English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2012, 15:34   #1
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 706
Trying to install a differnent files system on GVP 2060

I tried last night to install as MS dos file system on a 1.2 scsi drive that I had laying around. however the drive does not get mounted unless I use FFS or OFS on the drive. I can't even get SFS to work on it. Is this a problem with tekscsi2.device? Is there a replacement? Is there a workaround?
I currently boot from a buddha IDE drive and the SCSI drive is only a secondary drive that I am trying to set up for the bridgeboard. There is software to allow janus to see an amiga hard drive partition as the bridgeboards, but you need to install a MS dos file system on the partition to do it.
Thanks

Last edited by source; 08 December 2012 at 16:41.
source is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 19:54   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,058
I'd expect GVP to not have this kind of boot rom bugs but we'll see.. Some old boot roms only load filesystems if they are single hunk (like fastfilesystem) and/or if dos type is exactly DOS<anything here>.

Quick test: Download PFS3 AIO from Aminet, install it normally but set dostype to DOSS (0x444f5353). Does it work now?

What does "version full tekscsi2.device" output?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 December 2012, 21:36   #3
Orcish75
Registered User
Orcish75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Age: 45
Posts: 36
Yup, there is a bug in the tekscsi2.device that only allows FFS to be installed in the RDB. There is a patch on Doobrey's page, you'll have to patch the EPROM and re-burn it.

http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/amiga.html

Cheers
Orcish75 is offline  
Old 08 March 2013, 02:00   #4
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 706
How easy is it to burn a new Eprom. I don't have a burner. Are they Cheap? Are they easy to use?
source is offline  
Old 08 March 2013, 14:28   #5
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,747
I wouldn't recommend buying one just to burn one rom. Quite a few of us on here have one, if you can't find someone more local to do the job, I'd be more than happy to do it for you.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 08 March 2013, 16:12   #6
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 706
I don't know of anyone around here or for that matter anyone that does have one. How much would it cost for you to burn a rom for me and ship it 1/2 way around the world?
Thanks for your reply.
source is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 02:11   #7
source
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 706
With an Eprom burner can you read an eprom as well as write?
source is offline  
Old 18 March 2013, 06:15   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,997
Yes.
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GVP PC 286 Install Disks TheCorfiot support.Hardware 7 25 June 2013 23:24
WTB : GVP Tekmagic 2040 or 2060 CrashMidnick MarketPlace 0 11 July 2011 11:35
problem GVP techmagic 2060 source Hardware mods 5 15 July 2010 18:39
Cannot install VisualPrefs 1.5k on my system... keropi support.Apps 4 09 August 2005 07:11
HD install of the Workbench /system 3.1 Maverick357 support.WinUAE 6 13 August 2001 20:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09202 seconds with 15 queries