English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 October 2012, 14:51   #1
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 309
workbench 1.3 on hd + disk install

back in 80s i only owned an amiga 500 with no hd, now out of nostalgia i wanted to experience the workbench 1.3 feeling again in winuae on a hd. i found a nice guide how to set things up correctly and created a directory install. (besides, is there any advantage of hdf over directory install?)

because i have fond memories of the erste schritte disk, i also wanted to install it on hd, but its not as easy as with the extras disk. it always requests the disk even after the transfer, so maybe you can help me here?
Nova is offline  
Old 08 October 2012, 15:58   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,192
Quote:
it always requests the disk even after the transfer, so maybe you can help me here?
Put this into s:startup-sequence:

Code:
assign diskname: where:it/is/on/hd
For example

Code:
assign Extras1.3: SYS:Extras
thomas is online now  
Old 08 October 2012, 17:53   #3
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 45
Posts: 1,245
Yes, whatever the disk name your Erste Schritte (Get Started) disk is requesting, simply add an assign for the same disk label name to the s:startup-sequence as described above.

In most cases, unless the program itself is 'hard wired' to a disk, most programs will simply add an entry to the S:user-startup with an assign entry like the one above, and so you can simply edit this file and change the drive / disk location to where it is on your HDD.

If you are not technical at all, download a program called AssignX from aminet and run it at startup or pop it inside the WBStartup drawer. Now when the requester comes up, assignX will allow you to specify the location of these files using a click box, and assign the location for you.
lifeschool is offline  
Old 08 October 2012, 18:26   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,192
There is neither User-Startup nor WBStartup in 1.3.

AssignX needs 2.0 at least.
thomas is online now  
Old 09 October 2012, 15:59   #5
Nova
Registered User

Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 309
thank you both.

i'm a novice, so please forgive some further questions

there is 2 startup-sequences, which one shall i edit (workbench1.3/s or workbench/erste schritte/s)

can i add the line in windows editor or from within the workbench?

and what disk place should i enter, when its in the root directory (sys:erste schritte)?
Nova is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 16:13   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,192
You wrote that you installed WB1.3 to harddrive. You need to edit the startup-sequence of the harddrive. The one which is used during booting.

Do not edit Amiga text files with a Windows editor. It will add carriage return characters to the end of all lines which the Amiga DOS shell does not accept.

Open a shell window in AmigaOS and enter

ed s:startup-sequence

to open the file. Press Esc and enter x to save your changes and quit the editor. Press Esc and enter q to quit without saving. Ctrl-B deletes an entire line. Cut&Paste does not work.
thomas is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Workbench 3.0 Install Disk?? Aezeroony MarketPlace 1 07 February 2013 12:15
How to boot up with 3.1 Workbench install disk? Van Denhawk New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 29 May 2011 19:26
WTB: Workbench 2.05 Install disk Melonfish MarketPlace 3 14 April 2010 19:17
wanted: amiga workbench install disk steve_uktv MarketPlace 22 01 February 2010 11:26
Workbench Install 3.1 Disk squonk request.Apps 2 01 August 2009 14:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07063 seconds with 13 queries