English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 November 2019, 04:30   #1
richiev4
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Swindon
Posts: 18
Amiga OS4.1 Final Edition

Hi all

This maybe a silly question but...

The screen shots on Amiga Forever website shows a set up for Amiga OS 4.1 Final edition.

Does Amiga Forever come with Amiga OS 4.1 FE or do I need to buy it separately?



Thanks
Rich
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen-desktop-4k-2x.png
Views:	1420
Size:	490.6 KB
ID:	65057  
richiev4 is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 05:27   #2
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,689
I think it is just an example of what you could do with it.
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 10:01   #3
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,203
Maybe some user sent them that screenshot, as Cloanto themselves are apparently incapable of getting Amiga Forever to run OS4.1FE (see http://www.lemonamiga.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16036 ) :-/

Best just to stick to normal WinUAE, it runs OS4.1FE just fine.
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 November 2019, 20:02   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 5,103
And to answer the other part: You need to buy OS 4.1FE (Classic edition) separately.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 01:31   #5
richiev4
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Swindon
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
And to answer the other part: You need to buy OS 4.1FE (Classic edition) separately.
Thanks for the info
richiev4 is offline  
Old 15 December 2019, 02:47   #6
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Maybe some user sent them that screenshot, as Cloanto themselves are apparently incapable of getting Amiga Forever to run OS4.1FE (see http://www.lemonamiga.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16036 ) :-/
I have not read the article yet via the link - But

I have OS4.1FE running just fine on Amiga Forever.

I will read that article to see what they have issues with
because the only issue I had with it was the size of the
HDF that came with the configuration. I had to make a
larger size.

EDIT:
Just thought that I would add that I am using Amiga Forever v8 (latest).

Have you tried yet?

Last edited by Saghalie; 01 October 2020 at 23:55.
Saghalie is offline  
Old 18 December 2019, 09:59   #7
honx
Registered User

honx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Posts: 1,433
i had amigaos 4.1 running back in late 2015 within amiga forever, but after an update (to version 7 i think) it didn't work anymore.
since then i never tried to set up amiga os 4.1 again, because in the first place it ran too slow on my 10 years old pc anyway...
honx is offline  
Old 21 December 2019, 16:49   #8
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,046
AmigaForever 8 AmigaOS Final Edition 4.1 FE update1
I did a little test with AmigaForever 8 with the latest version of winUAE 4300 final

I hope it will be useful, for those who have difficulty installing with AmigaForever.
In the next few days I will eventually make videos with all the steps like creating partitions etc. to make the best use of 4.1 with AmigaForever.
here a small example:
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 22 December 2019, 13:33   #9
White
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: italy
Posts: 1,046
I hope it will be useful,
Here's how to create an .hdf and install amigaos4.1 FE
with AmigaForever 8.
The steps are simple
A 4gb .hdf is created and the 4.1FE Classic version with Picasso IV is installed.
So it is only the basis but with this you can do everything.
Eventually it will be compatible with the installation script that I am preparing.
Winuae 4300 Final version recommended
here the video select 720p for better viewing.
[ Show youtube player ]
White is offline  
Old 01 October 2020, 06:50   #10
hammer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Maybe some user sent them that screenshot, as Cloanto themselves are apparently incapable of getting Amiga Forever to run OS4.1FE (see http://www.lemonamiga.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16036 ) :-/

Best just to stick to normal WinUAE, it runs OS4.1FE just fine.
I bought AF2016 and OS4.1 FE and have setup the A4000+PPC profile.
hammer is offline  
Old 02 October 2020, 00:02   #11
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 343
I read that article: http://www.lemonamiga.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16036 and found it very useless.

It doesn't say anything about the problems people have with installing it on
Amiga Forever.

Just complaining that it doesn't work. Not sure why it doesn't work for them
but I had only one issue and that was with the rather smallish HD that Cloanto
provided for the default install. You just need to make a slightly larger HD is all
and it it works fine.

If you want a step by step, I can provide that if you feel up to it.

Saghalie is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Amiga OS4.1 Classic Final Edition booting grhmhome support.Amiga Forever 10 20 May 2017 07:45
Amiga Forever now offering OS4.1 final download as an addon to amiga Forever sturme support.Amiga Forever 17 13 February 2017 11:30
Os4.1 final Arnie support.WinUAE 21 30 June 2015 20:52
Amiga OS 4.1 Final Edition for all Platforms for 29,95 €! QBit News 44 13 February 2015 00:38
Amiga 0S4.1 Final Edition on CD32 fondpondforever support.Hardware 5 16 January 2015 19:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07889 seconds with 14 queries