English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 November 2004, 23:41   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
Only B works on my new Sega Genesis 6button pad! Help!

Shouldn't both B + C buttons works on a a1200 using a SEGA genesis/megadrive pad? I just got 2 new ones, only to find that the only button I can use is B ! It sux! I tried all turrican games, and it is like I have a 1 button pad...
keropi is offline  
Old 05 November 2004, 23:42   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I forgot to mention, that using a quickshot joystick in SEGA mode, the 2 buttons work ok...
keropi is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 07:26   #3
silkworm
Zone Friend
silkworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 221
i had this problems years ago i remember getting a six button one and it not working, but an old 3 button one works ok.
silkworm is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 12:33   #4
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
If this is a 6-button Sega pad designed to play Streetfighter 2 (i.e. every time you switch between upper and lower three buttons, it effectively presses the Start button), it just won't work. I had the same problem, years ago. If the other three are simply "rapid fire", it should work.... are there any fire rate switches?

Personally, I used to be fond of the Master system pads, but I was a child then with small fingers. These days, it's PS2 pads or nothing...
 
Old 06 November 2004, 12:53   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
there is a switch on the middle NORMAL-TURBO-SLOW ... .I also tried an old 3 button pad, and still the C is not working... wtf?
keropi is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 12:56   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
These are the pads I got:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=8140137785
keropi is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 13:54   #7
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
only a 3 buton pad works good.
I have used that alot on my migy 500
Dr. Dude is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 22:01   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,993
I've always wondered how you guys dare to just connect genesis pads to Amigas..

At least check these pinouts:
http://www.hardwarebook.net/connecto...ontroller.html
http://www.hardwarebook.net/connecto...amousejoy.html

Back when there still was active Amiga magazines, every time this question came up, they advised to make a simple adapter to make the genesis/megadrive pad more compatible with the Amiga.

If I wanted to use a sega pad, I'd route +5 to the right place and leave "select" floating as the pad toggles the select line between +5 and ground. You don't want that +5 going to the wrong place.

If you have +5 in the right place, you should be able to also use the B and C buttons. B for fire 1 and C for fire 2.. Else it's just A for button 1 and start for button 2.. Check the pinouts.

Last edited by Jope; 06 November 2004 at 22:09.
Jope is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 22:17   #9
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
HUH

Realy mate, its just plug and play. No extra fancy things
Dr. Dude is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 23:23   #10
Akira
Black Lives Matter

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered
If this is a 6-button Sega pad designed to play Streetfighter 2 (i.e. every time you switch between upper and lower three buttons, it effectively presses the Start button), it just won't work.
This is absolitely WRONG, I've been using the 6 button joypad for bloody YEARS.

The problem here lies in that lots of games are NOT PREPARED for using this button. Some games even work with Master System type joysticks but not with Genesis type joysticks.

The modification suggested is really recommended, it is plug and play but why are you letting a +5V line gong where it shouldn't? It's just asking for trouble. I have been asking for trouble for years.
Akira is offline  
Old 06 November 2004, 23:58   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
after extensive testing, my 6b joypads, model MK-1470 are not 2button compatible with my amiga. They must need work from the inside... +5 is on correct position, it just won't make a proper 2nd-button signal... By just connecting ground+2b I get the effect, but when they are on the pad, nothing happens.... it must be the pad's multiplexer... sh1t...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 November 2004, 00:06   #12
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
I got 1 week ago from ebay a PC joystick to Amiga cable... do u think it will work OK???
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MEWN:IT
keropi is offline  
Old 07 November 2004, 08:56   #13
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Dude
HUH

Realy mate, its just plug and play. No extra fancy things
Sorry for being concerned about the continued good health of your hardware. :-)

IF something happens, please don't post here asking why your joystick port stopped working..
Jope is offline  
Old 07 November 2004, 09:01   #14
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
after extensive testing, my 6b joypads, model MK-1470 are not 2button compatible with my amiga. They must need work from the inside... +5 is on correct position, it just won't make a proper 2nd-button signal... By just connecting ground+2b I get the effect, but when they are on the pad, nothing happens.... it must be the pad's multiplexer... sh1t...
Hmm, so you have a converter which feeds +5 into the correct pin of the pad, and still it doesn't work properly?

Did you isolate the select line or did you tie it up or down with a resistor?

A and Select should work for the fire buttons even if you don't do anything.
Jope is offline  
Old 07 November 2004, 11:07   #15
Dr. Dude
Senior Member
Dr. Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: On Ami World
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
Sorry for being concerned about the continued good health of your hardware. :-)

IF something happens, please don't post here asking why your joystick port stopped working..
Stops working??
After 5 years of playing whit it? I almost play evry game whit it
And i never had any probs
Dr. Dude is offline  
Old 07 November 2004, 11:49   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
select (it is MODE on my pads) never did anything...
keropi is offline  
Old 07 November 2004, 11:58   #17
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
What I do is this:

1. I have a 9pin cable plugged on the a1200 but on the other side it is just pins that plug on the joypad female connector. No looking at the female joypad connector:

1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9

1: I input +5v
2,3,4,5: Input of directions, all work OK
6: If I get there fire button1 I get C to work as fire
7: Ground
8: ???
9: If I get there fire button 1, I get B to work as fire

If I also get fire button2 from amiga to pins 6 or 9 , it just won't fire... To be sure, I tried this "pin cable" on my Quickshot joystic, which has a SEGA switch (allows to use 2 fire buttons) and put everyting and fire1-->pin9 , fire2-->pin6 I get the 2 buttons working in games... So there is something with the genesis pad.... If I upload a picture of the inside of the pad, will anyone be able to help??
keropi is offline  
Old 08 November 2004, 07:16   #18
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Dude
Stops working??
After 5 years of playing whit it? I almost play evry game whit it
And i never had any probs
I love the way you shrug it off.. :-)

Enjoy your pad if it works.
Jope is offline  
Old 08 November 2004, 14:44   #19
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 7,993
Hmm. Misunderstood keropi .. thinking of something more relevant..
Jope is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sega megadrive (genesis) control pad mod for amiga paulisthebest Hardware mods 6 29 April 2013 08:09
Sega Genesis: Honey Bee SG-18 end SG-6 Dexther support.Hardware 2 22 September 2008 20:58
Pier Solar - A new Sega Genesis RPG Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 15 07 September 2008 11:53
XPadder, now your game pad works with everything Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 12 24 June 2008 19:58
2 Button Amiga / Sega pad to USB Zetr0 Hardware pics 1 09 August 2007 07:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13437 seconds with 15 queries