English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2013, 15:47   #1
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Arrow Why do some games work in WINUAE and not on real Amiga?

For example, downloaded 3 ADFs of Aladdin (AGA) and set the same config in WINUAE (A1200, 2MB chip, same exact kickstart ROM etc), yet, in the emulator, ADFs work fine. On my real Amiga, the game simply stops loading right after the intro.

Why is this happening?

Thanks.

P.S.
Of course, this happens only with some games.
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 15:56   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 6,664
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Bad floppy media?
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:11   #3
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
^^Your guess is as good as mine. But if that's the case, why it happens on some games only? I tried both Aladdin and Moonstone AGA (ADFs) which work in emulator (2MB chip) yet, both games simply, after the intro, stop loading and the floppy driver light is just lit.

I'm using Imation floppies.
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:35   #4
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 42
Posts: 4,173
Do you have an Amiga Technologies A1200? If so, then many trackloaders won't work properly.

Edit: Does your label look like the one on this picture?
demolition is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:39   #5
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
No, it has the classic Commodore sign/title (underlined) and under it says "A1200".
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:42   #6
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 42
Posts: 4,173
Then they should work if your floppy and drive is working. Did you use verify when you wrote the ADF image?
demolition is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:48   #7
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Yes I did. And I wrote it couple of times. Specific ADFs just simply refuse to work. If it was a floppy drive issue, shouldn't it not be able to read at all and not just load the intro and then suddenly after the intro stop loading? This is the same case with two AGA games I tried: Aladdin and Moonstone.
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:52   #8
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 12,269
Do you have an external Floppy drive connected? If yes, remove it. Could at least help with Aladdin. For Moonstone. I'm not sure if the game it 100% compatible to the A1200.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:53   #9
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Age: 47
Posts: 3,802
Moonstone isn't an AGA game.
Have you tried the AGA fixed version ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 16:56   #10
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 42
Posts: 4,173
Try putting this demo on a floppy and see if it works:
http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=1477
It works fine on my A1200, but that demo is supposedly very picky about having all the proper floppy signals for its trackloader, so if it doesn't work on yours, chances are some that some signal is missing from your floppy drive.
When I got my A1200 it would do the same thing, that is show the cracktro, but refuse to continue loading after that. It had a modified PC drive which wasn't done properly, but after replacing it with a proper Amiga drive, everything worked fine.
demolition is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:14   #11
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Can't download it..the web page server is down and the mirrors seem to be outdated..I'm gonna try google it instead.

EDIT:
Found it at BTTR
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:27   #12
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Just great..it doesn't work. The same thing as with the above mentioned titles..Gonna check the floppy drive. Any signs I should look for to see if it's a modified pc drive?
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:32   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 12,269
You should at least try the suggested AGA fixed version of Moonstone.

http://planetemu.net/?section=recher...&rubrique=roms
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:41   #14
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
^^Ok, which one of those should I download? Too many in the list?
(Though I'm pretty sure my floppy drive will be needing a replacement)
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:42   #15
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 42
Posts: 17,789
f AGA = fixed for AGA
s2325 is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 17:46   #16
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
^^Thanks. I just realized I already have a AGA fixed version (checked the intro where it says it's AGA fixed).

Fortunatelly. internal drives are cheap..though I wasn't looking into getting one..meh..
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 18:00   #17
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,350
Ohhh sure it's easy now with this fixed version of Moonstone
Back in my days We used to play regular Moonstone! It could work for hours and then - BAM reset. Or it could crash after 5 minutes of gameplay It was a true lottery it was.
Lord Aga is online now  
Old 29 May 2013, 23:21   #18
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
I replaced the floppy drive with one from my Amiga 600 (she was unused, sitting in the closet so why the heck not). Now everything works fine and the games that didn't work before, now run flawlessly. Now, I'm pretty sure the floppy drive which came with my A1200 is not original ie. the eject button is half size smaller then it should be. It was there in plain sight for all this time but I obviously didn't pay attention.
Kenan is offline  
Old 29 May 2013, 23:43   #19
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenan View Post
Now, I'm pretty sure the floppy drive which came with my A1200 is not original ie. the eject button is half size smaller then it should be. It was there in plain sight for all this time but I obviously didn't pay attention.
That doesn't necessarily make it incompatible with your A1200. The reason is wasn't working satisfactorily is more probably due to dirty or misaligned drive heads.
prowler is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 00:52   #20
Kenan
Registered User
Kenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 194
Could be but it always failed to read specific ADFs/Games. I don't think I ever had a situation when it wouldn't read the game/disk it already did. It was always a specific games. I also made sure both floppy drives upon getting both Amigas were clean of dirt (used small dosages of compressed air to wipe out all the dirt. That doesn't mean it made it impossible for a dirt to find its way back somehow but..I don't think that was the case.
Kenan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7 Ultimate x64 WinUAE 2.2 some games don't work dorfmopp support.WinUAE 9 14 September 2010 16:56
Getting real hard disk to work in WinUAE issues bilko9070 support.WinUAE 2 14 December 2005 04:43
Real Amiga HD to winUAE rartist New to Emulation or Amiga scene 14 01 May 2005 18:25
Games, demos, programs what dont work with WinUAE trodas support.WinUAE 56 25 February 2003 23:51
2 more games work now, on WinUAE Fred the Fop support.Games 17 28 September 2001 02:17

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09164 seconds with 13 queries