English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2020, 22:01   #1
Liam Hallows
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 6
Amiga 1200 problems, displaying only scanlines over a black image

My amiga doesn't seem to be displaying even the kickstart menu, it only displays scanlines over a black display.

Does anyone what might be wrong?

Essentially there's no floppy drive attached(does the amiga have to have a floppy drive attached? I am a noob when it comes to amigas so I have no idea) and I've swapped out the kickstart roms from 3.0-3.1. I have swapped them back over from 3.1 to 3.0 and still having the same issue. I also replaced the hdd with a compact flash card.

If any one could give me some advice then that would be great thank you,

In addition, I do have a second amiga which I have only just started to break open and see what's inside, now this one does go to the 3.0 kickstart menu but when I tried to replace that hard drive(811.3MB apparently, isn't that alot for an amiga 1200? lol) with the cf card I had prepared and it doesn't recognise any card attached or hard drive.

The main thing of note for the second amiga is that the ide harddrive connector on the motherboard had an adapter connected to it for a cd drive(which was connected to that adapter board along with the harddrive). I did try to remove the adapter board but I still got the same result.

If there any ideas on resolving this issue too than that too would be very much appreciated.

Many Thanks

Liam Hallows
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20201122_183629[1].jpg
Views:	42
Size:	882.1 KB
ID:	69786  
Liam Hallows is offline  
Old 22 November 2020, 22:03   #2
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,426
The lines could be unrelated to the grey screen issue and as a result of the RGB port having some leakage and maybe capacitors needing replacing.

The other thing to say is some RGB to VGA adaptor which you seem to be using as running on Dell monitor, can also give vertical bands. Test it on TV and see if you get the same display.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 23 November 2020, 00:30   #3
Liam Hallows
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
The lines could be unrelated to the grey screen issue and as a result of the RGB port having some leakage and maybe capacitors needing replacing.

The other thing to say is some RGB to VGA adaptor which you seem to be using as running on Dell monitor, can also give vertical bands. Test it on TV and see if you get the same display.
Ok thank you for your reply. I'll see about replacing the capacitors as tbh they need replacing anyways I think. Also I am using a RGB to VGA Adapter which makes sense for the scan lines but I guess my actual problem is more the fact I am not getting anything to display. I actually tried it on my parents TV before heading to uni using the amiga Scandex(RGB-VGA) and composite but still had the same result.
Liam Hallows is offline  
Old 28 November 2020, 10:47   #4
whitebird
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 211
To insure it's not a deeper IC related issue, what happens when you insert a game floppy? Does it load? Are you able to see some changes in the display, even if still vertical black lines or do they remain steady
whitebird is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 black image or no image marlo support.Hardware 0 25 April 2019 20:33
Problems with displaying a screen! Havie Coders. Blitz Basic 10 25 September 2018 21:22
Minor image centering bug in Double & Scanlines display setting xxxxx support.WinUAE 4 07 December 2014 10:17
Native mode scanlines grey, not black... mingle support.WinUAE 1 05 February 2012 03:02
D3D problems (ATI HD2xxx) - scaling/scanlines/overlay. galu support.WinUAE 3 09 February 2010 16:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07231 seconds with 16 queries