English Amiga Board

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

Old 18 September 2002, 18:13   #1
LaundroMat

TOSEC, ClrMamePro &c.

I've been trying to put some order in my collection of different roms, adf's and so on, so I naturally came upon the tosec and clrMamePro pages. I've installed the packages, got a recent .dat file for some platforms, but what next?
ClrMamePro scans the directories I told it to scan, it said there were no files there that were interesting (other wording, but you know what I mean), then did scan all the rom files only to finish by saying all of the roms were missing.

*cough*

Could anyone point me to a total newbie tutorial on this subject? I just don't get it.

(alright, I'm stupid)
Old 18 September 2002, 20:42   #2
LaundroMat

Old 18 September 2002, 21:31   #3
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost

No, stay with clrmamepro. Maybe the files you pointed it to are archived using rar or something besides zip? Or maybe they are not in the TOSEC dats. There is nothing wrong with clrmamepro that causes this behavior, so using Romcenter will not make files be recognized if they aren't in clrmamepro. Just so you know...
Old 18 September 2002, 21:40   #4
Ian
Global Moderator

Use the rebuild option of CLR, this will zip all your files and rename them for you (Sounds like all your ADF's are unzipped to me)

Anyway, Romcenter is complete bollocks and shouldn't be used by any self-respecting rom hoarder (ie Emu User)
Old 18 September 2002, 21:50   #5
LaundroMat

Hmm. RomCenter did find all of my GBA roms immediately (I'll let it loose on my Amiga collection in a second), and with two clicks they were renamed to TOSEC standards too.. Allow me to stick with romcenter (the userfriendlier of the two anyway).
Old 18 September 2002, 22:08   #6
oldpx

What's wrong with romcenter? It sometimes recognizes directories as zip files and messes up nested directories within them but if you know this bug, it's quite an useful tool.