English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 January 2019, 18:51   #1
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 73
Garsteimer M1202 8mb RTC

I bought said ram expansion a while ago and I have a few questions.


I replaced the CR2032 battery and then set the date and time but after a month of not using my amiga the date has reset to 1978, why?


I can only get either 6mb of fast ram or 1mb depending on the jumper settings, if i set it to 6mb will it corrupt my pcmcia cf card if I use the pcmcia slot?



Secondly, if I keep it in the 6mb configuration can I use a wifi card?


Lastly, is the Big Book of Amiga Hardware an actual book or just a website?


Daz
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 10 January 2019, 19:27   #2
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 73
Ive found the instructions for my ram board, it says i need an specific ram board for the set amount of ram i want to have, therefore its not configurable. however i can add an fpu and ive found one here:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1PCS-Used...frcectupt=true

it looks like its 50mhz, where can i get a crystal to match it?

Last edited by ItsTheSmell; 10 January 2019 at 20:15. Reason: edited fpu info
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 11:45   #3
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride
Posts: 60
You can get 50Mhz crystals from Amigakit, you'll have to pick the one with the right number of pins though.

http://amigakit.amiga.store/index.php?cPath=182_45
Vypr is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 12:19   #4
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vypr View Post
You can get 50Mhz crystals from Amigakit, you'll have to pick the one with the right number of pins though.

http://amigakit.amiga.store/index.php?cPath=182_45

I messages amigakit last night and the recommend the 40mhz CPU with 40mhz oscillator 14 din.
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 13:57   #5
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 606
Well - if AmigaKit can sell you an FPU with matching crystal, I'd go for that. The one you linked on ebay is the wrong package type for your card anyway from what I can see.

Although, do you really need an FPU? What do you use your Amiga for?
indigolemon is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 15:13   #6
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 73
I'm getting it for fun, it says it can help render stuff, so I think simulators will run better?
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 16:37   #7
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsTheSmell View Post
I'm getting it for fun, it says it can help render stuff, so I think simulators will run better?
Fair play man, fun is the aim of the game

By render stuff, it means using packages like Cinema4d or Lightwave - rather than games themselves (very few classic games (if any) leverage the FPU).

Will help (a bit) with this sort of stuff:
[ Show youtube player ]
indigolemon is offline  
Old 11 January 2019, 16:47   #8
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 73
So vector graphics games won't run better? If it doesn't then I'm not to bothered, I don't like empty sockets in my gadgets.
ItsTheSmell is offline  
Old 14 January 2019, 13:54   #9
ItsTheSmell
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: New Ferry
Posts: 73
The fpu and oscillator have arrived, ive never fitted one so im asking for hints and tips if anyone has them? Do i need to clean the connecting pins of the socket?
ItsTheSmell is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RTC suggestions mark_k support.WinUAE 1 04 September 2016 12:08
Rtc? zerohour1974 support.Hardware 2 05 April 2015 22:37
FS: Amiga 1200 8mb RAM Expansion & RTC Nipedley MarketPlace 1 28 April 2012 23:47
For Sale: Gasteiner M1202 RAM/RTC A1200 expansion Voz79 MarketPlace 9 05 December 2009 13:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07734 seconds with 14 queries