English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 July 2020, 22:42   #1
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 75
Winuae OS 4.1 Internet Connection

Can someone point me to a guide or help me establish and internet connection in OS 4.1.


I try using the ethernet.device in one of the guides found online but I have been unable to use it properly, unless I really do need to type in an ISP username and password, then forget that, I do not see how that is really necessary to establish a connection that is working fine as I am obviously typing this.


White, if your reading this I could use your help as your guide to get uaegfx worked perfectly for me.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 21 July 2020, 18:29   #2
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 343
Can we see your config file
and maybe some log files?

Thanks!
Saghalie is offline  
Old 22 July 2020, 09:49   #3
bobrpggamer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Fairfield CA USA
Posts: 75
To be honest I kind of gave up on it.

I have decided to play my Amiga game the old fashioned way by using a config file or with GameBase. Using a virtual Amiga computer running OS 4.1 to play OCS, ECS and AGA games turned out to not worth the trouble.

Sorry for bugging you guys.
bobrpggamer is offline  
Old 24 July 2020, 08:45   #4
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobrpggamer View Post
Can someone point me to a guide or help me establish and internet connection in OS 4.1.
See my video

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 26 July 2020, 07:08   #5
Xc2cX
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
See my video

[ Show youtube player ]
Sorry for OffTopic,
What is the name of the song in the video?

BTW
I like your videos and have often been of great help to me.
Thank You
Xc2cX is offline  
Old 26 July 2020, 11:11   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,409
The file name is GrooveOn, but I don't know if it's the real name and I can't remember where I found the file, if you need it I'll attach the mp3 file.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 17 August 2020, 17:15   #7
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 17
Hi.. nice video Amigasystem but ur solution doesent work for me.

I have done as ur example but i cant connect to the net..

I also got an other error complaining about it cant set the route in devs:Internet/routes and the network is not accesible... whan i start the OS.

PS: Well i did get it to work now.. dont ask me how.. but i can get out on the internet anyway ... DS:

Last edited by DualC; 17 August 2020 at 17:25.
DualC is offline  
Old 23 August 2020, 22:27   #8
AC/DC HACKER!
Registered User

AC/DC HACKER!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SCC-NAC-dC-iNT
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobrpggamer View Post
To be honest I kind of gave up on it.

I have decided to play my Amiga game the old fashioned way by using a config file or with GameBase. Using a virtual Amiga computer running OS 4.1 to play OCS, ECS and AGA games turned out to not worth the trouble.

Sorry for bugging you guys.

Yeahhhhh...that's not the best way to do it. Unless you're an advanced user or are really cool with figuring stuff..it's not worth it. Use WinUAE for OS 1.x, 2.x, and 3.x games. If you don't have the real hardware. Emulating to emulate OS 1.x, 2.x, etc..is rather pointless unless you want to be able to say you've done it. I did..because I thought it was funny..and a bit of Amiga purist. Unless you have an AmigaOne (X5000, etc..) it's not worth using the UAE emulator for games. It's too slow and not worth building Amiga OS emulated install. There are ways to make it quicker..but you have to go through all the config options.



Tip for getting Internet access is to use newest WinUAE with X-Surf 100 Z3 with Amiga 4000 CyberstormPPC config. Then get the X-Surf 100 driver which has been updated. Get it over to OS 4 via directory access or ADF floppy access/archive mounting. Install into Devs::Networks, run the Prefs program..pick it...and you don't have to type any IP stuff.


OS 4.x's Internet is a bit wonky...doesn't do well with more complicated connections.


I know you quit..and that's fine, this is in case you return to it and others who want some help.
AC/DC HACKER! is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serial Connection Internet teh support.Hardware 12 02 December 2005 22:04
Internet connection problems amiga support.WinUAE 5 02 December 2005 16:31
Sharing internet connection, amiga/pc keropi support.Apps 6 23 February 2005 09:13
Internet connection coleco support.WinUAE 5 04 September 2002 07:21
2 computers on 1 Internet Connection Jherek Carnelia support.Hardware 8 04 March 2002 05:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10752 seconds with 15 queries