English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2008, 23:33   #41
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 51
Posts: 800
I'm really happy that WinUAE exists 'cause thanks to it the Amiga interest lives and many people like you are now Amiga enthusiast.

I'm not surely an expert WinUAE user, but I have it with ClassicWB installed and it allows me to play & test games when I want.

Unfortunately, the feeling is not the same and often I don't use it for weeks, sometimes for months.

This doesn't happen with real hardware. I know this can be foolish and expensive to get, but I can't explain how I felt when, on putting a compact flash card (year 2006) via adapter in the A600 PCMCIA port, PrepCard tool (from 1991 Workbench 2) reported immediately its brand SanDisk, SDP, Version 5/3, 0.6. Wonderful sensation: a past very little computer detects new millenium hardware Vs. today PC monsters not able to detect last week devices.
I'm sorry, WinUAE can't give me this... however I'm happy it exists.
fc.studio is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 02:19   #42
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
Try a 50Hz full screen mode+vsync with filter and use a PC joystick and see if it helps the "feeling".

It does you know.
alexh is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 03:30   #43
CongealedWallrs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SCOTLAND
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Try a 50Hz full screen mode+vsync with filter and use a PC joystick and see if it helps the "feeling".

It does you know.
I think I shall try that. At least I could get a small taste of that magic feeling.

But I understand the feeling associated with actually having the real proper hardware in your hands and experiencing it exactly as it was all those years ago. Its like a taste of the past.

Although I havent experienced that with an Amiga, I do get that when I get out my old, battered Atari and fire it up. Sadly it is much the worse for ware and crashes if you walk across the room with a little too much vigour!

I am sorry, I should not have said that. The only A word we use here is Amiga, I repent!
CongealedWallrs is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 05:01   #44
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 33
Posts: 560
Any Amiga is worth owning. I own a 1000 and I used to own a 1200. Both are excellent machines. You won't regret the purchase at all.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 11:29   #45
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 40
Posts: 2,521
i think it's fair to say hardware is not for everyone.... and neither is emualtion. of some of, both is better still

if you you still need an answer on whether hardware is 'worth' investing in, then i guess the answer should be; 'probably not for you'.

as close as emulation gets (and it can do a great job) it still isnt the same, and it's more than just nostalgia for some of us... it's accuracy. I guess most people wont notice it though once you minimise the differences with advice such as alexh's.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 22 April 2008, 18:42   #46
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 33
Posts: 560
Something about the actual hardware though that makes me smile inside. An emulator can probably do the job for most people but because I love mine so much, and as good a job as Toni has done on WinUAE, it can't top the actual thing.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 23 April 2008, 10:51   #47
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 52
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I never touched an Amiga untill 2002 and do not regret collecting them at all (A500/A2000/A3000/A1200).

With any platform you kind of miss what is unique about them when you just emulate, and quite frankly I would rather pop a floppy into an A500 and start playing then have to tweek the EMU to get games to play.

If you want a cheap way of testing the waters go find an A500 with trapdoor RAM (1MB total RAM) and an external floppy and buy a couple games. You can use a TV if you buy an A520 adapter (to convert the RGB out to Composite video). That machine will play most of the Amiga games made (an A1200 will play the rest). After you have done this compare the same game and setup to the emulater.

I find people who are not into computing hardware at all tend to like emulaters, while people who like building machines tend to use the real hardware.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 07 May 2008, 00:30   #48
Lips2k8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: wolverhampton
Posts: 51
I wouldnt bother buying a real amiga... I did and now I am regretting it its a bottomless pit of money I cant afford... you would think such old hardware would be dirt cheap... wrong its rediculous - standard 1200 can bearly do anything without being upgraded and ebay take the piss.... amigakit are good but still way expensive - some of us just dont have that kind of dissposable income. my advice is if your rich then yea buy a miggy and relevent upgrades if not stick to winUAE... it will just make you misserable else.
Lips2k8 is offline  
Old 07 May 2008, 14:23   #49
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 12,157
I got my A1200 for 50€, another one for 20€. Furthermore i bought a turbo card for 50€ and use my old PC hdd. A cheap PCMCIA adapter plus CF card, that's it.

You don't need to be rich for this hobby, only if you are an Amiga hardware collector.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 02:44   #50
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post

-Don't read the next bit if you've got a weak constitution-


Go to fleaBay and buy an Acorn A3010 with HDD.
Why???
It doesn't hurt to be different & compared to C= stuff these are dirt-cheap.
(most of the best Amiga games were ported to the RiscOS platform)

...so he went forth with his opinions and verily in due season he was shot down in flames.

Are you insane? get an ST, even cheaper.


Wot? wot?




Anyway, I'd say get a cheap 1200 off eBay, prefably with some joysticks/mice/Floppy games, if it's not got a Hard drive fit a flash solid state IDE harddrive, 4 gig flash rom is all you need. Oh and Whdload, you'll need that

An accelerator is nice, best would be a 68030@50, but anything that adds memory is good.

And you can plug it straight into the telly, which is nice.
amigarobbo is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 03:13   #51
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 42
Posts: 3,313
As the title says "Is it worth getting a real Amiga?" he thinks about the emulator and whether or not it's better with a real amiga or the emulator... I know I've made a post here already, but it doesn't hurt saying it again .

Go with WinUAE.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 25 May 2008, 13:21   #52
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 62
Posts: 3,962
I`ll second that, Go WinUAE and save yourself money and the hassle.
Arnie is offline  
Old 26 May 2008, 23:58   #53
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 668
For me nothing beats the real Amiga.

WinUAE is good but it's not as good as having the hardware there. It's the same with any emulation such as Arcade Emulation. It's just not as good as having the arcade machine there - the hardware is part of the entire retro experience.

Just my 2p worth!


M.
Macca is offline  
Old 27 May 2008, 01:18   #54
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 42
Posts: 3,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca View Post
For me nothing beats the real Amiga.

WinUAE is good but it's not as good as having the hardware there. It's the same with any emulation such as Arcade Emulation. It's just not as good as having the arcade machine there - the hardware is part of the entire retro experience.

Just my 2p worth!


M.
It really doesn't make up for it as WinUAE is free and have ALL amigas in one.

but if you want true retro, then ofc a real amiga is the way to go . but I dont' care for retro, I just want to be able to run everything on my PC..... just as good... only thing missing is a slow loading (if no whdload) lump infront of me that ticks when it's loading.
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 27 May 2008, 09:15   #55
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 668
Aye pretty true - I just love though to sit back and enjoy the Amiga on a big TV with a couple of mates around having tournaments on Sensi Soccer or playing co-op Bloodwych. I know you can output your PC to TV then emulate it through there but it's not the same.

I guess its more sociable than sitting at the PC for me.



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 27 May 2008, 10:54   #56
Cerberus73
Registered User
Cerberus73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aberdeen / Scotland
Posts: 66
Hmmm where is scotland are you congealedwallrs? if your worried about upgrades, repairs etc, i may be able to help as i live in aberdeen, but come originally from dundee so go down there a fair bit (as in at least once a month) and im in glasgow and edinburgh about once a month as well, so may be able to help if fixing or service is a worry, ive worked in computer shops, software development and now web and graphic design, have always built and maintainesd/upgraded my own hardware. from 8 bit c64,s to the latest and greatest in PC's and Macs.

Also got a pretty big collection of amiga stuff, 1200's, 500's, 600's and yer old hardware can be a pain, but i always keep a couple of rough machines with good internals laying around to canabalise for parts, go to car boot sales, up here in scotland we are lucky, as these are plentyfull, and amigas can be bought for pennies, hell all my kit came via them, never buy stuff of fleabay (prices are mad) that way if you dont like it, and have not got the space, sell it on via ebay or in here. and your outlay isnt gonna be mad money.

Last edited by Cerberus73; 27 May 2008 at 11:09.
Cerberus73 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 2000, is this worth it ? kire_online support.Hardware 8 10 November 2011 22:40
Amiga 1000 - What is it worth? ipp0 support.Hardware 1 11 January 2011 23:33
Amiga 3000D how much does it worth? Reynolds MarketPlace 3 24 November 2009 14:48
Amiga is it worth it Frank Amiga scene 12 20 February 2004 09:22
How much is Amiga worth in your countries ? timkar Amiga scene 40 08 February 2003 07:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09168 seconds with 15 queries