
super frog => RNPDOS

Quote:
and perhaps all those team 17 games can br written with wwarp
wwarp is made to write back Team 17 games with RNPDOS, but not the copylocked games.
dlfrsilver is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 September 2017, 20:42   #62
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrz View Post
I was researching on the web and it seems the only floppy drives with speed motor control or variable speed are the old MAC 800k floppy drives

but those floppy drives were very expensive, even today are expensive
and perhaps the reason because SYBIL was done, because the SYBIL was cheapeast than a MAC drive

I wonder which floppy drive+motor speed control can work with powercopy,
the powercopy' author don't specify nothing which model, which brand????
wtf ?

is there a way to connect a MAC 800k floppy drive to the AMiga?
I created SYBIL to duplicate disks using a single drive (Supercard Ami required two drives). I also created a version of SYBIL to read/write Mac disks on a standard Amiga drive specifically for Readysoft. When Readysoft decided to back out of our deal (after we had already made the fist batch of SYBILs) I created EMPLANT out of spite. SYBIL changed the clock speed of the Amiga, which in turn changed the clock speed of PAULA. This let me "virtually" change the drive speed by changing the clocking of PAULA. You can also create long tracks using a drive that can have it's speed changed via a pot. Weakbits, Strongbits (no flux areas), can all be written on a stock Amiga without needing any extra hardware.

I was not aware that anyone wrote software that supports SYBIL. I will have to check out wwarp. The SYBIL copier/imager was really popular with the BBS crowd because you could share disk images of copy protected disks.

Rob's Copylock uses normal sectors. If you scan the disk it looks perfectly normal. The drive speed (or data clocking) is varied for each sector. The protection times how long each sector takes to be clocked in with whatever controller is being used (Amiga, Atari ST, etc.) Unless you deliberately scan the sectors for time you would miss this. Of course flux copiers duplicated this with no problems.

Last edited by JimDrew; 22 September 2017 at 20:48.
JimDrew is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 03:26   #63
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
I was not aware that anyone wrote software that supports SYBIL. I will have to check out wwarp. The SYBIL copier/imager was really popular with the BBS crowd because you could share disk images of copy protected disks.
.
yes the program wwarp by wepl it seems uses your sybil hardware for certain games
try to copy the games turrican 2 or lethal weapon and you will see


btw,

do you know an Amiga floppy drive which have speed motor control built-in?
what about the old Nec FD1035 ? do you know this drive?
Mrz is offline  
Old 27 September 2017, 19:51   #64
JimDrew
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 485
There were several Amiga drives that had pots for the motor speed control. NEC seemed to have several types.
JimDrew is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ghost battle 1 disk cracked version or IPF Sandro request.Old Rare Games 2 26 September 2016 02:42
The Final Battle (Original/Uncracked) Kirben request.Old Rare Games 1 12 July 2015 05:22
Ghost floppy merlinkv support.Hardware 1 13 May 2010 10:12
Ghost Battle music confusion s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 1 24 April 2009 13:07
FIXED: Ghost Battle (Slave update) Chain project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 76 06 October 2008 03:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19122 seconds with 14 queries