English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2020, 23:31   #1
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 130
A500 choices TF536 or Wicher 500i

Hi all,

I have a Witcher 500i installed in my Amiga 500 - which I find great for the IDE, but I cant seem to get the CPU overclocking to be saved, or find the correct RAM ( max 8mb ?)

I`m looking at a TF536 as an alternative.

What are people`s thoughts?

Whats my best option?
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 00:11   #2
LezRed
Registered User

LezRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Buckinghamshire, England
Posts: 28
The TF536 pretty much just plugs in and does it’s thing, not really much to configure. You just need a higher kickstart version to support IDE, but I guess that’s the same as the Witcher?
LezRed is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 01:48   #3
pipper
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Jose
Posts: 278
Be aware that the TF536‘s 64mb ram will not autoconfigure with Kick1.3 either.
Other than that it’s plugnplay :-)
pipper is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 02:17   #4
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 130
I have 3.1 in my 500
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 02:29   #5
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 130
or how about ACA500 ?
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 02:32   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
There are at least two sellers of TF536 in the UK. I just bought one.

But I'd get a PiStorm if I had my time again
alexh is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 02:56   #7
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 130
whats a good price for a TF536 ?
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 25 November 2020, 11:46   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,590
PM Sent
alexh is offline  
Old 30 November 2020, 18:45   #9
simon_m74
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 130
I ordered a TF536/050 - tho used from Ebay - but sold as workign with pics - so all looking up.

As I now (well will soon), have a Wicther i500 and a TF536

Which in My A500, and which in my CDTV, do you think?
simon_m74 is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 10:58   #10
wazza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 51
The TF536 seems happiest with kickstart 3.1 in my experience. I have tried it on a 3.1.4 system, the IDE speed and general performance seemed a lot slower for some reason.
wazza is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 12:43   #11
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"

 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 1,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazza View Post
The TF536 seems happiest with kickstart 3.1 in my experience. I have tried it on a 3.1.4 system, the IDE speed and general performance seemed a lot slower for some reason.
Did you use maprom in both cases?
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 01 December 2020, 19:51   #12
wazza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
Did you use maprom in both cases?
Yeah, in KS3.1 I set CPU fastrom.

In 3.1.4 as that option is no longer available in the CPU command, I installed MUFASTROM.
wazza is offline  
Old 06 December 2020, 16:06   #13
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by wazza View Post
In 3.1.4 as that option is no longer available in the CPU command, I installed MUFASTROM.
Do do you still think it is slow with that?
I am using 3.1.4 with the TF536 and while it is very slow without MMULib+MUFASTROM, the speed is as fast as it should be when it is installed.
demolition is offline  
Old 06 December 2020, 22:19   #14
wazza
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Do do you still think it is slow with that?
I am using 3.1.4 with the TF536 and while it is very slow without MMULib+MUFASTROM, the speed is as fast as it should be when it is installed.
I found it to be faster, but not as fast as using the same setup with 3.1.

I noticed a performance difference with software that was likely to be using the full performance of the 030, e.g. Doom. This loads and runs far quicker when using a 3.1 set up. Maybe I had something set up wrong, I don't know, but I am sticking with 3.1 for my machine with the 536 and I'll use the 3.1.4 ROM on another machine.

There is a thread on the Exxos forum about the TF and IDE speed, Stephen Leary says there that he does/did not own 3.1.4 and the card was therefore not made with it in mind.
wazza is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wicher 500i classic turbo card for A500 (internal version) spidi News 139 26 November 2019 09:38
Wicher 500i Kejoe support.Hardware 15 21 July 2019 01:31
Wicher 500i Issues CasVegas support.Hardware 25 16 July 2019 20:23
Wicher 500i A-500 Plus Hardware mods 9 24 April 2019 21:22
Wicher 500i A-500 Plus support.Hardware 7 06 January 2019 05:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12607 seconds with 15 queries