English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2020, 22:50   #21
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko
Working like a charm, Sting. Thank you
Snoopdos don't even see the patch
My pleasure. Source can be found on my Github: PatchClose_WCLB.s

It may be interesting for people who need to patch dos.library functions on 1.xx machines.
StingRay is offline  
Old 05 August 2020, 02:02   #22
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,909
Here is a preview of an icon I have created for the occasion of this working HD version (used as a "disk.info") .
It is still a WIP though but will make it available when it will be ready (cf: FaeryTale Adventure & Dragon's Lair icons)


Adapted the "world class" text from the megadrive version ; slightly adapted a free font for "leaderboard" & a free image of a golf ball.

Last edited by malko; 05 August 2020 at 13:28. Reason: link to other icons
malko is offline  
Old 06 August 2020, 23:00   #23
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,909
Sting, I got a strange error* while creating a script (iconx) to launch the patch & the game.

* patch.68k failed returncode 12845056
(the number changes if I change the amount of RAM)

configuration A500 (1MB+512slow) - with the patch, the game doesn't load anymore with 512 + 512.

The first time I launch the script, only the message is displayed.
The second time, there is a software failure and then a GURU.



Since this crash the patch is not working anymore. When I load it manually from a shell, there is no error, but the game acts like without the patch...

I then have created a fresh HDF and reinstalled everything (have kept the patch to check if it get corrupted with the crash). No, working.

Do you have any idea why there is this returncode and error while loading the patch from a script ?
malko is offline  
Old 07 August 2020, 12:27   #24
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
configuration A500 (1MB+512slow) - with the patch, the game doesn't load anymore with 512 + 512.
Not true. The patch occupies the whopping amount of 18 bytes of memory.
I had no problem running the game from HD with 512+512 config.

Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Do you have any idea why there is this returncode and error while loading the patch from a script ?
Replace the patch with attached one. It will fix the return code error and also checks if it already has been installed and if so simply won't do anything, this fixes the crash.
Attached Files
File Type: 68k Patch.68k (268 Bytes, 12 views)
StingRay is offline  
Old 07 August 2020, 12:41   #25
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
Not true. The patch occupies the whopping amount of 18 bytes of memory.
I had no problem running the game from HD with 512+512 config. [...]
I think some rewording is necessary : the game loads but display a message regarding ram fragmentation and it exits.
If it's not happening on your side, I am jealous...

Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
[...] Replace the patch with attached one. It will fix the return code error and also checks if it already has been installed and if so simply won't do anything, this fixes the crash.
Thank you will do it this evenin when I return home
malko is offline  
Old 07 August 2020, 12:57   #26
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
I think some rewording is necessary : the game loads but display a message regarding ram fragmentation and it exits.
If it's not happening on your side, I am jealous...

There must be another reason for this. At least I can't see how the patch which requires 268 bytes when loaded and 18 bytes permanent memory causes memory fragmentation. I can play the game without any problem using 512k chip and 512k fast. I assume you may have too many things loaded when your workbench boots up which causes this problem.
StingRay is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 00:36   #27
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,909
Returned from an excellent family week-end
Did some test with the new patch and it's working nicely Sting. No more crashes .
Again, a big thank you

Regarding the 512chip+512slow(or fast) message provided by the game while using the patch, the message is still appearing on my side.
Even gave a try with a the startup-sequence from the floppy disk and a single startup-sequence containing only "LoadWB & endcli". Still the message...

But for now, it's no big deal as my usual config is, as was my old A2000, 2MB chip + 8MB fast, and I can play WCLB from HD with your patch

malko is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 00:52   #28
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Again, a big thank you
My pleasure.

Quote:
Regarding the 512chip+512slow(or fast) message provided by the game while using the patch, the message is still appearing on my side.
This actually makes me believe the game also has some bugs regarding memory allocation and free memory checks. I may have a look if I'm in the mood for a boring debugging session. If I find some problems with the memory handling routines I'll update the patch to fix these as well.
StingRay is offline  
Old 10 August 2020, 08:44   #29
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,909
Would be cool, but no hurry
malko is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World Class Leader Board - data disks fractalsister request.Old Rare Games 0 29 April 2019 20:56
World Class LeaderBoard Famous Courses #3 MANUAL tomcat666 request.Old Rare Games 0 10 May 2012 13:12
BUG: World Class Leader Board (Returns to title screen) killergorilla project.Killergorilla's WHD packs 18 18 December 2007 17:14
World class leaderboard clarencebeaks MarketPlace 8 23 February 2007 12:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07753 seconds with 16 queries