English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 September 2013, 17:34   #1
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
A1200 IDE recognition problems with Apollo 1240 [Solved]

Hi,

My A1200 with a 1D4 MB has some issues booting. It seems that when an Apollo 1240/40 is installed, it's a hit or miss regarding booting. The insert floppy screen pops up on a failed HD boot.

When the system does boot, it is rock-steady.

When I try a few resets and every time enter the bootmenu, sometimes not even CC0: is there and even more of the time neither is DH0:. DF0: is always present.

Removing the accelerator fixes the problem, and using an accelerator of a friend of mine also doesn't show any probs (BPPC). On a forum I read cutting the reset-wire of the IDE cable can fix it, but it didn't. Adding the Apollo card to another A1200 (also 1D4 MB) gives the same symtomps of boot troubles. CF or HD connected to the IDE did not matter.

So i guess it must be the Apollo card. It also seems that when 3.9 is kicked, the boot problem becomes bigger than with 3.1 (timing problem?), althought even with 3.1 the amiga sometimes needs a reset to get it to boot.

Any thoughts of what the exact problem could be?

Thanks!
Hedeon is offline  
Old 08 September 2013, 19:28   #2
Sandro
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: spain
Posts: 897
that's normal issue in the apollo 1240 and 1260 do not worry
they make the A1200 boot so fast, sometimes it don't recognize ide or pcmcia
but also it depends of the hardisk you are using, you must find a hardisk enough fast in booting to match the apollo bootspeed
Sandro is offline  
Old 08 September 2013, 21:39   #3
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 955
My friend has solved this problem, he has cleaned the connector of Apollo
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 09 September 2013, 18:46   #4
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
Already tried cleaning the A1200 connector and the Apollo slot.

Is there a way (e.g. through a kickstart module) to delay the boot?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 09 September 2013, 19:02   #5
cpiac64
Registered User
cpiac64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 955
please, dont insert the apollo completly, and verify if go 100%
cpiac64 is offline  
Old 31 October 2013, 21:40   #6
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,299
Fixed it with making 4xEIDE.driver resident. It installs a custom scsi.device which seems to work. Haven't seen the insert KS screen with 3.9 since.
Hedeon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apollo 1260 to a 1240 problems Kitch support.Hardware 26 15 December 2012 07:17
Apollo 1240 problems, I think... fitzsteve support.Hardware 49 12 October 2010 19:04
FS: A1200, Apollo 1240/25, and spares (Nottingham) mikedoubleu MarketPlace 19 11 June 2008 16:53
FS Apollo 1240 68040 A1200 Accelerator Mike UK MarketPlace 4 09 June 2008 23:09
FA: Apollo 1240 68040 A1200 accelerator DDNI MarketPlace 1 03 June 2008 22:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06344 seconds with 15 queries