English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 April 2007, 15:47   #1
whitenoise
 
Posts: n/a
Question Reset high scores in Pinball Dreams/Fantasies?

I've only very recently started to play around with WinUAE after having an Amiga many many years ago. After seeing Pinball Dreams/Fantasies, I had to download them after having many nostalgic memories! However I find that these already contain highscores, which (at the moment anyway) are way above my ability to beat! Since these are kind of inpersonal, is there any way I can edit the .adf files so I can 'reset' the high scores? This will allow me to then have my own and friends scored listed, which makes things more fun - and competitive!

Many thanks to anyone who can help!
 
Old 10 April 2007, 15:48   #2
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
type VACUUM CLEANER
s2325 is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 15:52   #3
whitenoise
 
Posts: n/a
Wow - that was fast!

Didn't realise it would be that simple - cool! I will try it tonight! Many thanks s2325
 
Old 10 April 2007, 15:56   #4
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
Look here http://hol.abime.net/1055/cheatcode for more codes.
s2325 is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 15:59   #5
whitenoise
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the link. Do you know if this works in Pinball Dreams as well - since it doesn't mention it on that website.
 
Old 10 April 2007, 16:02   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 40
Posts: 17,789
No, I don't know how to do it: http://www.lemonamiga.com/forum/view...857cf91e6a3f26
s2325 is offline  
Old 10 April 2007, 16:09   #7
whitenoise
 
Posts: n/a
Many thanks once again for that. I spent ages doing a search on google for information on this, I tried everything I could think of and it didn't return that page!

Cheers!
 
Old 10 April 2007, 19:17   #8
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 42
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitenoise
Thanks for the link. Do you know if this works in Pinball Dreams as well - since it doesn't mention it on that website.
Erasing high scores from Pinball Dreams is a bit tough but it can be done. Some hexeditor might be useful... But unfortunately there are no codes on that.
mailman is offline  
Old 11 April 2007, 16:22   #9
whitenoise
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the advice mailman. I have downloaded Ultra-Edit 32 and looking at Disc2.adf. Having never looked at a hex code view before I'm not sure what I should be doing!

Don't suppose you know of any version that's already had its scores reset? Maybe someone who is infinately wiser than I am, can edit the .adf file if I attach it here?
 
Old 11 April 2007, 23:56   #10
GraveR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 39
I've zoned Disc2 with the highscores reset to GRV () with score 1

You can also hexedit it yourself, using UltraEdit32 for example. The fun starts at position $d940a, the score is coded as normal decimals, no hexconversion needed.

(Sorry for the typo )
GraveR is offline  
Old 12 April 2007, 13:38   #11
whitenoise
 
Posts: n/a
Happy

Nice! Many thanks GraveR!

Many, many thanks for this! Your explanation also has helped me understand how the whole HEX editing worked. I can now see how the scores in my previous .adf file were made up.

I'll replace my original adf with this new one tonight - where I will rack up some new high scores

Thanks again for uploading into the Zone - you rock!



 
Old 02 December 2020, 12:58   #12
Ritchie72
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
type VACUUM CLEANER
I used "VACUUM CLEANER", but....after that, i got a message that the scores are reset, but.... i cant play the game anymore, the keys for example F1 are not responding anymore, the only way is to reset the Amiga and start over.

Maybe a "wrong" version of Pinball Fantasies ?
Ritchie72 is offline  
Old 02 December 2020, 13:20   #13
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,201
MCE can be used to reset the high scores.
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 December 2020, 13:28   #14
Ritchie72
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
MCE can be used to reset the high scores.
What do i need for MCE, i have a Amiga500
Ritchie72 is offline  
Old 02 December 2020, 14:05   #15
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,201
It should work on any Amiga that has OS3.9+BB2 (or later) and about 10Mb RAM.
Minuous is offline  
Old 02 December 2020, 15:16   #16
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 1,349
You can restore the game disk with the original IPF images, if you had a flux reader/write - like Greaseweazle, Kyroflux or Super Card Pro.

EDI: oh I just realised you are talking abut the ADF file. Why can't you just download a new ADF file then?
solarmon is offline  
Old 02 December 2020, 15:26   #17
Ritchie72
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarmon View Post
You can restore the game disk with the original IPF images, if you had a flux reader/write - like Greaseweazle, Kyroflux or Super Card Pro.

EDI: oh I just realised you are talking abut the ADF file. Why can't you just download a new ADF file then?
Thats maybe a good idea, but how do i know that the scores are erased
Ritchie72 is offline  
Old 02 December 2020, 15:38   #18
mailman
Zone Friend

mailman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Age: 42
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ritchie72 View Post
I used "VACUUM CLEANER", but....after that, i got a message that the scores are reset, but.... i cant play the game anymore, the keys for example F1 are not responding anymore, the only way is to reset the Amiga and start over.

Maybe a "wrong" version of Pinball Fantasies ?
It is probably due to a broken version. If you type EXTRA BALLS the same happens?
mailman is offline  
Old 02 December 2020, 15:39   #19
Ritchie72
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman View Post
It is probably due to some broken version. If you type EXTRA BALLS the same happens?
I try tonight, but thanks till now
Ritchie72 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinball - Dreams/Fantasies x8 table loader Slayer request.Old Rare Games 32 25 May 2018 01:19
Pinball Dreams & Pinball Fantasies - Special Edition (OCS/ECS) teh HOL contributions 3 23 March 2012 15:39
Calling all Pinball Dreams/Fantasies Fans... Christian support.WinUAE 28 17 June 2009 15:57
High-Res mode in Pinball Fantasies? keropi support.Games 8 25 April 2007 15:56
Pinball Fantasies - high scores VermillioN support.Games 9 08 March 2007 16:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11851 seconds with 13 queries