English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > request.UAE Wishlist

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 March 2013, 00:43   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,437
On screen display like FPGAs machines

I will buy an LED HD TV specially to run WinUAE in 50/100 Hz on my machine and I am wondering what can be one to enhance the expericence and to make it look more like an true Amiga or a FPGA.

Would be a neat thing to see in WinUAE an OSD panel done entirely in DirectX simulating the FPGAs machines.

The Windows GUI may be removed and the user will never realise that him is using Windows.

It would find use for kiosks, arcade machines and machines used to run emulators, too.

The look of the settings panel can be of the standard FPGA emulators or LCD screens or the native look of the gadtools GUI in AmigaOS 2/3.

Basically some emulators done in SDL already does something similiar to this, albeit at not at a very professional level, resulting in a very small value for its users.

I give this idea because I hate to see all the emulators that arent programmed anymore and are left in a unfinished level, giving an look and feel thats not "authentic".

But clearly this is not the case of WinUAE today!

Would be neat too options to disabling the configuration panel acessiblity, disabling windowed mode switching and the option to automatically reboot or turn off the machine when WinUAE quits.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 31 March 2013 at 01:09.
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 31 March 2013, 00:58   #2
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,123
Isn't this basically what FS-UAE is about?
demolition is offline  
Old 31 March 2013, 01:07   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 41
Posts: 1,437
FS-UAE has a very advanced interface that not looks like the real GUI that an emulator machine like the Minimig ECS/AGA done in FPGAs, or an Amiga could do.

But aesthetically its very pleasing to the eyes, I understand what you are saying, and while I think would be best to use it, it doesnt fits very well in my idea because its a very futuristic interface, and I would like to see something more retro like Commodore did so well, while not loosing at all the flexibility of emulators running under Windows.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 31 March 2013 at 03:40.
Leandro Jardim is online now  
Old 05 April 2013, 20:35   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,049
I don't want to support two different GUIs. It would become broken too easily because I don't use or need it. (and finally it would be dropped completely)
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
native in screen display problem turrican3 support.WinUAE 1 29 September 2012 05:22
Safe areas for screen display sack Coders. General 5 18 December 2011 15:43
Move on screen display Leandro Jardim request.UAE Wishlist 0 13 November 2011 02:49
Option to reposition 'Native on-screen display' NoX1911 request.UAE Wishlist 2 27 February 2011 17:07
Problem with screen display. KidCanary support.WinUAE 3 02 December 2002 01:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07401 seconds with 15 queries