English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2013, 14:35   #1
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 153
Amiga 1200 motherboard replacement - Harddrive / CF card question

My Amiga 1200 (with Blizzard MKIV 40 gig harddrive) stopped working, so I bought a replacement motherboard.

The motherboard works fine and loads up to the purple floppy disk screen.

I then turned the Amiga off and added my old 40 gig harddrive inside.

Turned the Amiga on, and the harddrive doesn't tick over; all that shows is a solid yellow light for the harddrive and a solid light for the power. The Amiga doesn't boot to any screen, all that shows is a dark blue/navy screen.

So then I took the harddrive out, and put in a CF card that works fine on another A1200 that I have.

Again, all I get is a solid yellow light for harddrive and solid light for power.

My kickstart rom on this new motherboard is version 3.0 (39.106).

I am not using the Blizzard MKIV on this new motherboard as it might have blown when the old motherboard did.

Does anyone have an idea what the issue could be preventing the harddrive or CF card from booting up? Could it be because the cf card and the hard drive have workbench 3.1 as opposed to workbench 3.0 installed - but would this cause the hard drive and cf card not to boot at all?

Last edited by twenty90seven; 29 May 2013 at 16:01.
twenty90seven is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:13   #2
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Amiga 1200 motherboard replacement - Harddrive / CF card question

I'm not sure what you mean by "tick over." If you mean the HDD doesn't power up (spin), then the IDE port is not powered -- all other things being considered. If so, then best guess is a blown capacitor.
Cymru is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:59   #3
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by twenty90seven View Post
Could it be because the cf card and the hard drive have workbench 3.1 as opposed to workbench 3.0 installed - but would this cause the hard drive and cf card not to boot at all?
You can use Workbench 3.1 on 3.0 ROMs so that won't be the cause.

Have you made sure the HDD is connected in the correct way round? Also check the jumper on the drive is still set to master.
john1979 is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 18:58   #4
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 42
Posts: 5,754
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Sounds like a PSU issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by twenty90seven View Post
all that shows is a dark blue/navy screen.
Take it your talking about the default TV no signal screen?
FOL is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 23:51   #5
twenty90seven
twenty90seven
twenty90seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 153
Problem solved! It was an issue with the way I had placed the IDE cable on the pins. I had not covered all the pins properly. Thanks for all your help and happy to have a good outcome!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cymru View Post
I'm not sure what you mean by "tick over." If you mean the HDD doesn't power up (spin), then the IDE port is not powered -- all other things being considered. If so, then best guess is a blown capacitor.

Last edited by twenty90seven; 30 May 2013 at 11:06.
twenty90seven is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So, my replacement motherboard arrived... but :( diablothe2nd support.Hardware 11 25 April 2012 07:22
Lyra 2 keyboard replacement adapter for Amiga 1200 Codetapper support.Hardware 5 24 January 2012 22:02
Amiga 1200 no harddrive after soft reboot heALer support.Hardware 17 21 February 2011 08:47
amiga 1200 harddrive install etc help nickaliath New to Emulation or Amiga scene 12 04 April 2010 23:40
problem with an amiga 1200 motherboard whitebird support.Hardware 17 04 June 2006 12:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07613 seconds with 15 queries