English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 October 2020, 11:13   #1
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,911
So, how to create a WhdLoad slave for my own game?

See title.

Inviyya is almost finished now, and I would love to create an WhdLoad slave for it for the digital version.

Any pointers on how I could accomplish this?
Steril707 is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 12:55   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,768
Have you checked the developer archive and the docs already?: http://whdload.de/docs/en/index.html
daxb is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 13:25   #3
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,911
I have a researched a lot of stuff on this topic, but at the moment I cannot make neither heads nor tails of it..

I am rather confused about the whole subject and don't even know where to begin.
Steril707 is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 15:08   #4
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,768
I think the first question is to use disk image(s) or files from your game. http://whdload.de/docs/en/howto.html
The WHDLoad experts can sure enlighten you.
daxb is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 15:29   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,104
subcontract it then.
jotd is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 16:46   #6
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 2,210
The point of WHDLoad is to patch deficiencies in the original game. So, if your game is correctly programmed, there will be no need for a WHDLoad slave.
Minuous is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 16:56   #7
ross
Defendit numerus

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 50
Posts: 3,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
The point of WHDLoad is to patch deficiencies in the original game. So, if your game is correctly programmed, there will be no need for a WHDLoad slave.
This is not entirely true.
You can have a properly programmed game that works on any machine but you also want to support a simple A500, using all the memory and a bare floppy loading.
So a WHDLoad slave could just make it available for HD loading and preserve OS (but requires an expanded machine).
ross is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 18:33   #8
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
Inviyya is almost finished now, and I would love to create an WhdLoad slave for it for the digital version.

Any pointers on how I could accomplish this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by daxb View Post
Have you checked the developer archive and the docs already?: http://whdload.de/docs/en/index.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steril707 View Post
I have a researched a lot of stuff on this topic, but at the moment I cannot make neither heads nor tails of it..

I am rather confused about the whole subject and don't even know where to begin.
There was a thread on this topic a few years back (see HERE). The WHDLoad docs are a good place to start, although you probably need to look at some tutorials to make more sense of them:

https://is.gd/MpwlMb (Strider WHD by Codetapper)

http://zakalwe.fi/~shd/amiga-cracking/mfminstalling.txt (Pac-Land WHD by Codetapper)

http://zakalwe.fi/~shd/amiga-crackin...stallation.txt (ATR Xmas coverdisk WHD by Codetapper)

http://zakalwe.fi/~shd/amiga-cracking/ (Two general guides on AGA fixing by Codetapper + a couple of cracking guides + more)

Last edited by DrBong; 19 October 2020 at 20:52. Reason: Fixed typo!
DrBong is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 20:50   #9
Steril707
Tigerskunk!

Steril707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Amiga Island
Posts: 1,911
Thanks a lot, guys...

Will have a read into this and report back...
Steril707 is offline  
Old 19 October 2020, 22:21   #10
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 5,104
it's extremely difficult to create a startup/cleanup code that supports all CPUs, MMU configurations, VBR relocation, caches, CIAs... and is able to restore them back when quitting.

whdload is the best program ever for that. Even Tiny Bobble which has an excellent startup & cleanup code triggered a recoverable alert on my (emulated) machine upon quitting. Whdload version doesn't have this issue. Plus if your program performs illegal read/writes, whdload will catch that.

(of course whdload can't avoid blitter overwriting part of the unsaved chipmem, but that's a cornercase)

As I said (in "subcontract it"), I can help with the whdload slave. Then you can read the source and knowing your program will help you figure out what's needed to create a whdload slave.
jotd is offline  
Old 23 October 2020, 16:15   #11
Wepl
Moderator
Wepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 759
The question is how much OS do you use in your game.
If you mainly only use memory allocation and dos.io it will be not much effort to make a whdload slave. (grep _LVO ...)
You could use defines to create a version with/without whdload.
Because the slave must be non-relocatable I would recommend to load your main program into ExpMem. You should probably use some fixed memory setup or write an own memory allocator.

I would have started with WHDLoad during development to benefit from memory protection etc. and later adapted to run it without

Just send me a PM if you need assistance.
Wepl is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A WHDLoad Slave for the Game Hoi Nibbler Games images which need to be WHDified 12 14 November 2020 15:50
WHDload slave tutorial ? Joe Maroni Coders. Tutorials 14 19 August 2019 15:22
Generic WHDLOAD slave Gaula92 project.WHDLoad 15 08 March 2013 03:07
WHDload ASM Slave Retro1234 Coders. General 21 27 October 2008 14:20
chessmaster whdload slave pbareges support.Games 1 27 September 2006 23:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10653 seconds with 15 queries